We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Re-branded
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is great. Near lots of nightlife and shopping especially Shinjuku 3 Chome for the bars and restaurants and the busiest station in the world which is ideal for getting out of town and to the airport. The staff were very helpful. Restaurant got busy for breakfast but we never had much of a wait for a table at the weekend.

Other comments are right about being hassled on the main street (not by the locals but by Jamaicans) in the evening especially as we were two men together. So we used the well-lit back pathway from the main road to get into the hotel which was never a problem.

This was our final stop in Japan and knowing that we had a lot of packing to do we booked a larger room on the 11th Executive floor. Well worth the money as it gave us a separate small lounge, access to the executive meeting room with free drinks and security pass at the elevator. We think - but I can't confirm this - it gave us easier free access to wifi in our room (just ask at reception).

Room Tip: Go for the executive and business floors, there are often deals on these at weekend and we got 35% o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. AFTLondon,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us.
The room you stayed in, was the only room with the separated area within the room. I beleive it was a good choice as the small room may be difficult to move around when you have a lot of luggage to pack.

For the first access to wi-fi, our receptionists will be happy to assist. But for connection conditions, it may turn slow when some people are downloading large contents.

Once more I thank you for your review, and look forward to having you again when you are cisiting Tokyo again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    607
    103
    16
    4
See reviews for
146
578
159
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights while on vacation with my wife and child. Location is perfect, max 5 minute walk from Shinjuku station, in a very lively area. Rooms are very nice and extremely clean and full of amenities (pj's, slippers, razors, toothbrush, safe,...) but obviously on the small side (normal for Tokyo). WiFi was provided in thr room but the signal can be improved. Breakfast is average, nothing special but they do provide good coffee. Staff is nice and very polite. I would add at least one tv channel in English for news. Air con worked fine and it was much needed as heat/humidity outside were umbearable. Would definitely go back if in Tokyo again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr. psarcinell,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

II agree that the location of the hotel is once of our strongest points. The amenities, expecially the bathroom amenities, are popular to our guests.

I hope you didn't become ill of because of the hotness. Begining of August was especially hot compared to other years too.

I hope you have had a safe trip back, and hope to see you again on your next trip to Tokyo.

Sincerrely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a comfortable 5 night stay at BW Shinjuku, and found the room/hotel to be a pleasant surprise after the cramped room we had at BW Fino Osaka. BW Shinjuju is conveniently located near Shinjuku station and the night life is on it's door step. Overall we were very happy with the hotel, amenities and staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr. Danielle R,

Thank you for your time to write the review.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your overallstay.
As you have mentioned, we are located in the midest of action in Tokyo, and I agree that it is very convenient when you want to explore the city.

Thank you once again for your review, and we hope you will stay with us again when you are returning to Tokyo.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at BW Shinjuku, the room was nice and finally we had enough space to live comfortably for 4 nights. At the beginning we had a hard to to find it since the name of the hotel is not really on display. Once arrived we appreciated the comfort of the room and the silence even if the hotel was fully booked.
What we did not like was finding stained bed sheets, called the reception around 11pm and they almost could not understand what the problem was. Then came a service guy who did not have a clue on how to change the bed sheet, he finally managed to move the bed away from the wall but this showed how much dust was on the floor under the bed. The bathroom had some issues also, while the floor and bathroom fixture were clean the walls and ceiling had some hairs sticking which were not removed with the daily cleaning.
I even applied for the no cleaning day but un-applied immediately when I found out that not only they do not clean, but they don't even make up the bed, so it's more a no service at all!
Breakfast was good and had a decent variety of options to choose even for continental breakfast.
Location is good, just 10 min walk from Shinjuku station.
In the end I do not quite understand why this hotel is a 4*, facilities are not any different from a good 3* and the service is not so outstanding even if I still think it is a very good hotel and would probably go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Mr. PalelTA,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

I would like to extend my apologies no behalf of our staff that the room celeanliness was not kept in your room. And also of for our staff's lack of kwoledge which had troubled you at late night. I have taken this issue to our housekeeping and front office team, so that the cleanliness is to be well kept and all staff know how to operate the room furniture.

Once again, I extend my apologies for not being able to reach your expectations.
We sincerely hope you will stay with us again, so we can offer you with a memoriable expereince.
If there is anything you would like to comment on personally, please contact us to info@bw-shinjuku.com.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ok, the rooms are small...but this is TYO. Service was consistently attentive, friendly and helpful - no request too much trouble.
Buffet breakfast is a great way to start - good selection, that had some variation each day.

Bathroom and shower were a highlight. Shower was just excellent after a hard day sightseeing/shopping/touring - great pressure and 'soft' water that allowed the good quality amenities to lather nicely!

Enjoyed the thoughtfulness of having simple cotton kimonos available in the room - comfortable.

Room very clean - could not fault it.

My only suggestion for an even better offering would be an additional English TV channel. As useful as CNN is - it is sooooo repetitive. We did watch some Japanese TV (many, many stations - over analogue, digital and satellite offerings)...but perhaps BBC or even ABC Asia?

Great area - short walk to Shinjuku; many great restaurants (including a great sushi restaurant recommended by someone at the Front Desk) and great shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear P373rBee,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

it is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The bathroom is one of our strongest points, and we are more than happy to hear that you have enjoyed the facility too.

For the English channel, I very much appreciate your ideas for the detailed channels.
Adding English channels have been an issue for a long time, but haven't been able to get on the move to do so. I will extend your comment to our staff.

I once again would like to thank you for your review.
We hope to seeing you again on your next trip to Tokyo.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After a long weekend of music and and running up and down a mountain at Fuji Rock Fest, I just needed a place that let me sleep. And Best Western was perfect for that.

Now don't get me wrong, this is not some cheap hotel in Shinjuku, It is a beautifully laid out hotel which has all the amenities that one needs in a compact and comfortable layout. The room is super clean and the running water is strong and plentiful. One of the worst things to have is low water pressure in a shower. This place doesn't disappoint.

As I only spent one night here, I wasn't able to use the facilities to the fullest, but the buffet breakfast was more than adequate and I have zero complaints regarding the rest of the place. Other than a constant need to sign up for wifi every two hours, this place gets my vote for convenience, comfort and most likely my imminent return.

Food around the area is good but you do have to do a bit of digging (not everyone around the area speaks English). Also there surrounding the hotel is a sorta red light district. But it will not get in your way. The rooms are superquiet and also dark, so if sleeping in is your thing, you'll definitely wake up not knowing what time it is or where you are.

All-in-all, an excellent place and an excellent hotel. Staff are friendly and more than adequately represents the Best Western name.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Jon L,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review on your stay.

We very much appreciate your compliments of our hotel.
The shower / bathroom area is one of the most popular facility of our guests. We are glas that you have liked them too.

For wi-fi connection, you can register with an email address which will prevent you from having to log in every time you need to use the internet. But I will take the comment so we can consider for any improvements to be made for this.

I thank you once more for your wonderful review, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is very clean, comfort. The staffs are very kind. Location of this hotel was great, center of Shinjuku. If you like nightlife n 24Hr entertainment n foods, this hotel is really suitable for you!

If i visit to Tokyo again, i would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Tika T,

Thank you for writing the review.

It is a pleasure to hear that you are willing to stay with us again when visiting Tokyo.
We will try our best to make an even better place when you are returning.

We thank you once more for your reviewm\, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.