We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel you might want to consider in Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Empire In Shinjuku

Save Saved
You added Hotel Empire In Shinjuku to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Empire In Shinjuku
2.5 of 5 Japanese Pension   |   1-15-33 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 169-0073, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel you might want to consider in Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Located at Korea town in Tokyo. Room is clean and the hotel is just 5 min walk distance from Train station. You also could find a lot of cheap but nice restaurants nearby the hotel.

The bed is quite hard. Hot and Cold water supply whole day. They also provide free wifi!

I will come back to this hotel because of the location and cleanness of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
12
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel is located within a couple minutes walk from the train station. We found it with no problems. Everything went smoothly. While many people have complained about the room size, we found the family room with 2 bedrooms very spacious with a full sized bathroom. The hotel is older but our rooms were clean and in good shape. We had a fridge in the room and had access to a microwave in the lobby. We did not encounter any noise problems. We stayed 2 nights and for the money the family room was certainly worth it. We found a great noodle shop and a dumpling shop 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Family room... the extra room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was our first place in Japan and on our first day there was an earth tremour! So we can vouch for the building. Besides the quake the rooms were small, neat and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly and speak pretty good English -which helps at your first stay till you get the hang of it all - you can ask really dumb questions in English without to many charades.

Located in the Korean BBQ area of Tokyo right near two train stations and surrounded by all kinds of shops, restaurants and bars. Top spot.

The little wine bar downstairs is a great place to meet and muster.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This hotel offers very good value compared to other Tokyo hotels. It is in Koreatown, which offers great restaurants, but it is also a red-light district, though it did not feel dangerous at all. The hotel is within walking distance of Shinjuku and right by a major rail line so it's really convenient for getting about. It's clean, well maintained, and basic but I was satisfied with my stay. If you want to stay in a good location in Tokyo, save some money, and are happy with basic accommodation, I'd reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Staff are very friendly and kind. I stayed one week and have nothing to complain about this place. I tottally reccomend. Very good location, near Shin Okubo station and Shinjuku area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Empire In Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Empire In Shinjuku

Address: 1-15-33 Hyakunincho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 169-0073, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Empire In Shinjuku 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Empire In Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Empire In Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Empire In Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.