We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in strategic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tokyo to your Saves list
Hilton Tokyo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel in strategic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a hotel which is located in the main business district, hotel rooms are simple and comfortable, very clean.
Breakfast is very good,wide spread of selection to choose from. Service is friendly and prompt at all times. Concierge has been very helpful with local information and things to do and visit, shuttle bus service to Shinjuku station is very convenient or you can take a 10 minutes walk to get there. Very good Chinese restaurant in the hot elm food is excellent, highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your great feedback and I will be sharing your comments with my team.

In particular I am very glad you enjoyed our Chinese Restaurant - Dynasty, and our breakfast in the Marble Lounge. Hilton Tokyo prides itself on excellence in food and beverage and it means allot to my Kitchen and Service Team to receive your positive comments.

I also appreciate that you found our location convenient. Shinjuku is extremely well connected for all types of travelers and I am sure your comments will be useful to others.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    877
    245
    58
    30
See reviews for
515
616
256
585
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The service was as good as the Peninsula across town. Really very very attentive and good. The breakfast buffet was lovely. On the 29th floor, the room was not on the executive floors, but was certainly large enough, larger than other places I've stayed in Tokyo, though not the Peninsula. Well equipped, though nothing hanging on the walls, but I didn't really care. Mild noise from the next door shower. Good curtains and screens to keep the summer heat and light out. Elevators fast. Gym small but adequate (for me), water provided, overlooking pool. Loud music and dance in the restaurant lobby one evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
5 August 2011

Thank-you sincerely for your positive comments and it is very rewarding to know that we exceeded your expectations and created a memorable stay for you.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Taken me a while to get this up here but what can you say. Hilton is Hilton some of the best service food around. We were very happy with the room we stayed at and the Breakfast easch morning was fantstic. We even lashed out and spent up at the Tempinyaki bar which is very expensive but was worh it as it was a special time. Will recommend to anyone that has a bit of money to spend and wants to be clost to most things

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
July 22, 2011

Dear Guest,

I am very happy that we impressed you with our product/service and in particular that you loved our Hilton Breakfast and Musashino Teppanyaki.

Please be assured that I will also translate and share your feedback with the respective teams as this is great encouragement for them to receive such praise.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Tokyo in the near future.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were overwhelmed with the Hilton Shinjuku. We were visiting Shinjuku for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The Hilton upgraded us to the top floor which included incredible luxuries like the executive floor lounge (free cocktails and breakfast!!) and they also gave us a free bottle of red wine in our room. The staff were helpful in every way (excellent english). The food in the breakfast buffet was fanstastic. There were free shuttle buses every 20minutes to Shinjuku station otherwise it's about a 20 minute walk to the shopping/restaurants district. The resturants were quite expensive but fine cuisine. We had free entry into the pool and gym area also.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
My team and I thank-you for your great feedback and we are really happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon in Tokyo.

We aim to make celebrations special and I encourage my team to ensure our guests are well taken care of. Hopefully you will be able to celebrate future anniversaries with us.

I trust you had a comfortable trip home and we all remain at your service.

Sincerely

Jamie Mead
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Very clean hotel, good looking and well organized. Room are quite big, clean and well equipped and people is extremely friendly and available. The lounge was good looking but the snacks relly poor and not several alternatives. The lounge closes at 23. Breakfast was excellent and service quick and very polite. Price was quite good considering the sevice and expecially the fact ww are talkingo of Japan. The hotel is 20 min away from the Central station of Shinjiuku and I suggest you to use the subway which is very quick and always on time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank-you for your feedback and I sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Hilton Tokyo. I am very happy with your positive comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Concerning your feedback on Executive Lounge snacks, you will be pleased that a new menu for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canapaes commenced on the 18th of July with a large and high quality variety of items plus extensive beverage options.

Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giessen, Germany
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
125 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Hotel was busy despite the situation in Japan. Had to take care of my luggage from the limousine bus to the hotel by myself, before it was done by the bell boys, alittle short in personnel. Reception was very fiendly. Was up on executive floor with no acces to the executive louge. breakfasrt is a little hefty with 3,900 Yen (ca. 35 €/43 US$), room was very clean as usual, advantage of the hotle is the direct connection to the Marinuchi Line to Shinjuku and Tokyo station, was pleased again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for your positive feedback and rest assured I will share your comments with my team.

I would however like to apologise for the lack of porters on your arrival and assure you that this will be investigated to ensure it does not reoccur.

We look forward to welcoming you back and thank-you for choosing Hilton Tokyo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

This was my first time to Japan for business.
Hilton Shijuku was very nice and an excellent choice. Again, what out stands this hotel like many other Japanese hotels is their service. Impeccable!
They have a nice outdoor garden inside the lobby (strange to describe this), the receptionists were very courteous and the drinks in the bar were good.
The rooms are not very big but very comfortable! The bed perfectly soft and firm at the same time. They had free internet in the room.
They also provide free shuttle to Shinjuku station- two thumbs up for Japanese punctuality.
The only thing I didnt like much was that it was very far from any shop and restaurant (considering walking distance) and the staff couldnt speak proper English when needed, apart from that, it was a nice hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTokyo, General Manager at Hilton Tokyo, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Thank-you for your recent feedback and we really appreciate that you enjoyed our product and service we provided whilst you were in Tokyo.

All of my team members aim to exceed our guest’s expectations and I will definitely share with them your kind words.

Regarding restaurants around the hotel there are literally 100's however they are difficult to find as they are not at street level. When you next stay with us please contact our concierge and they will be happy to share their knowledge of these places with you.

I trust you had a good trip home and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tokyo

Address: 6-6-2 Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0023, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#2 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Tokyo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tokyo boasts market leading contemporary guestrooms, spectacular bars and restaurants and one of the finest health clubs in the city. Enjoy Tokyo's most popular location - Shinjuku, with easy access to JR Shinjuku Station and direct access from the hotel to the Tokyo Metro (Subway). Follow us on facebook Hilton Tokyo (Official) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hilton Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Hilton Hotel Tokyo
Hilton International Shinjuku
Shinjuku Hilton
Hilton Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.