We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing restaurant I ever visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christon Cafe Tokyo

Christon Cafe Tokyo
5-17-13 Shinjuku | 8/9F Oriental Wave, Shinjuku 160-0022, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
+81 3-5287-2426
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,319 of 5,391 Restaurants in Shinjuku
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shinjuku
Description: """Inspired by 18th century gothic Churches from Catalonia, Spain, Europe, our restaurant is remade into an old church style made in the 21st century. Please enjoy a special night surrounded by the Chandeliers, Antique furniture, Ornament and Marble stone tables directly imported from Eurpope such as France and Spain which create a magnificent atmosphere."" "
Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The most amazing restaurant I ever visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

There are a lot fancy restaurant out there, but not look like this restaurant. Located in the main street of shinjuku, you wouldn't believe until you get in. The restaurant actually in downstairs, just like going to the some hidden room. The atmosphere is so religious.. there are a lot of statue and classic furniture. So you won't feel like in Japan if you inside this restaurant. In the other hand the statue and furniture look gothic to me, its frightening me. Amazed by the surroundings, I almost forgot how the food taste. I ordered some platter and English Tea to accompany me in the very early morning. Yes.. I think the place is 24 hours. It was the only restaurant that open at 3AM. Christon Cafe is so amazing, completed my tremendous trip in Japan.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    7
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish, Sexy, Fun, Wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a unique gothic restaurant/bar. It's that stylish over the top Japanese goth that really adds some nice flavore, with drinks that have glowing ice and some really excellent food. The also have wild parties and events on the weekends that don't even start till 11:30, for a wild night out. I particularly like the location in Shinjuku, because Shinjuku has little in terms of clubs. In the same building as the Shinjuku location is Inokuniya, a fun restaurant owned and named after a famous Japanese pro wrestler that has a great experience. See both if you get the chance!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fun night out in a Gothic/Church restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

This restaurant is decked out in the style of an ornate gothic church, complete with plenty of religious artefacts, stained glass, gargoyles, and faux candles.

The food is izakaya style, with a fair degree of Japanese/Western crossover, and whilst nothing special it is reasonable value for what you get. It's very popular with young people.

There is a compulsory amuse bouche served which is charged for (as is common in Japanese restaurants).

The restaurant is on the 8th floor of the Oriental Wave Building (which houses a number of other restaurants) so is not immediately obvious from the street, although there are signs. There's plenty of seating spread over two levels, at tables and in booths.

Note that the position of the restaurant has been shown wrongly on the Tripadvisor Tokyo app; it's on the East site of Shinjuku Station, on the north side of Yasukuni Dori just west of the intersection with Meiji Dori.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
“relaxation restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Christon cafe is a Itarian restaurant in Shibuya. There are many kind of menu. For example Salad, side menu, main dish, dessert and wine. All menu is good taste. The inside of a restaurant is placed comfortable furniture. The restaurant provide a time for show of piano and song. So we can listen a music over our meal. Atmosphere is a very good and we can relax. But service is not so good because, restaurant is very wide so staff is slow in corresponding for our vice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christon Cafe Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Christon Cafe Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christon Cafe Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.