We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at best western Astina hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Great Deals from our HP!!
Ranked #4 of 69 hotels in Shinjuku
malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our stay at best western Astina hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Comfortable stay. Good location- plenty of food outlets and main Shinjuku shopping area.
Convenient store just at entrance to hotel.
Friendly service and helpful front desk staff. Breakfast choices and spread is good.

Negatives: small room, even for the "executive rooms"..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    474
    77
    11
    3
See reviews for
118
437
132
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valdobbiadene, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed by this hotel! Great location in Shinjuku, just one minute walk from the main shopping street and 5 minutes from the subway station.
Hotel is brand new and looks very modern. Rooms are the biggest I've ever found (at a decent price) in central Tokyo area!! ... Which means a decent size of about 10 square meters.
Very comfortable and modern!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family decided to go to Tokyo for 8 days and stayed at this hotel based on reviews. Here's the scoop:

PROS:
- Very close to central Shinjuku Subway station* allowing you to inexpensively explore all of Tokyo and the surrounding areas where Mt.Fuji, Hakone, etc are located.
- Very Clean, average Tokyo sized rooms w/the usual North American amenities.
- Located slightly off the central area, but close enough that there are a bunch of English speaking restaurants and North American franchise chains such as: Subway, Burgerking, a couple of McDonalds, KFC, Shakey's Pizza, Baskin Robbins, etc.
- Very friendly staff and complimentary breakfast buffet.

CONS:
- Very close to central Shinjuku Subway station* which is also a con because even though its not far (5 minute walk) it can get pretty confusing to get from the station to the hotel.
- In the heart of the Shinjuku nightclub district, which can be sometimes loud at night.

TIP #1 At the Airport, get the "Suica & N'EX" combo deal: the train takes you right to Shinjuku station quickly, gives you a starter train pass for exploring & is excellent value. Once you are at Shinjuku station, You could find your way to the hotel on foot (its only 5 mins away), but there's a lot going on and can get confusing. In hindsight, we should have taken a taxi as its only $3 -$5 US and takes the driver 2 minutes.

TIP #2: Avoid taking the subway during rush hour! I've been on Subways from New York to Paris and nothing was more uncomfortable than this. Sardines have more space in a tin than I did!

TIP#3: If you know Japanese, Great! if not, most restaurants in this area have English or picture menus to point at. Just be polite.

All and all, we really liked the hotel. It was close to everything and made it very easy to eat, sleep and see all the tourist attractions. I'd absolutely stay there again!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Laundry machines and the higher level up, the better as there is some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

i like its location: very close to shinjuku station. we took the taxi to the limosine bus stop and it cost us the base charge only!
i like its modern style: you don't have to pay too much and still get the quality. the convenience store downstair is a plus!
i like its breakfast. both japanese and western style! nice environment, too!
i like its price. the early bird promotion is very attractive!
i'd like to check this hotel first if i am going to tokyo again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is 5-10mins away from JR Shinjuku station if you know how to orientate yourself. The staff were all very welcoming even a trainee staff at their reception desk was impressive enough with his professionalism. Room was a wee bit small but we still managed to fit 3 big luggages inside. The breakfast was decent and the smiles from the breakfast crew was very welcoming!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Location is very good with convenience stores right next downstairs of the hotel. Restaurants and bars are available until 4-5am in the morning but only open 11am.

Red light district is opposite the street but is child safe if you walk towards the train station.

It is 7 minutes walk from the jr station and subway station.

Rooms are small as expected but worth for the location. It is 4 minutes walk to the shopping area of shinjuku with lots of restaurant too.

The hotel is more like a business hotel but is family friendly too.

Breakfast is not bad and I would stay here again for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I was a bit unimpressed, I have to say, that despite the attempts of the super-friendly staff to make the guest welcome, the hotel never really pulls it off and does nto really deliver the wow factor. I had a reasonable stay though, so I ain't really complaining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#6 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The JR Shinjuku Station which is only 8 minutes walk from the hotel,makes good access to all areas of Tokyo and suburban areas such as Hakone.Suitable for both business trips and vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Rakuten, Venere and Otel so you can book your Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.