We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Large rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is a little off the beaten track at the edge of Shinjuku but the rooms were nice and large, the bed was comfy and it was handy to have a little kitchen in each room. Breakfast was a bit basic but nothing to complain about. The reception staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    454
    61
    6
    5
See reviews for
291
461
61
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

.We are an older couple and stayed at Citadines late June 2013.Considering this is in an excellent location in Tokyo where prices could be astronomic, this hotel was excellent. The price was very reasonable. We did not use the hotel restaurant for breakfast but purchased food for breakfast from the seven eleven a few metres down the street. The room had basic cooking facilities which we only used for breakfast. The room was small but was so cleverly laid out that it was very functional for us. The staff could not have been more helpful. Hotel is close to metro and to a range of restaurants. We found a superbe Indian restaurant close to the metro and just around the corner from the hotel. We got to the hotel from Narita by express train direct to Shinjuku station and because we had a lot of luggage, chose to taxi from very much Shinjuku to the hotel. Taxi fare was not very much.We had 4 days in Tokyo and did not find it overly expensive. We used metro and walked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Tokyo and the Citadines Hotel was a great choice. The room was very well designed and the beds and pillows extremely comfortable. It was great having a little kitchenette even just to make tea. The breakfast was okay for the price although not much choice. The staff were very helpful and their English was good. The mrt station was only a short walk away and there were many shops to buy food and other essentials nearby. Also lots of restaurants in the area. The laundry in the hotel was also very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice and been very happy with the experience. A 10 minute walk from the exciting part of Shinjuku, it is a restful oasis. The local streets are a pleasant stroll with many small restaurants. Hotel rooms are comfortable, very clean and everything works. Staff really go out of their way to help.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and three children. A good clean modern hotel with decent sized rooms which are very reasonably priced for Tokyo. Friendly staff all spoke English. Also less than five minutes from the tube. Only "down" about the hotel is that it is a bit bland and corporate, but if it is only a base to explore the city that should not matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a little overwhelmed when trying to book a hotel for our trip. Tokyo is expensive, and I had no idea in what part of town that we should stay. I had a friend recommend staying in the Shinjuku area, and I had looked at the reviews on tripadvisor on this hotel and decided to go with it since the reviews were good and it fit within what we wanted to spend on a hotel.
What we were looking for was a hotel in a decent location, one that was clean, and safe. And while this hotel did meet those three criteria, I was still underwhelmed. I've stayed at a mixed bag of places in my travels and knew that this would be a lower end kind of hotel.
The hallways had a smell to them. The extra bedding in the closet of our room was stained. It's hard for me to articulate exactly why I didn't love it, I just didn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked 4 rooms at Citadines for our family and were so happy when we arrived. It was only a short walk from the train station (once we got orientated and also asked a helpful local!). Staff were very helpful and could speak good basic english. The rooms were a great size, clean and modern. The little kitchenette was excellent, having so many 7/11's around, we picked up snacks, drinks, etc and could make our own breakfast in the room. The streets around the hotel have fantastic restaurants, we would just wander and choose one at random, all were absolutely delicious. We felt so safe walking around Tokyo and even walked from Shinjuku station a few times to the hotel, which is an easy 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.