We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value to stay at Shinjuku Park Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shinjuku Park Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Otel.com
Shinjuku Park Hotel
5-27-9 Sendagaya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0051, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Shibuya
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value to stay at Shinjuku Park Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Positive:
1) Good location (2 minutes walk to Takashimaya Times Square)
2) Good location (2 minutes walk to Shinjuku Sanchome)
3) Short walk to nearby restaurants
4) Short walk to nearby shopping district
5) Family Mart 24 hours store is just opposite the Hotel
6) Lawson 24 hours store is just 1 min walk
7) Bedsheets, Towels and bedroom slippers are changed daily
8) The rooms are clean
9) The hotel staffs are friendly, helpful and polite
10) Good facilities, the hotel provide vending machines selling hot and cold drinks, ice-cream, instand noodles and snacks
11) I like the hot towel machine at the Lobby
12) The cleaners are very friendly and very efficient

Negative:
1) The semi double room is too cramped for two people, not enough space for our big luggage

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    19
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
4
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Shinjuku is one of several 'nerve centres' of the giant metropolis of Tokyo; my friends with whom I work regularly in Tokyo have put me into the Shinjuku Park Hotel several times, and now it's a "look forward to" regular hotel of mine. Travellers must understand that Tokyo is a very expensive city and that "space" is at a premium. On that basis, the Shinjuku Park is reasonable value for money, and is a dependable, safe, clean and well-located hotel. Per room, wired internet is very fast, and of course the toilets are air-conditioned for your comfort. Standard rooms are "can barely swing a cat" size, which is just something you need to accept in Tokyo. As per most things in Japan, cleanliness is a given, and service is good. The staff tend to be a bit more formal than perhaps they ought to be, but that's a minor criticism.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

For photos, and a 5D4N Tokyo itinerary, check out: http://rubbisheatrubbishgrow.wordpress.com/2012/05/17/tokyo-itinerary-part-i-accommodation-getting-around-shinjuku/

Accommodation

You have to walk long stretches to get to a metro or a JR train so it is best to stay near a major station: Tokyo, Ginza, Shibuya, Roppongi and Shinjuku. Roppongi is most convenient because it is located near all the sightseeing sites and boasts of a bustling nightlife. But for our trip, we stayed at Shinjuku Park Hotel, which is just beside Takashimaya.

The room is small but has space to maneuver. Toilet bowl for dwarves but has the newfangled Japanese spray functions. Strange enough, there is a bathtub. A rather clean room with daily top-up of usual amenities including bathrobes, slippers, shavers, etc. For less than S$1000 for two people for six nights seven days, this hotel is perfect.

However, one unhappy incident stood out. We requested for the hotel to make restaurant reservations on our behalf–since we cannot speak Japanese–but the hotel refused because they didn’t want to shoulder the responsibility should we not show up at the restaurants. It makes no sense since we would be booking under our names; they would be merely acting as translators. This is really a bad service on their part.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times staying variously in a twin room, double room and a japanese style room. Friendly efficient service, comfortable clean rooms and good sized bathrooms. Cheap beer in the vending machines too. This place is a great find and so close to the railway station, shops and restuarants. The fantastic Shinjuku Goyen National Garden is also a short stroll away. Booking over the phone from Australia is easy and reliable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed for four nights in the Shinjuku Park. The room was of an adequate size, but tiresome to be in twin beds rather than a double - which is standard for business hotels in Tokyo.

The location was fine and central (it's only a few steps to Shinjuku Park which is beautiful), and there was a reasonably priced laundrette on site which was convenient when travelling for a long time. I just think for the price (there are much cheaper hotels in Tokyo) it was not really worth it. The staff were also distant and not very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The hotel is located very near to JR station, about 5mins walk. On the way from the station to the hotel, there are convenience shops and eateries. So location wise, I do not have any complaints.

Staff wise, as I stayed there in different days, I met different kind of staff. The first time I was there, the reception was polite, but a week later when I checked in again, the staff I met was not so polite, giving me the snub look as I was a backpacker.

Room was quite squeezy in a twin bedroom. So not the average room people like unless you pay more. However having said that, the rooms I stayed are clean and well maintained with basic shower amenities and bathtub.

Price wise, I would say mid-range.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Booked the hotel for 2 night stay over the phone from Australia as the online booking form would not come up in English.
I booked it based on location and it was great! Caught Narita express direct from airport to Shinjuku station and Hotel is a very short walk from the station.
The staff were very helpful and allowed us to leave our luggage as it was early morning. On our return we simply picked up our key and luggage was already in our room.
We had a single room and a twin room.The single was a "type B " room with a slightly larger bed for very little extra cost. I would recommend doing this.
The rooms were very clean as were the bathrooms. Beds were firm and comfortable.
We were returning to Tokyo 2 weeks later and rebooked for a further 2 nights this time we were in a japanese style room which was large and had Tatami mats to sleep on.
The area surrounding the hotel has lot's to do with huge gardens just across the street and Times Square shopping plaza nearby.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shinjuku Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shinjuku Park Hotel

Also Known As:
Shinjuku Park Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo
Address: 5-27-9 Sendagaya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0051, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Shinjuku Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shinjuku Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shinjuku Park Hotel to your Saves list