We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Narrow food & bars street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omoide Yokocho

Omoide Yokocho
Nishi-Shinjuku, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Omoide Yokocho like an insider
Top Rated
$47*
and up
Shinjuku and Kabukicho Evening Walking Tour
Ranked #11 of 100 things to do in Shinjuku
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Narrow food & bars street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This street is just near NishiShinjuku station. It is narrow and you can find plenty of restaurant and bars. Compare to Golden Gai Kabukicho, it is less crowded and not as happening as golden gai. Seriously, you can find good food here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    97
    39
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bad food at exorbitant prices!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My family and I visited this much-hyped alley for dinner tonight and left feeling cheated and disappointed. As there were five of us and the kids were hungry, we selected one yakitori restaurant that had enough seats. Big mistake! The restaurant was near the north end of the alley. The food was below average and the chicken did not taste fresh. The biggest shock came with the bill. It cost 10,000 yen, when our own calculations based on the menu prices came up to only 6,000 at most. After some queries, they admitted that there was a table charge of 350 yen per person and the tofu appetizer they gave us (which we thought was complimentary as it was just plain tofu) cost another 350 yen per person. None of these was made known to us upfront and only explained when we questioned them. This incident has marred our otherwise perfect Tokyo trip so far. Quite a shame to have such a thing happen in Japan!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nostalgic feel of the old Japan & interesting feel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Recommended by a friend of mine and visited here recently. The ambience and feel of the eateries in the narrow alley is very good. We been into one of the bigger one with more tables. We had some sashimi and grilled fish, food is not bad and price is reasonable. We really have a good time. This is our first time in Tokyo, for sure we will visit here again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great yakitori experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Look no further for a delicious, authentic yakitori night out! Libation encouraged! Select the restaurant carefully, but expect fresh food with welcoming locals. Solid choice for the front end of a memorable night in Tokyo.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A smoky little alleyway of great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

It's a fascinating narrow alley of tiny bars serving beer and yakiniku (grilled skewers). There's a noodle stall at the southern end that serves the best udon and soba. When we first visited a decade ago the chef was surprised to see a westerner. Now we are just one of his many repeat customers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omoide Yokocho also viewed

 

Been to Omoide Yokocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omoide Yokocho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.