We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo to your Saves list
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Re-branded
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great hotel in a great location.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The rooms had free wi-fi and a safe inside.

Close to the Shinjuku subway and JR station so it's convenient for getting around. Definitely a good hotel for couples or young travelers.

The breakfast in the morning is decent with a good mix of Japanese and western food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 155019Foodlover,

Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to hear that you are to come back again.

Having the surrounding city nearby, our hotel is very popluar to young travelers, as you have mentioned, and our staff are always ready to assist you for sightseeing and shopping information.

Thank you once more for such wonderful comment, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    604
    101
    16
    4
See reviews for
146
573
158
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very friendly helpful staff. I booked a "ladies room" which came with a massage chair and extra toiletries. The cleaning was of a good standard with an eco-friendly choice of only having it done every second day. By booking in advance I got an excellent discount so it was great value. Location was convenient. The only drawback was the breakfast, I ended up having scrambled eggs and French toast or brioche for 12 days because they were the only things on the menu that I liked. But if you like coco pops, hot chips or curry for breakfast then you'll be fine. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to write the review.

The "ladie's room" you stayed in is limited to three rooms in the hotel. All amenities in the room are all specially chosen by our female staff, to make them more confortable for the guests to use.

For breakfast menu, if you have any suggestions of what kind of menu would make your morning a better one next time, please contact us via email. Your opinion will be very much appreciated and will be passed on to our kitchen staff.

Thank you once more for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and kids are traveling to Tokyo for vacation and we found this hotel to be on the central location to everywhere they want to go. I booked the hotel online and then needed to make changes to the reservation so I called them. The lady who answered the phone speaks fluent English and was very professional. Room was nice and clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful. The included breakfast served both Japanese and US style, very yummy! We stayed there for 3 nights and then decided to come back right before flying out of Japan and they upgraded us to a larger room free of charge. Over all, we love the hotel and will definitely come back the next time we visit Tokyo.

Room Tip: Call the hotel instead of book online, they will try their best to give you the best room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This now being my third time in Tokyo you can definitely tell the difference of the amount of people on the streets during different times of the year. As my previous visits have been during February & March, this time visiting in June the streets in Shinjuku and Tokyo in general are definitely busier/crowded. As a side note, as I had travelled around Western Kyushu prior to arriving in Tokyo you can definitely tell the difference in how flamboyantly individual the people of Tokyo are in their appearance which is neat to notice.

Stayed at the Best Western Shinjuku Astina again during this trip, a pleasant stay, I would recommend booking through their direct site http://www.bw-shinjuku.com/ rather than the international Best Western site as you have more options in the types of rooms that are offered & various packages that can be booked. I booked the Executive room ladies package that included additional bath amenities, higher floor & ladies amenities inside the room such as an air purifier, massage chair & facial makeup steamer. Again smallish room, but comfortable for one person & a view this time. My only issue was that in booking an executive package/room you would think that this would include breakfast, but my package apparently did not which didn't make sense. I did end up paying for breakfast on my last day as I knew I had a long day ahead of me which cost me 1000 Yen. Not particularly please with that.

Overall good consistent experience, good location, good room amenities, Lawson's on main floor next to escalator/elevator, close to Shinjuku station & fare in price. I will most likely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I have stayed at Best Western Shinjuku for the 3rd time now, and in the meantime it is definitely my favorite hotel for short leisure and/or business trips to Tokyo. It has superb value for money if you book a 5+ nights plan (45% off), excellent soundproofing, modern and spacious rooms, and best of all (and that's different from the Nishi-Shinjuku topclass hotels like Park Hyatt or Keio Plaza which I've also stayed at) you're right in the middle of the nightlife action - some of the most awesome Kabukicho clubs are just across the street (though conversational Japanese is much recommended to get in there). Directly at ground floor you have a 24/7 Lawson's, 20m to the right a Seven-Eleven with an ATM that takes foreign cards, and 30m to the left the Shinjuku city ward office with a complete post office.

All in all - superb. Will be coming here again and again for sure.



Shinjuku station also not far off

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Pros:
1. Convenience place access from/to Haneda/Narita Airport (5-8mins walk from Shijuku JR Line*with luggage)
2. Accessing to business lounge when stay above 11th floor (various options free drink)
3. Room rate including breakfast (small restaurant with comfy space)
4. Reception speaks good English (and super warm service when you request needed help!!!)
5. The best room capacity I ever stay in Tokyo. (Hotels room are normally small in Tokyo)
6. Convenience store (Lawson) at hotel 1F (famimart and 7-11 also near by)
7. Public space and aisle smells nice (lol)

Cons:
1. Located near red light area in Shinjuku, kinda scary walking alone on street after 11
2. Electrisical outlet are too few, only 4 in total in my room I remember
3. Complimentary water on first day arrival only.

Tip:
1. Book room above 11th floor needs to access security guard, this makes guest feel more safe
2. Request the room face to Shinjuku tall building area, when you wake up in the morning, it feels great to see the view of Shinjuku


Stayed June 2013, traveled on vacation

Room Tip: Tip: 1. Book room above 11th floor needs to access security guard, this makes guest feel more safe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongxiang, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Good convenient location for exploring Tokyo and doing some business on the side. Very clean and also spacious. The people were very friendly and were able to assist me with all my needs. I would definitely go here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#8 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku
Shinjuku Best Western
Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadines Central Shinjuku Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.