We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpfull, Friendly Staff, Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Shinjuku
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Helpfull, Friendly Staff, Nice Hotel, Good Location, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed for 3 days, went to another areas for 4 days and then went back for another 7 days. The hotel staff were very firendly and spoke good English. They were happy to help us with queries and gave us maps, drawing on the subway maps so we knew which trains to take, We asked for recommendations of restaurants etc and they printed off the details so we could give it to the taxi driver. They also leant us power adapters too which was great. I was there on by birthday and they left a note signed by all of the staff wishing me a happy birthday and some desserts, which was lovely.

Very high speed wifi in the room. Very spacious and nice room. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk into the main part of Shinjuku and is nice because it is so close, but the areas immediately surrounding the hotel is much quieter. There is also a 711 very close which we used a lot for snacks and for the international ATM.The subway station which we used heaps, was about 5 mins walk (if that).

When arriving, I recommend catching the Narita express to Shinjuku station and then getting a taxi to the hotel, until you have your bearings. The taxi cost 780 yen, which is nothing. Print off the local language map from the Citadines website and keep it with you to show taxi drivers where to go and you wont have any trouble.

Our friends stayed at another more central hotel and they said ours was much nicer and bigger. Great value for money. Would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    373
    47
    5
    5
See reviews for
248
395
51
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited Tokyo in December 2012 and my wife had liaised with the staff at Citadines to book the apartment for 5 nights.
The staff were excellent, the accommodation was extremely clean and convenient (walking distance to train station) and the staff were courteous and with very good knowledge of English),
Very happy with Citadines, have already recommended it to our friends who are planning to visit Japan next year.
Will definitely go back there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

After booking many months ahead of travel (cheaper booking through the hotel website), there were a few email exchanges between the hotel and I regarding bookings for restaurants and other Japan related information and the staff always responded quickly and with very good English. The staff at the hotel are super helpful and can point you in the right direction on how to get somewhere quickest/easiest.

The rooms are well planned out and using the free wifi every day to plan activities was very good (not all hotels in Japan have readily available Wifi in rooms). We never used the kitchenette except to boil water for tea (teabags/coffee in the lobby) and the bathrooms were designed to utilise all space with a toilet and shower/bathtub which was very deep. Water heat and pressure was perfect, too. The size of the smallest room was one of the bigger ones we had while in Japan.

The location of the hotel is not the best in the heart of Shinjuku but it's convenient to getting to Ginza, Tsukiji, Akihabara, Ueno and Asakusa through the Gyoenmae station (5 min walk). It takes about 15 mins to walk to the centre of Shinjuku but it's a pleasant walk. However, if arriving in Shinjuku for the first time, one should get a taxi for about 710yen. There are lots of little restaurants and bars around the hotel and it is close to the gay district as well.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again in Tokyo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Citadines is well located for local trains and shopping in Shinjuku. The staff were very helpful. Rooms are small but adequate and very clean. Do not pay for the upgraded room as they are almost identical to the standard room. Breakfast was ok but we found that the Ginko(?) restuarant located a block and a half to the left, just before the blue foot bridge was really good value and did a western style breakfast. There is revolving sign on the footpath outside it and you walk up stairs to locate it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is great and as expected. It would probably be a 4 star in Australian standards. It has free, fast wifi & a 711 just down the road. It is safe and has an awesome restaurant district nearby. The only thing I under estimated was the distance to Shinjuku station and how far Narita airport is from the hotel. There is a subway nearby (5mins walk) but Shinjuku which is the main interconnect station from the airport line & bus drop off is a good 10-15mins walk or 900yen in a taxi. Also, Narita airport is about 1.5hrs by bus or train and the earliest they start are 5:30ish. We had a 6am flight so our only option was a 20,000yen taxi. I'd stay here again but don't under estimated travel time and distances like I did.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Tokyo and friends advised us to stay in Shinjuku. After some research we booked 4 nights at the Citadines. It was an excellent base for our visit.

In terms of location, it is an easy walk to either the main Shinjuku station or one of the smaller, neighbouring metro stations - Gyoemmae or Sanchome. That being said, it was just a bit too far with suitcases, so we used a taxi on arrival and departure. (Cost from Shinjuku Station to the hotel was only 1070 Yen which is about US$12.) Thankfully, we had the address of our hotel written down in Japanese as the taxi driver did not speak English. There are a number of convenience stores and supermarkets closeby and a wide variety of restaurants in the neighbourhood. As a tourist, there is alot to see in the Shinjuku and surrounding areas.

We had an "Executive Studio" on the 8th floor, of 16. Our room was excellent and very spacious by Tokyo standards. It was very quiet, extremely clean, very comfortable and had everything you need. The kitchenette was well equipped with hotplate, microwave, toaster, kettle, saucepans etc. We only used the kitchen for breakfast, but if you were staying longer and wanting to cook meals, it was perfect. The bathroom had a Toto washlet toilet. There is a good sized couch and desk and a room divider so you can close off the bedroom, if you like. The flat screen TV is set up so you can slide it along the wall, depending upon whether you want to watch TV in bed or on the couch.

The front desk staff was very helpful, giving directions, and everyone spoke good English.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We are just back from our trip to Tokyo and we couldn't pick better hotel... To be honest, my boyfriend chose it and before we got there I wasn't sure it was the best idea - I wanted to stay in west Shinjuku where all skyscrapers are.. I couldn't be more wrong! Yes we went there, too, had brunch in Hyatt Tokyo's lounge (it's a must!) but everything is hapenning in east Shinjuku! Life, lights, restaurants, shopping.. and if you want just nice walk through small cute avenues, that's there, too! It's bit tricky to find it if this is your first time and you decide to walk from Shinjuku station as we did:) taxi is an option - it will cost you up to 1000 yen. Or metro that will bring you bit closer and 2 min walk. The best and easiest option if you fly in and out of Narita airport is combination of return ticket for Narita express (train from airport to shinjuku station) and SUICA card that made it so much easier to move around Tokyo (travel card for metro, busses, most of trains and even shopping) and it's easily rechargeable. And about the hotel, not much that hasn't been said yet to say.. Fantastic english speaking staff (as you will find not many people speak any other language than japanese here), spotless clean, modern, well equipped, comfortable. Ask at reception anything - about food, transport, prices - they will help you with all of it. For frequent traveler and person who likes her comfort I can genuinly say I would stay again and will recommend easily to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-28-13 Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0022, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#3 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#5 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadines Tokyo Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Citadines Tokyo Hotel Shinjuku
Shinjuku Citadines Tokyo Hotel
Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.