We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten

Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten
3-31-8 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-3352-1012
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 5,096 Restaurants in Shinjuku
4.0 of 5 stars 209 Reviews
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Small, hidden place near Shinjuku station.

Seat at the counter and see the chef and his assistants prepare the best tempura you have ever eaten: they are fresh (the eel and clam ware alive before being prepared in front of you) and they serve you portion by portion, so it’s always hot.

Other traditional dishes – rice, soup, small appetizers – are also served and the house sake is good and decently priced.

There is another branch at Takashimaya store, also near Shinjuku station, but the food is a little bit inferior.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    86
    27
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tempura Restaurant in Shinjuku Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Best meal of our 10 day stay in Japan. All the seafood was very fresh and delicious. Eat at the bar and watch them prepare the tempura right in front of you. Highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Tempura Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you like tempura, this is the restaurant to go. It's in the middle of East Shinjuku, looks a bit small from the outside, but once you're in, there's always place and service is very efficient. Very friendly cook gives explanations about the food as well. The tempura itself is very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent Tempura Joint in Shinjuku Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wide and I are Japanese foodies and during our stay in Tokyo we wanted to try out the various Japanese cuisines on the offer. And so we chose this popular tempura restaurant on the recommendation of our TimeOut Tokyo guidebook.
This relatively large eatery is very difficult to find. Your best bet is to go to the Shinjuku Sanchome metro station, take exit A5, get out, turn right and after 200 to 300 feet of walking on the pedestrian ally, it is a brown two story structure on your left. Like most Japanese restaurants, there is no English sign. Your effort to get there will be well rewarded!
Most diners were the local Japanese, and that to me is a good sign the food is good, and it is. Try to get a counter seat up front to see the chefs do their thing. We chose the set 4000 yen menu for me and the 2750 one for my wife. In my opinion there was little difference between the two. The seafood was fresh, and the batter thin and non oily. It was delicious tempura.
The atmosphere is really nothing much to write home about. You are really here just for the food. On a busy night expect to wait. The prices are good for very expensive Tokyo. We were surprised they did not charge us extra for tea or extra rice, which most others would. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good lonely planet recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Went there on lonely planet recommendation. It's pretty much everything you want from a typical tempura restaurant.
Set menu for diner is around ¥2690 per person, you'll et get soup, tea and rice as a start and then a ballet of tempura : big prawns, eel, lotus, white fish, small prawns... Plenty!
The service is friendly, they even brought a little laminated page with the explanation of the purpose of each 5 plates you have in front of you and are happy to teach you all the do's and don't of tempura!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten also viewed

 
Shinjuku, Tokyo
 

Been to Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinjuku Tsunahachi So-honten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.