We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one great tonkatsu experience for my taste buds.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten

Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten
4-8-5 Jingumae, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 120-428-485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 4,421 restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“This is one great tonkatsu experience for my taste buds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I never did enjoy tonkatsu but this time, food at Tonkatsu Maisen at Omotesando Hills won me over. The batter was the right crispness and the tonkatsu was not oily. The meat was tender and juicy. Our family of 5 started our walk from Harajuku station and walked up the steep Omotesando Hills, huffing from breathlessness and had sore calves and feet but it was worth the trip. English menu with photos were a sure relief. This being the flagship store, they retained the old restaurant interior which gave a feeling of tranquility to enjoy your meal in contrast with the bustling neighborhood famed for shopping. We ate again at another of their outlets in Shibuya on the eve of our departure. Food quality was consistent but the flagship store at Omotesando Hills is the ultimate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    56
    47
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chigasaki, Japan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best tonkatsu (pork cutlet) in all of Japan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Make sure to order the Kurobuta Rosu set. (Black Pork cutlet, loin cut). You will not be disappointed. This meal alone is worth a trip to Japan. And if anyone recommends a place called Tonki to you, fly kick them in the head for me. This place beats it hands down! Also, just a little factoid, but this restaurant has history! It used to be a bath house (obviously sanitized and brought up to casual-fine dining standards since) back in WWII.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Food, Wonderful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had such a difficult place finding this restaurant, and I would not have gotten to eat the wonderful and tasty tonkatsu but for the kind help of a wonderful Japanese lady who walked me the entire way to the entrance of the restaurant. To be honest, maybe much of my difficulty was due to the fact that it was really dark out and I couldn't see the signs leading to the restaurant so perhaps going in the afternoon would have been a much, much better choice.

That being said, the tonkatsu was really nice and crispy, and was not excessively oily. The staff were extremely kind and helpful too, in telling me exactly how to mix the seasoning and eat the radish (I never realised I ate it wrongly when I was in Singapore). Furthermore, the menu is partially in English, and there are some English speaking staff there who were called over to serve us due to the difficulty of us understanding Japanese. To say the service was excellent would be an understatement.

To conclude and summarize, nice food (though not necessarily awesome/something to rave endlessly about), wonderful atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane, australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The famous Maisen restaurant was easier to find that we had thought. There are a number of directional signs starting at Omotesando A3 exit. We went for early lunch and avoided the crowds although it filled up fast.
The building used to be an old bath house and the restaurant seemed to consist of a number of contiguous eating areas. We ate out at the rear and the high battened ceilings were from the original building. The service was swift, the menu available in English and we went with the pork loin which was crunchy, plump and juicy and tasty. Choice of sauces and lots of traditional shredded cabbage salad to accompany it. Not to mention cold beer. Yummy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth Waiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Always a good sign if you have to wait for a table - at least in Japan they supply waiting seats.
Regular tonkatsu is good but the premium stuff is awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten also viewed

 

Been to Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.