We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Imagine a hotel room that has enough plug outlets to recharge or operate all your devices. Imagine these plugs don’t need an adaptator. The light switches are placed exactly where you need them. The table can overhang on the armchair for comfort. There are lots of light sources. There are English channels on TV. This is a long stay hotel but with complete daily service. You can even leave your dirty dishes in the sink and they clean magically when you are not there (unlike in France). No noise from the street (7th floor). Plenty of shelf space. Each room has their own Wi-Fi router. And it’s fast enough to watch TV live. Did I say the thermostat actually responds to your settings? No tipping! This is Japan! The sheets and towels are all white. I just did not find anything wrong with this place.

Room Tip: The bus B61 is right in front of the building and comes every 5 minutes. It goes to Kabukicho and Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    452
    61
    6
    5
See reviews for
290
459
61
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for over a week last December (2012) with my wife and little girl.
The staff were friendly and the amenities were top grade.
The place around the hotel is perfect for a short walk on the way to the busy shopping area and train station.
It is also a perfect place for people looking for halal food...
Several halal food joints on the way to the busy area of Shinjuku.
Will definitely stay there again if we do visit Tokyo again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is located a 10/15 minute walk to the heart of the confusion of Shinkuku area. The great thing is that although very near, its in a very quiet neighbourhood. A google print with diretions to the hotel is recommend for first time in tokyo, to find the main street that goes directly to the Shinkuku central station (although it its very easy once you get used to the city).
Once arriving we took the SUICA card plus Narita Express that allows you to use both the subway and de Japan Railroad Lines (good value). Near the hotel you'll have 2/3 options of subway nearby(5 to 10 minutes walk).
The room is very large with small living room with sofa and kitchenette, with great amenities (iron, free wifi in the room, microwave, toaster, mini fridge, little gym). Very clean, lots of space for the luggage with a clean/modern design, which from what we've heard is not very common in tokyo. we stayed in room 1004 in the 10th floor which was very very quiet.
The staff was very helpful and speak english fluently.
And the best thing is the price: great value for all the above. we'll definitely come back in our next stay!!

The only setback is breakfast that although very cheap is a bit poor, but we ended up using the kitchenette (there are lots of mini markets near by)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Love the rooms. Clean and smartly configured. Has laundry on site.
Wifi is available in the rooms.
Little Kitchenet are perfect for breakfast and if not they serve one for extra.
Location is quiet in was great for what I needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Look no where but here if you want to stretch your yen in Tokyo. The hotels do not come close in terms of value for money.
The website might state that wifi is only available in the lobby but while i was there, i received a flyer to state that they are starting to fit wifi facilities for every room. They would need a month or so. Should be done by April 2012.

Other than that, location is great. You can walk to Shinjuku. It really isn't that far. Great work out anyway. I would not hesitate to book a room with them again in future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

It is easy to find with the directions given, under a 10 min walk from Shinjuku-Gyoenmae Subway Station.

Rooms are basic but not bad. A tight squeeze for 3 people in a twin room with sofa bed. Sofa bed was not the best. Twin room would be ok for 2 people. Small kitchen set up if you plan to make it a base for a few days. We found the bed closest to the window to have a vent blowing cold air out above it and it got quiet cold at that end of the room (nights in April can get chilly). When I mentioned this to reception he gave me a box and tape so I could cover it. He did offer to come do it himself but I declined. We also found a sock from the previous (I think) guest underneath a bed !!!!

There is construction going on out the back (until 2014 at least) from 8am 6 days a week. It is mentioned on flyers in the room. There is also a very busy road out the front so no matter which side you will get noise. The windows are not sound proofed, so we heard the traffic alot. Not sure if we were just tired but we actually slept in.

Coin laundry onsite and the internet worked well.

Not a bad distance to walk to Shinjuku for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I picked it because of the positive tripadvisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Our one double-bed room was good-sized, very clean, felt fresh, good furnishings. All service personnel were excellent and spoke excellent English. For someone used to US and Europe hotel rates, I think this is an excellent value at $180 / night. 



** HOT TIP: SOLUTIONS TO THE LOCATION INCOVENIENCE**

I had thought the location seemed a bit inconvenient when I was choosing a hotel but its very manageable. The inconvenience is that the Citadines is in fact a 15-20 minute walk to Shinjuku station (for the Yamanote line). But there are two solutions. Solution one, you don't really need to go to Shinjuku Station all the time. Citadines is only a 5-min walk to Shinjuku-Gyoemmae Metro Stn and a 10-min walk to the Shinjuku-Sanchome Metro Stn. From these two stations, one can get to pretty much anywhere in Tokyo.



Solution two, if you do need to get to the main Shinjuku Stn, Bus # 61 makes it a simple & fast 5-min ride to it. On the way to Shinjuku Stn, #61 stops in right in front of the Citadines and takes you to the bus terminal (which is just a group of bus stops) at the west side of the Stn. 


To go from the main Shinjuku Stn to Citadines, when you are inside the main station look for signs for “West Side Bus Terminal” or "Exit 14". From there, it is easy to find the bus pickup area. Pick up #61 at its start point. Takes about 5-8 mins to the Hanazono stop, which is right across the street from the 7-11 store and Citadines. Press the button to request a stop when you get to the pedestrian overpass (or earlier). 



We did this bus route a few times, including once with luggage (2 roller bags) to get to the JR Line Shinagawa Stn for the bullet train.
 Easy, fast, and way way cheaper than a taxi.

A PASMO card makes taking the bus easier. Everyone should get this anyway for the trains. 



If the Citadines hotel staff sees this post, I recommend you include this bus information in the local map you hand out to show your guests the route to the nearest metro stations. I had to figure this out myself.

My star ratings take cost into account.

Room Tip: Before I got there, I was concerned that a non-smoking room was merely a "request" and Cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance of the Shinjuku East area, one of Tokyo's thriving urban centres, Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is a contemporary residence which enjoys a prime location close to the Marunouchi and Toei Shinjuku subway lines. At Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, you can look forward to a pleasant stay that combines the convenience of a hotel with the freedom and privacy of a Tokyo serviced apartment. The residence's range of optional services are customized to suit your business and leisure needs, allowing you a choice of short or long term stays. Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo is conveniently situated near restaurants, supermarkets, shopping malls, the Shinjuku hospital and Shinjuku Gyoen National Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.