We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Citadines Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Citadines Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here with my wife and three children. A good clean modern hotel with decent sized rooms which are very reasonably priced for Tokyo. Friendly staff all spoke English. Also less than five minutes from the tube. Only "down" about the hotel is that it is a bit bland and corporate, but if it is only a base to explore the city that should not matter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    414
    53
    5
    5
See reviews for
261
434
58
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I was a little overwhelmed when trying to book a hotel for our trip. Tokyo is expensive, and I had no idea in what part of town that we should stay. I had a friend recommend staying in the Shinjuku area, and I had looked at the reviews on tripadvisor on this hotel and decided to go with it since the reviews were good and it fit within what we wanted to spend on a hotel.
What we were looking for was a hotel in a decent location, one that was clean, and safe. And while this hotel did meet those three criteria, I was still underwhelmed. I've stayed at a mixed bag of places in my travels and knew that this would be a lower end kind of hotel.
The hallways had a smell to them. The extra bedding in the closet of our room was stained. It's hard for me to articulate exactly why I didn't love it, I just didn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Region, Australia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We booked 4 rooms at Citadines for our family and were so happy when we arrived. It was only a short walk from the train station (once we got orientated and also asked a helpful local!). Staff were very helpful and could speak good basic english. The rooms were a great size, clean and modern. The little kitchenette was excellent, having so many 7/11's around, we picked up snacks, drinks, etc and could make our own breakfast in the room. The streets around the hotel have fantastic restaurants, we would just wander and choose one at random, all were absolutely delicious. We felt so safe walking around Tokyo and even walked from Shinjuku station a few times to the hotel, which is an easy 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had rented a studio at Citadines in Shinjuku, no room is spared, it is well organised. Staff is very friendly and was helpful any time we needed.
It is very clean and functional, well situated in a safe area. Next to the hotel there is some 7 Eleven, Family Mart which can be very convenient. It is also close from the subway.
It is not situated in a very busy street and it can seems a bit dark when you come back at late night.

The breakfast is also really good and has a lot of choices, a good way to start a big day if you'll walk around Tokyo !

It is an affordable place and I will definitely go back there when I'll travel to Tokyo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not glamorous, but we loved the perfect little kitchen where after a quick trip to a nearby grocery, we had the ingredients for breakfast and snacks. You wouldn't want to miss lunch or dinner at the many great little eating streets nearby. It's a five minute walk to the efficient subway system and a fifteen minute walk to the heart of the Shinjuku shopping and entertainment streets. Wifi in the room was excellent. The beds were comfortable and we had no noise issues. The staff could not have been nicer with directions and helping us with a walk in clinic we needed our first day. We appreciated the small coin laundry off the lobby and the umbrellas at the door.
This was our first experience with this chain and we were so pleased, we booked one in Kyoto as well. It had a more appealing lobby, and the same decent location, but the room seemed smaller with a lot less storage. That said, we would happily return to either.

Room Tip: We had a high floor facing the street and had no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked Citadines in Tokyo based on the great reviews in Tripadvisor and our experience in Citadines Kyoto. The Tokyo Citadines offers a nice amount of space for the money you pay (especially when you consider that this is Tokyo!) and the room is ok and has all the stuff you normally expect in Citadines, but that's it for the good sides.

The sound insulation is poor at best. For example the front door lets in all of the sounds from the corridor, so if someone passes your room or talks in front of it, it almost feels like they're in the bed next to you - fortunately there wasn't that much corridor traffic or night crawlers in Citadines at the time we visited. Also from the bedroom window sounds get in very strongly. At the time of our visit there was a construction work right next to our bedroom window and they were working every day starting from 08am in the morning. Although the sounds weren't super loud, you would always wake up to this - fortunately they finished always after 4-5pm and at night time there weren't much sounds from outside. It might be that if your room is on the other side of the building that you wont get the construction noise. But then again I've heard that some of the other rooms that face the bigger road on the other side of the building get lots of road noise 24/7, so it's a lose-lose situation from this point of view.

As I mentioned there's no construction noise at night fortunately, and in any case it wasn't as loud as we feared when we first read about the construction on the notification in our room. In any case I really dont understand why hotels dont mention in their web booking service or elsewhere if there's a big construction going on nearby, this is a huge factor for deciding whether to stay or not, and I always feel cheated when this happens (had this 3 times in different hjotels) and feels that you're paying for more than what it's worth. It always gets negative WOM when this happens.

Other than the noise, I have to say that the overall atmosphere and ambience in the room was adequate at best compared to Citadines Kyoto. I don't know if it was the lightning or the air in the room or the furniture (or the fact that the room was a bit smaller and the layout was different), but somehow it missed the same comfortable and relaxing homelike feeling that we got in Kyoto Citadines.

The location isn't that good either. The property advertises itself as having a prime location, but still it is quite a walk from the closest subway stop - and far from the central Shinjuku. I can't say that the location would be bad, but it isn't that great either.

Can't say much about the service, because we didn't really have special needs, but when we checked in the procedure was a bit slower and sloppier than usual because of the trainee that handled our check-in, but this is no problem of course. However the room was always cleaned in time and to great detail, but this is more of a rule rather than an exception in Japan in my experience.

Overall what can be said is that the Citadines Shinjuku is not up to scratch if compared with the Citadines in Kyoto, but for the money paid it still offers very good value in Tokyo. If you need a bit bigger apartment type room in Tokyo with quite a low price and for a time that's not long enough to rent a premium apartment from lets say the roppongi area, then Citadines Tokyo might be a great choice. However considering the noise factor and the fact that the location is a bit off, next time I'll probably invest my money somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was amazed when I walked in of how spacious the room was, we had a standard room with a kitchenette and it also had a small seating area. The room was very basic, but clean and kitchen was well equipped.
The location was close to Shinjuku station, however it was about 15-20 min walk, and even the closest subway was up to 10 min walk away.
Overall, I think this hotel was really amazing value and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.