We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and convienent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shinjuku Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Shinjuku Prince Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 stars 539 Reviews
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very clean and convienent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Just came back from a wonderful trip to Japan. Stayed at the Shinjuku Prince Hotel for five nights and one more night after coming back from Osaka. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms we stayed in. The staff spoke pretty good English. The rooms were modern and the views over the Shinjuku nightlife and skylines were great. McDonald's, Burger King, Lawson's, and a 100 yen store were next door or across the street. The hotel was just under the Sebu-Shinjuku metro station but it was more convenient to walk the 5-7 minutes to the Shinjuku station to get to all the sights. The hotel was just above the Subnade underground mall so there was easy access to shopping (there was a grocery store which we found the last day) and Shinjuku station. Sure the rooms are small but comparing to the hotel we stayed in Osaka (which was a little bigger), we felt the overall quality was excellent. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    253
    137
    39
    13
See reviews for
67
148
91
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
boracay island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Our deluxe room was small and tiny as most Japanese accommodations are, but it was spotless and all the basic amenities you can think of are provided. It's perfectly located, just a quick 10 minute walk to the train station and LOADS of great eats nearby. Definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Located a short walk from the North exit to Tokyo's busiest train station, the Shinjuku Prince hotel is conveniently placed. Even pulling a suitcase as I was, you can easily find it. It is also conveniently located to all the major train and subway lines, making it an excellent choice for access to the entire Tokyo area. English was spoken and understood well enough so even the international traveler could feel at home. Rooms are small by US standards but clean and modern, big enough so one doesn't feel like you are in one of those infamous micro-tels Tokyo is known for. All in all, I would recommend it to those on a moderate budget. Don't forget to book the breakfast - a buffet delight. For those on a budget, there's a 24 hr McDonald across the street, a Kentucky Fried, Dunkin Donunt and other America outlets nearby. For the adverntursome, the Prince is short walk from Tokyo's red light district.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2009

I had picked up thishotel because it is located just five minutes walk from Shinjuku metro station on Yamanote line.
My rooms was standard size for Tokyo, hence not huge but well appointed, clean and offered a nice view over the city below. Staff was efficient.
I loved Shinjuku atmosphere and Kabuki cho and the fact that using the Yamanote line I could travel all over the city easily. This hotel is a great base to tour around.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

It's a good place to stay if you want value and a little-over standard hotel. No complaints about the room quality and features, except its comical size, especially for two people--but that's apart of Tokyo. We we're always out sightseeing anyway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Yes, the rooms are cozy. As a big guy by myself with a laptop bag and a good sized piece of check in luggage I had adequate room (it's not like I stayed in my room a lot). If I'd been with someone else I would have wanted a larger room. Internet was $5/day, but it was by ethernet and very fast. Rooms were clean, beds very comfortable. Bathrooms very nice (heated mirror to prevent fogging). The location is outstanding. Right in the heart of Shinjuku, very near the station. I plan to stay there again when I go back to Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

When I first travelled to Tokyo more than 20 years ago with my family, we stayed at the Prince Shinjuku. All I remembered was the teeny weeny rooms and the teeny weeny bathrooms. Now for my 4th time back in this ultra-hyper metropolis, my friend and I decided to book 6 nights with this establishment -- mostly due to the fact that I found an amazing deal online for about $108/night.

Now you might be wondering why I only gave the Prince Shinjuku only a 3-star rating, if everything else I rated are 4- to 5- stars. Well, when I was checking in to the hotel, the front desk had offered me an "upgrade" for about Y20,000/night (about $20). We said no upgrade. When my friend and I got to the designated room...we were shocked to discover how SMALL the room is. Keep in mind that we're both Asians, no more than 5'6", with 2 standard luggages. For all you non-Asians reading this: it was humanly impossible to spend a night without bumping into anything in that room. At this point, my friend and I ran back down stairs and took the "king size" room upgrade, which turned out to be a normal size guest room. Moral of the story: if the price you find online is too good to be true, there's a reason for this! Including the "upgrade fee" and internet charge (about $5/day) and taxes, we both spent about $30 more per day than originally expected. However...it's still relatively inexpensive compared to some other hotels in the city.

Okay, now for the rest of the review: the Prince Shinjuku is your typical Asian tourist grade hotel. The lobby area's decor/feel is stuck in the 80s, but all the rooms have been renovated to reflect the 00s. If you have or will be reading other reviews about this hotel, they're all pretty much true: you will never starve (eateries everywhere), you will spend a lot of time shopping (mall downstairs, across the street, around the train station, etc.), you will drink a lot (the famous Kabuki-cho and a gazillion bars/clubs in the hood). And if pachinko is your thing, even better.

Personally, I don't think this is a good hotel for families with kids. Shinjuku is an insane neighborhood. Walking down the street here is like walking down the Strip in Las Vegas...but if you're with friends for a wild night out in Tokyo, but don't want to break the bank, this is the hotel to book. Just make sure you get the room upgrade if they ask you...so I would recommend this hotel with some reservations.

On a side note: the bed is incredibly comfy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shinjuku Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Prince Hotel

Address: 1-30-1 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-8487, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shinjuku Prince Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 571
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shinjuku - a city constantly on the move. Here in this fast-paced subcenter of Tokyo, you'll find the striking, brick-colored tower of the Shinjuku Prince Hotel, which boasts 571 guest rooms and the trendy shops of the Seibu Shinjuku PePe. Located near the towering Tokyo Metropolitan City Hall, this elegant hotel is just a few minutes walk from the skyscrapers of the financial district and the neon lights of the famous Kabuki-cho, a constantly humming nightlife quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shinjuku Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shinjuku
Prince Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Prince Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinjuku Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.