We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #3 of 76 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stay at this hotel a few years ago on my first trip to Tokyo. The room was very clean, a little on the small side compared to American standards, but probably sizable to Japanese standards. The executive lounge has great views of the city and a nice variety for breakfast. The staff at the desk in the lounge were very helpful with my needs. The concierge was also very informative. There is not too much in the immediate area of this hotel, but they do offer a shuttle to the Shinjuku station which is very convenient. There is a 24 hour market within a 5 minute walk which is great for grabbing a snack. This hotel is what you would expect from a Hilton, but because it is Japanese the service is a step above.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our hospitality and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Tokyo.

Best wishes for the festive season.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    964
    264
    64
    35
See reviews for
584
687
271
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Got a room for $223 booked two days before departure, good price for a hotel like this in Shinjuku. Got a one bed room with a King size bed, with a size comparable with those in US, such as Hilton Arlington close to DC. If with two double beds, it would be a little crowded. Excellent beding, good supplies in the bathroom. Very clean. Friendly staff. There is a shuttle leaving every 20 min to/from Shinjuku station. Got a breakfast/internet package for 40,000 Yen (original about 52,000 Yen). The selections for the breakfast are very good, even if you are only interested in cereals. If you want to save money, walk several blocks to the east, there are plenty of options, local stores as well as convenience stores such as 7 eleven or Family Mart. Those convenience stores are different from those in US. They provide good choices at good prices for fast food and drinks of good qualities. Can be heated at the store. This hotel is about 20-30 minute walk from Meiji Shirine. There is a small park, Shinjuku Chuo Park, close to the hotel. However, it seems to be the home for homeless people. It forms a big contrast to other scenes in that area, but will fill a gap in your full impression of Tokyo.

Room Tip: Do ask the staff at the front desk to check for availability/options of the room type you want, even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to hear you truly enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience on this forum.

Concerning rooms with two double beds - Hilton Tokyo does not offer any rooms with this bedding configuration. Twin rooms have two king single beds due to local preference for this type and room style.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Decent location in Shinjuku (Direct train from Narita via Nex) with free shuttle bus to/from station every 20mins. Really nice reception / lobby with free wi-fi and great views from rooms on higher floors.

Standard rooms don't include free wi-fi which is a bit of a joke in 2012 but this is a decent, clean well maintained hotel with spacious western rooms.

The fitness centre, pool and onsen are awesome, as are the massages. I didn't try the food but it looked nice enough when walking through.

All in all decent value for western travelers that don't have the budget for the Park Hyatt / Peninsula etc...

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor 32 and up are good and seemed to have free wifi and were nicer specified than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your great comments and my team and I really appreciate that you shared your stay experience on this forum.

I do however need to clarify that Hilton Tokyo has a Ofuro (Public Bath/Sauna/Plunge) and we do not have onsen water (Natural Hot Spring). This area is however a great way to relax after a long day with a large hot bath/jacuzzi, cold pool, dry sauna and wet area. We also have a relaxation room, stretching room and massage available.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Hilton big name still a guarantee. Room size was adequate and clean.
Concierges was excellent!!! They checked the internet and printed a location of other hotel pick up point when I asked. They provided a shuttle bus from hotel to Shinjuku station west exit vice versa. Tochomae subway just across hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your very complimentary review and thank you for your loyalty to Hilton.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel. I was on an executive level floor and enjoyed my stay. The staff was fabulous which seems to be consistent with other Hilton properties in Asia (and generally better service than in the US). The room was comfortable, nice size. The breakfast, tea and happy hour in the lounge were quite nice. A variety of food to appeal to multiple cultures.

The gym was nice, several pieces of cardio equipment and a 2nd level which wasn't obvious should the first level be full. Weights (machine and free) were also available. One nice touch was the separate stretching room. I had it to myself every time I wanted to use it.

The hotel has a shuttle that goes to/from the Shinjuku train station 3x/hour. Definitely use this if you have luggage. As an alternatively the station is about a 10-15 min easy walk.

Both the executive lounge and lobby area have business centers with computers.

Room Tip: If it is available to you, I would recommend an executive level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

My team and I really appreciate that you toom the time to share your praise with the trip advisor community.

When you next return to Tokyo we look forward to seeing you back at Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I've been to Tokyo a few times and stayed at various hotels through out the amazing city. Being a Diamond member of the Hilton chain and having my business in Shinjuku, i decided to stay at the Hilton Tokyo. I arrived on a Sunday to absolutely fantastic staff! The folks that work at the Hilton Tokyo are some of the most gracious, helpful and courteous hotel staff I've had the luck of meeting world over.The breakfast buffet was really good and accommodated various different ethnicities. Having said this, the hotel itself (with exception to the lobby and the 53rd floor lounge) was rather dated. The rooms are spacious, especially from a Tokyo city perspective, however they are dated...they're not what you expect when you think of a modern Japanese hotel. They're more typical to a north American hotel room (which may be good for some folks) vs. the modern gadget filled hotel rooms you imagine and i have experienced in Tokyo.

So if you're looking from a business travelers perspective, this hotel simply meets the needs (especially if you're working in Shinjuku), but i don't believe it really gives you a full appreciation for some of the neat modern amenities that other hotels in Tokyo have to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed Hilton Tokyo and in particular our service, Executive Lounge and Restaurants. We also appreciate your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide as a Diamond HHonors Member.

Hilton Tokyo is committed to excellent service, great restaurants and bars and a comfortable stay over high tech and complicated in room gadgetry which we believe is the essence of hospitality. We do however offer considerable technology throughout the hotel including very fast high speed internet/wifi, ipod and MP3 Players in all rooms, Apple iMac and all in one PC's and iPads for guest use on L1 and L38, iConcierge, Hilton requests on arrival, Blue Ray players, Cable TV and the best standards in Environmental Management (air conditioning, recycled water use, Light Stay). The hotel also has the latest in Fitness and wellness at our Hilton Fitness by Precor.

We will also be launching all new Executive and Deluxe rooms from January 2013 which will be the newest guest room product in Tokyo and launched all new Banquet and Event facilities this year.

Hilton has been operating in Tokyo for almost 50 years and in Shinjuku for 30 years and we will continue to invest heavily to provide the best possible stay for both business and leisure travelers.

Thank you again for sharing your experience on tripadvisor and I hope to welcome you back to experience our new rooms in 2013.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie A Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My family and i just stayed a week in the Hilton Tokyo in an executive king room it was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful, and would go above and beyond many places i have stayed in the past.

A few examples of this was i couldn't find an ATM that would except a my credit card to get cash out, one of the staff members walked me to a machine that would work and waited while I made the transaction. Another time we left the room in mess to get out as early as we could, one of the room cleaners picked up all my daughters stuffed toys sat them up neatly ready for her to play with. There were countless examples I could come up with, but i'm not much of a writer.

Basically the little things make a big difference when it comes to quality service and the Hilton Tokyo ticked all the boxes

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

My team and I are really pleased you categorized our operation as a "Top Quality Hotel" and it is great to hear directly from you that the team went above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction.

All of us at the hotel are here to take good care of our guests and ensure they have a great time in Tokyo.

I hope you had a comfortable trip home and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Mr Jamie Mead
General Manager
Hilton Tokyo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shinjuku
Shinjuku
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
Keio Plaza Hotel Tokyo
#7 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Shinjuku
Park Hyatt Tokyo
Park Hyatt Tokyo
#1 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinjuku
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
Hyatt Regency Tokyo
#5 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Shinjuku
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
Shinjuku Granbell Hotel
#12 of 76 in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
Shinjuku
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Hotel.de, Rakuten and JAPANiCAN so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.