We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Kaiseki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ishikawa

Ishikawa
Kagurazaka, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-5225-0173
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 4,984 restaurants in Shinjuku
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Modern Kaiseki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Great ambience, small counter (only 7 seats), fresh food and a lot of fantasy in the composition. It is NOT a Sushi Restaurant, but rather a modern version of a Kaiseki meal. Reasonable expensive, hart to find and...... 3 Michelin Stars - well earned!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    15
    2
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“İmpressive by Japanese Standards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Tokyo is blessed with many good quality restaurants and Ishikawa, which has 3 Michelin star excels among them. A gourmet menu. represented in an individualized piece of A5 paper, from soups to sashimi and various other carefully prepared dishes leaves different flavours and aromas in the mouth. Service is good and friendly. Ishikawa is however somewhat expensive, but, it is worth visiting nonetheless.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Kaiseki cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a Michelin 3-starred Kaiseki restaurant. The food is very good... using fresh ingredients and simple, zen presentations. The service is also excellent and lives up to expectations of a high-end Japanese restaurant.... Ishikawa himself will see the patrons out the door and will bow until the cab/car they are in disappears from sight.

Expensive but not extraordinarily so by Tokyo standards. You also won't leave hungry, as I was completely stuffed and could not finish the rice at the end. They even had the course menu explained in English.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very, very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A very high-quality Japanese restaurant, with a few dishes showing real ingenuity and featuring some rather interesting ingredients. I'm not going to go on and on about what we ate, it's sufficient to say that the dishes were all perfectly seasoned and thoughtfully presented.

So why not five stars? The service. The staff were attentive, and we were in a private room for two (which I would recommend over sitting at the bar watching the chefs, but that's just me), but there were gaps in the English skills of a couple of the waitresses and some of the descriptions of the dishes we were presented were rudimentary at best. Sugi, the customer-service manager, has excellent English, and this showed in the detail of the dishes that she was able to give us.

All-up, very good. It's well worth the trip and well worth the AU$600 we spent on dinner for two.

One last thing about the location - we got a cab from our hotel, and the driver had a thing called GPS that he was able to enter the address into and then drop us directly outside the door. If you get in a taxi that can't do that, then get another taxi.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the best meal experiences I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food was amazing and the taster menu was the perfect way to sample this. The accompanying wines were great! One of the friendliest staff. With the head chef making the best attempt to walk us through the menu as he served it to us. Worth every Michelin star and more!! Perfect finish to our Japanese trip

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ishikawa also viewed

 

Been to Ishikawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ishikawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.