We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo to your Saves list
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
REBRANDING
Ranked #4 of 72 Hotels / Ryokan in Shinjuku
4.5 of 5 stars 1,089 Reviews
Gloucester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Knowing I wanted to stay in the Shinjuku adedkrea of Tokyo, I did lots of research and read countless reviews on hotels before choosing BW Astina. The location could not have been better. It is a straight shot from Shinjuku station ...about 5 blocks..with a handy Mr. Donut on the way. The staff at the hotel for the most part spoke good English. The breakfast buffet which was included in my room booking was a real plus and totally a factor in choosing this location. Hint if you are taking a cab from hotel to some location I suggest that you get someone at the front desk write it in Japanese to show the driver as many of them did not speak or understand English. Also carry one of the hotel cards with you to give a cabbie to get you back. I feel obligated to mention that... yes the rooms are small... but I was in one of the most exciting cities in the world so I didn't spend a lot of time in it. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms Zzzelda,

We appreciate your many warm comments on your stay.

We also appreciate for your taxi tips. They will be very helpful for future guests.
The rooms on the Executive floor, slightly more expensive, will have a larger capacity.
If you would like to have the best rates on your next stay for those rooms,
please feel free to contact us directly via phone or email.

Thank you once more for your review, and we will be looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    563
    92
    14
    4
See reviews for
138
527
151
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
407 reviews 407 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Only four stars because the bed was against the wall and the room was small- but that is quite common in Japan. Breakfast was excellent, staff were good and everything was clean. Easy to find when you leave Shinjuku station from the East exit. I would return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear pollyoppy,

Thank you very much for writing a review on your stay with us.

It is a pleasure that you have had a pleasant stay.
For the beds, we have certain rooms such as twin rooms and Executive floor rooms on the higher floors, which are not against the wall.

We have discount rates for those rooms too. Please feel free to contact us directly via email or phone if you would like to stay in one of them.

Once again, I appreciate your time to write the review.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Heard that this is one of the best Best Western Hotel located in Tokyo. So being a loyal traveller of Best Western, we decided to try out this hotel during our recent trip to Tokyo.
Located in only 10 minutes walk to the Shinjuku Station, this hotel is located within the busy Shinjuku area. This is very convenience as there are many restaurant located within the area.
The rooms are small in comparison to most other hotels that we have stayed before, however, the room are very modern. The accessibility to the self operated washing machine and dryer within the hotel was a bonus to us as we were travelling around Japan over the last several weeks without being able to get any laundry done.
Staff were very helpful despite their limitation to the english language. Breakfast were simple yet a good combination of japanese and western breakfast items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms LSSChia,

Thank you very much for staying at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Tokyo.

It is a pleasure to recieve compliments of our rooms and our staff.
I am sure that our collegues will be inspired more to offer an even higher quality of service.

We hope for your continuous support for the BEST WESTERN hotels.
And look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Only a 5-10 minute walk to Shinjuku station (best to take the north east exit), value for money, clean and the room size was small but not bad considering it's in the middle of Tokyo and you really should only be there to sleep! Staff were helpful, included breakfast was a good mix of simple western and Japanese food. Definitely recommend this value-for-money hotel for a convenient location close to shops, bars, restaurants and the beautiful Shinjuku Garden.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Ms. genoc1,

Thank you very much for staying at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku ASTINA Hotel Tokyo.

It's a pleasure to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay.
I will pass these comments to my collegues for encouragement to future service quality.
If you feel that there should be anything that could have made your stay an even better one,
please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you once more for choosing BEST WESTERN Shinjuku,
and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel is located about a 5-7 minute walk from Shinjuku station. I can't remember which exit you need to take out of Shinjuku station but I would highly advise you figure that out before arriving in Tokyo. Shinjuku station is huge with tons of exits so make sure you get out of the right one. The area around the hotel is the entertainment district so there are plenty of restaurants and shops. There is a convenience store on the ground floor of the hotel so you can pick up drinks etc... there easily.

The hotel seems like it was fairly new. It was in spotless condition with very modern looking rooms. Be warned that the rooms are tiny. You really don't have much room inside to move around. It's normal for Tokyo but think of it as smaller than New York city type of rooms. The rooms had free wi-fi and a safe inside. Breakfast was included and had a very simple Japanese/Western selection but enough to get you going.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Mr. Gord_Mtl,

Thank you very much for staying with us at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku.

The exit closest to the hotel is the EAST exit. If it is difficult to find the exit, or the way to the hotel, our operators will be available to explain the way.

It is a pleasure to hear that you have found the rooms to be ' in spotless condition'. As the rooms are where the guests spend most of their time, we give a full measure to maintain the cleanliness of the rooms and the public area.

Thank you once more for choosing BEST WESTERN Shinjuku
and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is good value, very clean and ran efficiently.

PROS:
-very close to JR line stations, no probs getting around
-beer vending machines in the hotel hallways
-breakfast is great and delicious
-behind the hotel is all these amazing little locally owned miniature bars that are so cool
-walking distance to shinjuku gardens
-convenience store directly under hotel for stocking up
-shinjuku is buzzing at night, and you're in the heart of it all

CONS:
-the wifi is dodgy and cuts out a lot, (they need more seats in the lobby!)
-the sex pests that hassle you to go into the brothels next-door
-don't as the hotel for ideas of where to eat as they'll send you to expensive restaurants!

Worth staying here to save some coin.

Room Tip: Not facing main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Bellabobella,

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We are glad to hear that you ahve enjoyed your overall stay.
Our great location in the heart of the Shinjuku city, entertains many guests who come to our hotel.

For the restaurants from the hotel, we recommend restaurants which are precisely well known in the area.
However, we will consider on including more variation so the guests have more options.
To do so, our guests' opinions are valued, so If you would like to share some places you have enjoyed during your stay, please contact us any time.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best Western is quite nice. As is typical of Japanese hotels, the rooms are small. I had a business double for myself and it was still small. The double bed, for example, had one side against the wall; so, if somebody wants to get up while somebody else is sleeping, it means going over the foot of the bed. Inconvenient in the middle of the night. The hotel is modern, clean, well-kept and has an efficient, English-competent staff. Fast broadband connection and good wifi. A good value. Although it is hard to find (even my cab driver had trouble) the location is good, with lots of things nearby. It's on the edge of Kabuki-cho, however, a red light district. In the daytime, it's not a problem. At night, a group of aggressive Nigerian pimps and touts gather on the sidewalk up and down from the hotel and pester you all the way to its entrance, trying to persuade you to "just come and take a look." I hated somebody tugging at my sleeve for 90 feet. That's not the hotel's fault, of course, but it is something you have to contend with.
I was there in January 2013 and my choice of January to see Tokyo was a mistake. It was bitterly cold and they closed the airport twice while I was there, even though there was at most an inch on the first occasion and less on the second. I met somebody who landed at 8 PM on the night of the heavier snow. The roads out of the airport were closed and she---along with many others---was given a sleeping bag to sleep in on the floor in the airport. When I went to take the airport limousine bus on January 28th, they told me there were no buses running: the roads to the airport were closed. I finally got there by a train but it wasn't easy and I just made it. Fortunately, the airport was still open.

Room Tip: Choose the business double. Upon returning at night, don't converse with the touts, just keep wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTINA20080323, お客様担当マネージャー at Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Mr happyguy714,

Thank you very much for staying with us.

We feel sorry for your troubles with the traffic you had when visiting.
This year, Tokyo has been snowing heavily compared to avarage years, which hardly snow, and paralyzed all the traffic.
During the Sakura (Cherry Blossom) season in spring and in Autumn, we have beautiful sights and also have good weather.

Regarding the double bed, our twin rooms and some rooms of the Executive Double B have their beds in the middle.

We thank you for your valued opinions.
We look forward to welcoming you again at BEST WESTERN Shinjuku.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo

Address: 1-2-9 Kabukicho, Shinjuku 160-0021, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shinjuku
#4 Family Hotel in Shinjuku
#10 Business Hotel in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo offers a variety of rooms to meet your needs, including spacious 17.5M2 Single Room. All rooms offer complimentary wired high-speed Internet access. For those seeking a more luxurious hotel experience, deluxe rooms on 13th & 14th floors are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo
Shinjuku Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Shinjuku Astina Hotel Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.