We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten

Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten
4-8-5 Jingumae, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 120-428-485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 4,552 Restaurants in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 145 Reviews
Price range: $8 - $33
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The pork loin is sooooo tasty! So glad we found this place, took us a wee while to but worth it once we did. Our waiter was great, you ave a choice of pork fillet or loin, go with the loin!!!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    59
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Tonkatsu in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Simply put, the best Tonkatsu ever. Just order the black pork fillet, or whatever it is they recommend to you. So awesome. If you go a bit later on a weekday evening it isn't as crowded. Managed to get in without queuing, pleasant change from the other famous restaurants in Tokyo.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Great Tonkatsu Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I came to Maisen on New Years Eve. I was thinking it might be shut like most of Omotesando but I got a seat. I have enjoyed Tonkatsu before but this was a a greater taste. The Pork was excellent and as succulent as possible. I only had the 100g cutlet set but I was stuffed! The Daikon was shrdded to perfection and the miso was lovely. If I had needed to queue I would not have minded - I will come back - This is the Tonkatsu Temple!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummy - The Place for Tonkatsu(s)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Love it - eat here one or twice a month for lunch. Weekend lunch is packed and do come early to grab a table. Only one word for this Maisen (lazy to write 100 Characer minimum) which is :
Very Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic tonkatsu at Great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Discovered tonkatsu at this restaurant and it's now one of my favourite meals in JP. Had the combined meal with prawn, filé and shrimp-cheese blend. Recommended!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten also viewed

 

Been to Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonkatsu Maisen Aoyama Honten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.