We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would defiantly stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 45days in advance!!
Ranked #4 of 69 Hotels in Shinjuku
1 review
“Would defiantly stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days just gone in Feb, after staying at a different hotel in Shinjuku I think this place is great, largish rooms for Japan, big bathroom breakfast is included in the price. Was a few different things on the brekkie menu like mackerel but we stuck to cereal and toast. Which was plenty. I will be staying here again and recommend it :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Ms Kegbox,

Thank you very much for such wonderful comments!

We are delighted hear that your stay was satisfying.
All hotel staffs promise to continue the service and seek for an even better quality.

We hope to see you again on your next stay in Shinjuku.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    511
    83
    10
    2
See reviews for
132
466
142
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Location : I find it to be quite far away from Shinjuku station although I took the East Exit. Maybe my husband and I were not used to the cold weather as this is our first winter trip and find the 10-15 min walk dragging our luggage quite a torture since we are used to the hot & humid weather in Singapore. There is a convenience store right below the hotel which is a plus point. At night, the streets gets quite busy/rowdy though since its near the red light district but we did not have much problem with that maybe cause we were a couple.

Staffs : Polite, friendly & helpful. They speak fluent English and is ready to provide you with directions by marking the maps.

Room : The size is OK as we were able to fit in 1 huge luggage and 1 medium sized luggage comfortably. Beds & pillows are comfortable & clean. Toilet is great like all the toilets in Japan which comes with all the bidet and seat warmer stuffs with many buttons and all. Daily room amenities are adequate. All the channels are in Japanese and to watch the movies you need to pay 1000 yen so we rarely switch on the TV since we can't understand Japanese. Maybe they should include 1 free HBO channel or something since they accept international guests.

Breakfast : Choice was little. The croissant & mackerel were delicious though. Everyday the spread is the same. Maybe 1 or 2 different dishes different but it gets a little boring as we stayed for 8 days.

Overall the hotel is value for money and our stay was pleasant. It is not as expensive as the other hotels around but you get a clean and decent room. This is our first and only hotel in Japan so can't really make a comparison with other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Emm1702,

Thank you for taking you time to write a review on your stay.

Our hotel is a 8-10 minute walk from the station but may be difficult to walk through the crowded areas. We hope you didn't catch any cold in the winter weather.
To prevent the cold weather, or rain, there is an option to take the underground shopping area named SUBNADE. If you walk through SUBNADE to exit No.19, the hotel will be less than a minute's walk from there.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for one night at the end of our Japan trip and encountered a few problems which was disappointing for my first stay at a Best Western. Booked via their website and found the site very clunky and tricky to use. Arrived at the hotel - which is in a great location by golden gai in Shinjuku - at around 6pm and asked for a room on a high floor but was told there were none available as the hotel was fully booked. There was no option on the website to request a room on a high floor. We then went to our room on the fourth floor, just above reception and also the kitchen, and opened the door to be greeted by a strong fish smell. We used the air freshener spray and that helped cleared up the odour. The double room was very comfortable and of a good size (by Japanese standards) and the bathroom was nice with a decent size tub in a wet room. Free WiFi and cable TV also great. The room was quiet despite the loud streets. Unfortunately the food smell returned as the chefs started making breakfast and we awoke stinking of bacon and burgers. There was no room they could have changed us to so I thought a suitable resolution would have been to offer a deduction to the room rate but the manager, who took an age to say sorry despite this obviously being a routine issue that anyone staying in or near room 410 would experience, said that was 'not possible'. Opted to reject his offer of a late check out (and being located to another room) as it was our last day in Tokyo we wanted to get out and explore some more. This is obviously a daily issue for the hotel and I felt cheated - surely they should be attempting to fix this issue rather than playing dumb about the problem and hoping that guests don't complain? If i stayed again I wouldn't order the breakfast as it was quite average for the high price and their are so many cafe options within walking distance. Could have been great but it was our worst accommodation experience over 10 days in Japan and also one of the most expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Mr PJ343,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review on your stay with us.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations of the room condition.
I will assure you that the issue will be addressed to our team and is to be welly discussed about.

We thank you that for staying at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Knowing I wanted to stay in the Shinjuku adedkrea of Tokyo, I did lots of research and read countless reviews on hotels before choosing BW Astina. The location could not have been better. It is a straight shot from Shinjuku station ...about 5 blocks..with a handy Mr. Donut on the way. The staff at the hotel for the most part spoke good English. The breakfast buffet which was included in my room booking was a real plus and totally a factor in choosing this location. Hint if you are taking a cab from hotel to some location I suggest that you get someone at the front desk write it in Japanese to show the driver as many of them did not speak or understand English. Also carry one of the hotel cards with you to give a cabbie to get you back. I feel obligated to mention that... yes the rooms are small... but I was in one of the most exciting cities in the world so I didn't spend a lot of time in it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms Zzzelda,

We appreciate your many warm comments on your stay.

We also appreciate for your taxi tips. They will be very helpful for future guests.
The rooms on the Executive floor, slightly more expensive, will have a larger capacity.
If you would like to have the best rates on your next stay for those rooms,
please feel free to contact us directly via phone or email.

Thank you once more for your review, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Only four stars because the bed was against the wall and the room was small- but that is quite common in Japan. Breakfast was excellent, staff were good and everything was clean. Easy to find when you leave Shinjuku station from the East exit. I would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear pollyoppy,

Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay with us.

It is a pleasure that you have had a pleasant stay.
For the beds, we have certain rooms such as twin rooms and Executive floor rooms on the higher floors, which are not against the wall.

We have discount rates for those rooms too. Please feel free to contact us directly via email or phone if you would like to stay in one of them.

Once again, I appreciate your time to write the review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Heard that this is one of the best Best Western Hotel located in Tokyo. So being a loyal traveller of Best Western, we decided to try out this hotel during our recent trip to Tokyo.
Located in only 10 minutes walk to the Shinjuku Station, this hotel is located within the busy Shinjuku area. This is very convenience as there are many restaurant located within the area.
The rooms are small in comparison to most other hotels that we have stayed before, however, the room are very modern. The accessibility to the self operated washing machine and dryer within the hotel was a bonus to us as we were travelling around Japan over the last several weeks without being able to get any laundry done.
Staff were very helpful despite their limitation to the english language. Breakfast were simple yet a good combination of japanese and western breakfast items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms LSSChia,

Thank you very much for staying at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Tokyo.

It is a pleasure to recieve compliments of our rooms and our staff.
I am sure that our collegues will be inspired more to offer an even higher quality of service.

We hope for your continuous support for the BEST WESTERN hotels.
And look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only a 5-10 minute walk to Shinjuku station (best to take the north east exit), value for money, clean and the room size was small but not bad considering it's in the middle of Tokyo and you really should only be there to sleep! Staff were helpful, included breakfast was a good mix of simple western and Japanese food. Definitely recommend this value-for-money hotel for a convenient location close to shops, bars, restaurants and the beautiful Shinjuku Garden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms. genoc1,

Thank you very much for staying at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Tokyo.

It's a pleasure to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay.
I will pass these comments to my collegues for encouragement to future service quality.
If you feel that there should be anything that could have made your stay an even better one,
please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you once more for choosing BEST WESTERN Shinjuku,
and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture 160-0021, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#7 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5m2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed Internet access. For those seeking a more luxurious hotel experience, deluxe rooms on 13th and 14th floors are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.