We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable but served *only* hotdogs for breakfast...!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-40-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable but served *only* hotdogs for breakfast...!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent - it's about a five minute walk from the main areas in Shinjuka and just under ten minutes to the main train station. You don't walk through the prettiest of areas to get there but it's fine and you see some interesting sites, especially at night.

What you don't see on the website/materials is it's surrounded by manky looking buildings which I though was a touch misleading - not a glorious orange sunset as you see in the pictures at the hotel.

The room itself was small but absolutely fine. Very clean and well tidied every day by the staff. One annoying thing was the limited TV channels which wasn't a bother too much but at night it would have been nice to have BBC News or something on in the background - only Japanese channels though.

The bed was firm, perhaps too firm for some people. The room also had a fridge, hairdryer, good shower and bath. However, they ONLY SERVE HOTDOGS for breakfast which I thought was awful and misleading, especially as Expedia doesn't state this on the site when booking. Not impressed at all with this.

The staff speak English and give directions.

Overall good, but the TV, breakfast and misleading images of location don't make it great, especially as it was nearly £300 for four nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    53
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
30
14
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Close to Shinjuku Station in between the Gay and the straight areas of Shinjuku very safe easy to get to well appointed great rooms , tiny Odd Breakfast great tradiontal In room Japanese bath, if your unaware of Japanese Bathing culture ? Fill the tb Shower outside the Tub first then hope in tot the water to soak with a Clean body.

Room Tip: Small but well appointed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The hotel is 15minutes walking distance from the East exit of Shinjuku station. It's not that easy to find at first so print out a google map before you go. I went with a colleague and we both felt it offered good value for money. They offer a hotdog for breakfast(!) so you may want to breakfast elsewhere. The bed and pillow were a little on the firm side as is often the case in Asia but the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Bath gel, hand wash, shampoo and conditioner as well as toothbrushes, razors and a sponge were all provided so you don't have to take your own stuff.
The room has a kettle and fridge so you can make/ refridgerate your own beverages and there is a vending machine with water, soft drinks and beer in the lobby.
We didn't ask much of the staff as we are quite familiar with Tokyo, but on the odd times we did request directions or restaurant reservations, the staff were courteous and helpful.
It is in the middle of the red light area, but that didn't bother us, and as women, we felt perfectly safe walking to and from the hotel even at night.
My work budget is getting tighter and tighter and I am always on the lookout for well priced accomodation and this fitted the bill perfectly, I would recommend it and I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Hotel is great with friendly staff. Rooms are nice for its standard but please take note that is quite a long walk from the main station Shinjuku, 10-15minutes walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Which i didnt expect when i booked it people said how close it is but turn out about 10-15mins walk. i am not complaining cos i am use to walking but when it get dark and tired you will feel like its miles away.

Service is excellent, staff speaks english and chinese (mandarin)

Breakfast.. microwave hotdog... well.. you is not missing anything if you choose to skip it. i wouldnt recommend to get something from 7/11 instead.

Room Tip: they only have wired (RJ45) connector in your room for internet access. dont expect wifi. good thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Whilst the hotel is located in Shinjuku's red light district, it is also surrounded by numerous bars and restaurants, and is a reasonable ten minute walk from the main station. On arrival, we chose to take a taxi to the hotel (only a short 5 - 7 minute ride) and on departure, with a little more confidence about our route-finding, we walked with our suitcases. During our stay we ate at four different restaurants all within a few minutes' walk of the hotel, and all were good quality and reasonably-priced. The 24 hour supermarket is very convenient. The hotel itself is a haven of peace, with friendly & helpful staff (reasonable English) and clean, well-appointed rooms. We had two 'superior' rooms on the top (tenth) floor with great views of the city. We would certainly stay in the same hotel again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have comfortable queen-sized beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The hotel is located right behind the Shinjuku's "Kabukicho" red-light district. The area is considered rather messy & complicated, with many bars & clubs, and of course more drunken people. And the hotel is located in the 'Love Hotel' area where you will see rooms available for 'hourly rental. The location is not great because it's rather 'hidden' from the main streets.
However, it also gives you good access to the JR or metro stations (be prepared with a 10-15 min walk), restaurants and department stores. And a 24 hour supermarket is located right across the corner of the hotel... with good selection of all sorts of Japanese wines & sake. The hotel building was renovated not long ago (maybe 3 years?) and so it's quite new. Internet access is free of charge in all rooms. And similar to most business hotels in Japan, the rooms are fairly small - but comfy and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: You can ask for a bigger room by paying around an extra 1,000yen per night. But it must be pre-order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku

Address: 2-40-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Shinjuku
Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.