We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area, big rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-104-19 Totsuka-machi, Shinjuku 169-8613, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in the area, big rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I usually come to Shinjuku for work and in the past I had a hard time to find an hotel with rooms which could give me a little more space for living. This hotel has reasonably sized rooms so I come here all the time. Yes, it's not located right into the underground station but who cares? 5 minutes walk are good. Recommendable

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    123
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
40
30
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have gone back to this hotel as promised. I could repeat exactly the same words as last year, but there are two aspects which I would like to mention here:

- breakfast remains incredibly expensive and buffet is not as rich as last year: almost no fruit.

- there are many smaller but cheaper eating places behind the hotel on university campus; language might be a problem, but just point at anything on the menu or use sign language: it will be authentic and delicious.

If you are into shopping, you could use the hotel shuttle. The reasons why I came back: impeccable service and the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I must say I really enjoyed this hotel: excellent staff and incredible service. The rooms are huge according to Tokyo standards, and not too expensive if booked through Expedia or similar services. Of course everything is ultra-clean according to Japanese standards, but the building could use here and there a spot of paint. The lobby is impressive, and the interior decoration stylish. The location of the hotel is excellent if you have to be at Waseda University: just across the garden. But if you want to be in the hustle and the bustle of Shinjuku, it will take you a taxi or shutle ride.

On the downside: expensive wired Internet (no wifi), expensive movies, expensive food (2500 yen for buffet breakfast, and the other restaurants and bar in the hotel are even more expensive).

I will certainly go to this hotel again ... if I have to be at Waseda University.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Disappointing hotel if location is important - states as being in Shinjuku but is most definitely not in the hub of things. The hotel offers a shuttle service from the nearest JR station but this only work from 9am to 9pm - there is NOTHING around the hotel and a taxi from the nearest station is 2000 yen -if you want to eat in the hotel then this will be expensive as well
Hotel itself is set up for the Japanese market few Westerners there, little English spoken, rooms could do with a freshen up and certainly nothing special.
Overall wouldn't recommend for sightseeing holiday due to location, and nothing special on the facilities front . Also most other hotels we stayed in Japan gave free internet this hotel charged

Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riedstadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

I stayd at the Rihga Royal Tokyo for three nights. My room was very nice, quite large and very clean. The beds were comfortable (not too soft) and the room was quiet.
Good breakfast, very nice and helpful staff. Hotel offers a free of charge shuttle bus to the next station where you can find a shopping center and many restaurants.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

I loved this hotel. My room was large and gorgeous. There are many nice amenities in the room too. The bathroom is great. The only drawback was that the location of the hotel seemed a little out of the way, but it made for a very quiet stay. The staff is very cordial and eager to please.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Really beautiful, quiet hotel almost adjoining to Waseda University though the garden. Big well maintained rooms. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which boasts double vanity in the bathroom, 2 flat screen TVs, spacious seating and working areas and lovely view of the waseda university garden below.
But... if you are not familiar with Tokyo and its subway/bus system and don't at least understand Japanese, better stay some more business/touristy properties. The nearest metro station is 10 min walk and it's not easily connecting to others. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle bus (runs every 30 min) to the nearest JR station, which takes about 10 minutes to get there and again it's only Yamanote line which is a round service, so some destinations may take over 30 minutes ride...
Don't be mislead - the hotel is not in Shinjiku, it takes 10 minutes shuttle ride to the JR stations and 2 stations by train to actual Shinjiku...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-104-19 Totsuka-machi, Shinjuku 169-8613, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#10 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, located on the edge of Okuma Garden in downtown Tokyo, is a luxurious and elegant retreat set in the centre of one of the world's busiest commercial capitals. Although our presence in Tokyo is recent, we have brought with us a legendary level of service and the experience of operating Osaka's premier hotel, The Royal, for over half a century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rihga Royal Shinjuku
RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo Shinjuku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RIHGA Royal Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.