We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Atmosphere,” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Inn Shinjuku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ace Inn Shinjuku to your Saves list
Ace Inn Shinjuku
52 Katamachi, Shinjuku 160-0001, Tokyo Prefecture (Yotsuya / Iidabashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad Atmosphere,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in the all female dorm on level 7 the more expensive room. I'm not precious at all and can rough it but this place was bad. Depressing even. I would pay the extra to stay at a better hostel or the capsule hotel in Shinjuku is cheaper.

PROS
- Location (even though not as expected) is close to a station which is one subway stop away from Shinjuku Station.
- Price is good though it's cheaper to stay in the Capsule Hotel which is right smack bang in the centre of Shinjuku.
- One staff member an older gentlemen was really nice.
- Wifi worked fine and is on every level

CONS
- Not actually in Shinjuku as you would expect, surrounding has nothing going on. So if you want to go out for the night and not walk 30+ mis to get back you have to finish up by 12 to catch the last train.
- It was old and dirty. The carpet felt grubby, two toilets blocked on my floor through my whole stay, found small bug in my bed on the first night then another on my last morning.
- The metal lockers in the room are noisy.
- You have to trek all the way to the basement to shower for 100yen for be there in 10 minutes in one of the only two showers for women in the building. Drain was blocked with hair and the whole bottom of the shower filled with grubby water.
- Bad vibes, no social atmosphere to speak of. Common room is old, dirty and drab.
- I would not recommend or ever stay here again. If you do stay spend as much time out of the place as you can!!

Room Tip: The more expensive dorm is bad, hate to see what the cheaper ones are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    40
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
8
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed in the tatami room, which was okay, provided a _little_ privacy, but it was in such bad shape, holes in the walls etc. The toilet on the 10th floor were horrible as well, only cold water.
You have to pay to use the shower, only 100 yen, but still, shouldn't have to pay.
The share bathrooms were okay, but honestly, not very good either. We were there when it snowed in Tokyo, and came back at around 7pm to find that there was a black out in the building - the only building. Everything is powered by electricity - so no heat, water, toilets, shower, elevator. And we were right up the top - the stairs to the 10th floor were outside, in the snow. It was ridiculous. Worst night. We ended up leaving and coming back as late as possible, so at least we could use the toilets in convenience stores. Only stayed at ace inn because everything else was booked out - thank god we moved to a different hostel after 4 nights. Definitely worth paying more to be more comfortable.
Never again.

only good thing - location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Cannot beat the price up, and if you just want to spend one night near Shinjuku it's a perfect location (you can walk 10mn or take the underground). One member of staff wasn't very helpful, but then the other members of staff I met later were very welcoming and very nice.

Positive points:
-price
-location

Negative Points:
-you have to pay for the showers, but you can ask for the 'bath' key which has a bath and shower for a cheap 300 yens
-the mattress are super thin, I could feel the floor under my hip (and i'm not even 55 kg!)
-the metal lockers are located with the beds, so however quiet you try to be whenever you come back or when you wake up, you will make noise and some beds are right next to them. Even if you try not to.

Room Tip: I was on the mixed dormitory, economy capsule... maybe ask for a smaller room with a luxury capsule...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here at the beginning and end of my study abroad in Japan. It has a cheap top floor, and also capsules for a little bit more. There's a common room where you can meet lots of travelers (they even had a Spanish party there once where I met friends who remained friends throughout my stay in Japan). In the common room they even have a guitar, a tv, and a kitchen. Bathrooms on every floor, though showers and laundry are only in the basement. 100 yen for a ten minute shower (or forty minute laundry), though, so be quick. I never felt rushed, though. You have to take off your shoes at the entrance, but this is Japan so get used to it - it's cleaner anyway. I always felt safe at this hostel. I've stayed on the 10th, 3rd, and 4th floors - all had lockers, and even if you don't want to put your stuff in lockers or in the empty space on each floor, you can have it behind the counter downstairs. The staff is extremely friendly and informative, and they all speak English very well. The location can't be better - there's a small train station right outside of it with five-ten minute rides to the middle of Shinjuku. Walking it takes about 30-45 minutes. Walking to the middle of the city, around Tokyo and the imperial gardens will take close to an hour-hour and a half or probably about twenty minutes on the train. The only con is the 2-4 closing time, but I came back once around 2:30 and they let me in. It's also impossible to run out of things to do in Shinjuku, so you can definitely find a bar or club for the next two hours to hold you over just in case. Just like anywhere in Japan, there are about 50 convenience stores on either side of the hostel (okay, exaggerating, maybe 3 or 4 on the block). There's also a great tempura place near the car service location!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

If all you're looking for is a bed and a shower, then it's fantastic, but the vast scale of the place sort of kills the atmosophere. Packing so many youths into a single common room leads to a lot of rowdiness, which is fine if you're in to that sort of thing, but gets pretty annoying and obnoxious if you're regularly forced to the common room because your capsule has no power point and your laptop's on the brink of death. Would probably look for an alternative if I was ever in Tokyo again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu, South Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The staff, price and location are perfect. But what is the point of booking a hostel in a great nightlife district if you can't get in the place between these vital hours. I went out with friends planning to stay up till five, but one of them needed to get to her hotel. So my other friend and I had to kill over an hour of time. While the place was a bit noisy and the bathrooms were limited, it's on bar with any other hostel. the curfew was a killer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The staff are super helpful, and the price and location can't be beat. I went in the winter, and had a great time with the other people I met. The cheapest rooms are essentially just cots, so maybe spend a tiny bit more if sleeping in one big room with a bunch of other travelers. It's clean, and it gets the job done.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ace Inn Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Inn Shinjuku

Address: 52 Katamachi, Shinjuku 160-0001, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shinjuku > Yotsuya / Iidabashi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Specialty lodging in Shinjuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ace Inn Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Inn Shinjuku Hotel Shinjuku
Ace Inn Shinjuku Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ace Inn Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.