We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya to your Saves list
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-24 Yotsuya, Shinjuku 160-0004, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 189 Reviews
Denver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice hotel with standard amenities in a central area of Tokyo. One block from the Yotsuya metro line. Breakfast in the lobby is a good value. Hotel staff was very helpful and catered to a variety of requests, including recommendations for restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face the back of the hotel, which is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    99
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
60
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were happy with our stay at Mitsui Garden and would recommend.
It wasn’t out of this world but was a good hotel in a very handy location.

Good
Location was great, next to the underground, right in the middle of Japan with some restaurants and shops nearby.
Staff were very friendly and happy to help.
The hotel was very clean and a good standard.

Bad
Rooms were small.
Breakfast was expensive so we didn’t have it.

The bad was not that bad at all so we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

The hotel facilities are pretty standard but i love the Ladies Comfort Single room, the whole floor allows only ladies, its room amenities are designed for ladies, they have the facial steamer, 4-kinds of facial mask, linen spray with 2 fragrant and there's an electric massage-pillow for every room type which really helps soothing your whole muscles after a full day travel ;) really makes the whole stay so memorable.

The location is adding another poin too, a short walking distance to Yotsuya st. which is just 1 station away from Shinjuku. Around the hotel there are many restaurants, my favorite is Matsuya

The service is overall standard but there are 2 female staffs are so kind, one of them walked to JR station to pick me up when i called them asking for direction. Another one came to my room delivering a new steamer when on my last nite i found the one in my room was not working. She kept apologizing, while it was not her fault, and i was ok even if they don't have a replacement, i'm sorry i didn't ask for these 2 girls' names, otherwise i may say personal thanks to them here

If i'm going to Tokyo again, will try to book this hotel again (they're often full)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Austin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this hotel as a home base for our trip to Tokyo this fall. As many others have noted, it was convenient to get to the subway just down the street and get wherever we wanted to go from there. The room itself was very clean and well appointed - and had lots of fun extras and toiletries (q-tips, hair ties, toothbrush/paste, mouthwash, razors, etc) as well as minifridge and something resembling Febreeze which was nice to have. Free wi-fi also came in handy for us. Surprisingly - I felt we had plenty of room in both the bathroom and bedroom areas (we had a room with 2 single beds for 2 adults).
Front desk staff were always helpful when we had questions about directions and getting around.
AND - there are lots of things nearby - plenty of restaurants in the street behind the hotel, and even a Lawson's convenience store right around the corner which we made use of regularly for stocking up on drinks and snacks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights and felt like it was home and were sad to leave. The room was decent size and had everything we needed with complimentary toiletries, wifi, tea and water daily. Only a five minute walk from Yotsuya station which connects you easily to lines to access main areas of Shinjuku & Shibuya. Many restaurants, coffee shops and convenient stores located directly outside the hotel entrance. Staff were fantastic. They helped us book a day tour to Hakone and even offered us umbrellas when it rained. Would definitely stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms with a street view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good location, between Shinjuku main attractions and the Imperial Palace. Two nearby subway stations.
The hotel was clean and the rooms are very small but I understand it's japanese standard, so it was ok, and the place was well-thought. I would however suggest to try getting a larger room there. Free wifi in the rooms; very much appreciated.
Very helpful and friendly staff with excellent command of English.
Did not try the Italian restaurant but the pizza smell was very appealing. Instead we went to the tiny street behind the hotel (on the left), where we've found dozens of restaurants. The first on the left corner is a yakitori type. No English menu available and the staff could only speak Japanese, but they improvised an excellent diner for us. Very much recommended. The hotel also keeps a list of recommended restaurants in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good:

Clean rooms, semi big rooms (for Tokyo anyway), great view of the street, free wifi (through in room router you have to set up yourself), free water every day, great shower with complimentary free shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, possibility of making your own coffe and tea in room, vending machines.. Good central location, close to metro st. good restaurants near by.

Not so good:

very small bed for to average sized europeans , and the double duvet was driving us crazy :-/ AND the toilet bidet had crazy HOT burning water.. I told the staff, they tried to fix it but couldn't.. They didn't offer a room change even though we payed crazy expensive money to stay there.. the pay-per view was quite expensive..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya

Address: 1-24 Yotsuya, Shinjuku 160-0004, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
#9 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya Shinjuku, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mitsui Garden Hotel Yotsuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.