We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and modern rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large and modern rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Wonderful location for exploring Tokyo and taking day trips using Shinjuku station as a base. Supermarkets very close by. Exceptionally clean. We both had the cold and were provided with a humidifier to help us breathe at night. Impeccable Japanese service. Will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    417
    53
    5
    5
See reviews for
262
434
58
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We're check in here for 3 night stay. The staff was really cold and unfriendly. We come with children and get charge for extra bed, which is fine for us. Although we expect to get extra bed, apparently the extra bed is actually existing sofa bed inside the room.
When raining, we can't even borrow umbrella. All through our stay, we didn't met any friendly staffs here.

The room is the smallest rooms we get in all through our journey in Japan. You need creativity to make place for your luggage.

Location is quite good, just 3 bus stop from shinjuku. Take bus no. 61 from hotel door step, to save your energy to walk to shinjuku central.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The rooms were very clean and modern. Heaps of space! We didn't use the kitchen but it was available. Free wifi. Really comfortable bed.
We travelled in a large group so the nice lobby was good to sit in while waiting for our friends. Very friendly and helpful staff.
We didn't try the breakfast but our friends travelling with us said it was fine. No complaints.

It was a bit of a walk to the main Shinjuku station with luggage and a little confusing, but there was a closer subway station, maybe a 5-10 minute walk away. So it wasn't really an issue. This subway has steep stairs so maybe not an option for those with heavy luggage. I would recommend catching a taxi to the hotel if you don't want to haul your bags for 15-20min.
Print a good map before you go with clear road names and directions. This will help you a lot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

i agree with ginobobo, the place was not so easy to find, but it's placed in strategic place (near to yoshinoya, konbini store, and bento store (opposite side), comfortable, clean, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I was rather worried when I read some negative reviews regarding the area Citadines was located as I was travelling with my young daughter, but all worries were gone once we arrived. I believe it is safe enough to walk back even as late as 12 AM.

For first time visitors to Citadines Shinjuku, the main challenge is finding it. Those arriving by train, the nearest station to the Citadines is the Shinjuku gyoenmae. Should you get the correct exit, turn left or right depending on the exit, go to the alley and walk straight till you reach Yoshinoya, turn right and walk straight pass 7-11 and you will arrive at the Citadines (realistically on foot with luggages it will take you no less than 12 minutes to reach)

Check-in is super fast if you have booked online. I requested the non smoking room/floor, the request was fulfilled. Upon check in we asked for extra pillows and they were sent up right away.

The room layout is well designed, everything seemed to be in the right place. However placing our luggages was a challenge. The bed is comfortable enough with warm blankets. Kitchen has useful and complete utensils if you do wish to cook. But we only use the microwave to reheat food we bought nearby and kettle to boil water to make hot beverages. Bathroom is small but clean. Overall the room feels like a studio apartment and is really comfortable.

Staffs do go out of their way to help you find restaurants (even calling them up) places, and etc.

Checkout was also super fast, and luggage storage is available, thus enabling us to do last minute sight seeing or shopping before our late night flight.

Overall it has been a very positive experience staying at the Citadines Shinjuku. Should we visit Tokyo again we are most likely to stay here again.

The only fault I have with this hotel is the lack of transportation choices to the airport (unless you are taking the taxi). We had to pull/carry our luggages to the Shinjuku gyoenmae station to get to another hotel that has an airport limousine facility. Also the this hotel is rather far if walking on foot from the shopping area of Shinjuku, like to the Isetan area, its a good 15 - 20 minutes walk.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

the place was not so easy to find,ask for twice...the hotel just like apartment with the mini kitchen,that was why there are so many backpacker choose here.Anyway,the room was plesant
and had a sound sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights from 20 to 25 Dec. Didn't realise it was exactly during the Japanese public holiday from 21-23 Dec. Didn't come very prepared with an itinerary planned for all the 5 days and had to rely on the hotel staff for lots of recommendations and help in reservations. Luckily for us, one of the hotel staff at the front desk, Maiko-san, was simply the most helpful front desk staff you could ask for. Almost everyday we were asking about day tour packages, locations of various places of interests, restaurant recommendations and even reservations, and she was extremely patient and helped us with all of our requests.

For one of the requests, we were asking for help to make a reservation at a Teppanyaki Restaurant in downtown Shinjuku and asked for her help. My mom does not take beef so we had to find a place that served various meats. However, that place only served beef so there was a lot of discussions and Maiko-san had to be the middleman to translate for us. In the end, we decided not to go for it as the restaurant had a strict restriction that each diner must order a beef set. Maiko-san offered to help us find another restaurant while we went out for the day and when we returned, we found a letter and map showing us the restaurant that she helped to book for us. Turns out that restaurant called Shaka Shaka, was just around the corner from the hotel and served really delicious teppanyaki in a much more casual environment and much better prices than the original restaurant we were looking at.

Many thanks to Maiko-san for helping to make our trip so enjoyable and going beyond the call of duty to help us out. Other than the great room and location which other reviewers have mentioned in their reviews, service staff such as Maiko-san really make this hotel stand out.

Thanks for making our holiday such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.