We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True theatre at dinner, looked delicious and tasted delicious.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku

Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku
2-6 Nishishinjuku | Shinjuku Sumitomo Bldg 52F, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 163-0252, Japan
+81 3-3344-6761
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 4,994 restaurants in Shinjuku
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sion
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“True theatre at dinner, looked delicious and tasted delicious.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We reserved, but on arrival there was waiting and phone calls and faffing. We asked if we could have a drink at the bar as it seemed our table wasn't ready. That seemed a good idea to them so we were taken to the bar which has a marvellous twinkling panorama of Tokyo. The bar man needed encouraging as he was busy with the ice cream !! We were in no hurry but suddenly they wanted to seat us and as we were to be on a counter, backs to the view, we thought we would wait a few minutes at the bar. It became apparent to us that the main part of the meal is made at the counter and dessert is served at the bar so all guests can enjoy the lights and view.
The chef spoke sufficient English to chat and explain what he was doing. He kindly cooked my wife's sushi (tuna) as she dislikes anything raw. It was an exceptional evening as far as entertainment goes, everything was fresh and cooked in front of us. We were able to enjoy good wines to compliment the dishes, and watch the spectacle as we ate.
Would strongly recommend this as the best meal we enjoyed in Tokyo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    24
    11
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. The best teppanyaki restaurant I have been to, great food, exceptional service.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“True art of Japanese cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful restaurant. Personal chef cooked an amazing meal for me and my wife. Warning....the prawns are still alive as they hit the cooking surface....so be warned, this is not for the faint of heart. We had the Kobe beef which was very good. The entire meal was perfect. Pricey....$500 for 2 meal and 3 beers. But worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Expensive but Worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Final meal of our visit to Japan. It is expensive but they put on a good show, the food is outstanding and the service impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, Washington
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best dinner experience when in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

During each of my Tokyo trip I always take my business partner to Seryna - Mon Cher Tonton at the 52nd floor of the Sumitomo building. Their lobster/kobe beack combo dinner is the best and the chefs are highly skilled. You basically get show and dinner :-) The beer is also excellent and I love the nice touch of having dessert at the bar with the view of Tokyo at night! The whole experience is always worth the price!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon cher ton ton Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.