We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, but everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shibuya Granbell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0031, Japan   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tiny room, but everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Room size is tiny, but if you don't have much luggage its the perfect amount a solo/business traveler needs. Stayed in the smallest room they offer (I think 12.6m). Breakfast at the Japanese style restaurant was surprisingly well presented and was a good way to kick off the day. Best part is access to Shibuya.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    128
    52
    12
    5
See reviews for
15
123
71
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Location in the middle of Shibuya a hundred meters away from train station is hard to beat.
The rooms in the Annex are generally nicer and newer than the ones in the older part of the hotel. Avoid the long, narrow and dark 'premier double' rooms. The 'modern double' rooms are far better.

The lobby of the hotel is cluttered with bags and posters and is showing significant wear and tear. Some of the staff is quite unfriendly - particularly odd in Japan.

Breakfast is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the long, narrow and dark 'premier double' rooms. The 'modern double' rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We got lost the first time we headed for this hotel. we saluted their generosity and hospitality for keeping our luggages on our behalf whilst we went for a short trip out of Tokyo city. Hence, our expectation of their service had been topped since.

On the day of for us to check in, I personally asked them whether it was okay for them to give us a lift for our many huge luggages.

Frankly, despite us being a bunch of ladies, my friends and i were considered quite independent in terms of minding our own stuffs especially when we were in overseas. We will not trouble others if we were capable of doing ourselves. In that case, we had just came back from a whole day of walking around and each of us lugging at least 3KG of baggage. Hence, their little help will really make our day. Mind you, we were not mind of tipping if they kindly send our luggage to our rooms (FYI, there was luggage trolley in the lobby).

We were so shocked when they refused to help us. It wasn't they did not understand what we were requesting because I had explained in understandable universal gestures and known English. Their English level was clearly good given the fact they fully understood my other questions especially on paid services (eg. International calls).

I mean, wasn't hospitality all about providing your customers' needs and requests? We were even surprised with the fact that they were awarded the Best Hotel by Tripadvisor. In fact, the main reason my friends and I decided to book this hotel was because if that reason. Clearly, we had been disappointed when we had not even stepped into our rooms yet.

Generally, the rooms were considered fine given the price we paid. But the cleanliness was unacceptable. Spider cobwebs and dust were concealed. Well, obviously they weren't well hidden.

The bathrooms were truthfully barely covered. I couldn't justify the reason behind their "creativity" of exposing the bathrooms. I believe this hotel wasn't labeled as "love" hotels by the reviewer, was it?

Location wise, I would say it is centrally situated in Shibuya. Tokio Mall was merely opposite the road. Nearest subway was also a few minutes walk. I must say, be prepared for a sloppy hike.

The next time I visit Tokyo, I would apparently choose other hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked this hotel for three nights after reading reviews on Trip advisor and it didnt disappoint. It is only a five minute walk from Shibuya station (south exit, west gate) I got the directions from the hotel web site and it was easy to find, tucked away behind a big wooden door in a quiet area. We were early so left our bags and went out for the day. When we arrived back our bags had been taken to our room and we were also upgraded from a deluxe king to a cosy suite. It is quite a quirky hotel. We opened the door to our room to a spiral staircase that you walked up to get to the room. It was very nice. A small lounge and coffee table with a flat screen TV, a nespresso pod coffee machine, fridge, free wifi accessable from the room, a large king size bed, a big bath on a level above the bed(separated by a sliding screen),good storage space for bags and clothes and the best toilet that was so automatic it washed and dried! The toiletries were amazing. Everything was fresh and clean.The towels were changed and bed made every day. Breakfast was included and we only went to thr restaurant on the 2nd floor. Tried the different types breakfasts and found the french one to be the best for us. There were tourist pamphlets in the lobby but got most of our information from the tourist office at the station. Hotel is close to Shibuya Crossing, many restaurants and shops. It was value for money as I had a friend staying at the Cerulean Hotel up the road and he complained that he had to pay for so many things that wernt included in the nightly tarrif e.g internet, breakfast, after 7pm if you are drinking in the bar on the top floor you have to pay 500y per person for the privilege even if you are a hotel guest! I would definately stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 3 week holiday around Japan. Chose it for its TA reviews and proximity to Shibuya. We weren't disappointed. The hotel has a funky and boutique feel. It is small but has good facilities. It's looking a bit tired, it probably needs a refresh, but the room we had was a good size for Japan with a separate toilet and spacious shower room with a nice overhead shower and a bath. The bed was king size and comfortable. There was a small lounge suite in the room also. We paid about AUD190 per night via Japanican. Given the size of the room, the standard and the location we felt this was good value for money. The rate included breakfast for the two of us. The staff were very helpful. Shibuya is a great area with good access to other parts of Tokyo via JR and Metro rail lines. It is only one stop or a comfortable stroll from Harajuku which is another very interesting and fun area to explore. No hesitation in recommending Shibuya Granbell Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights before leaving Tokyo and it was initially quite a shock to see the tiny single room - the smallest I'd ever stayed in - but it was a great deal and just fine for the short stay. I might have felt differently if the weather was poor and had to stay inside, but that was not the case. The small hotel has two entrances and is easy to find, a few minutes walk from the Shibuya police station and a very large luxury hotel - The Cerulean Tower - which is handy because the express bus to and from Narita stops there. The room included breakfast which was more like brunch food. The in-house restaurant makes excellent pizza. There are tons of great restaurants in the area and Shibuya itself is a great place to hang for a few days - lots of really interesting shops and great people watching. Close to the subway and parks, and an easy walk to other neighbourhoods. The staff were very good, and helpful with directions. There's an excellent self-laundry about a five-minute walk from the hotel that's easy to use...just bring change. My only complaint is that the free wi-fi was limited to the lobby. It would have been nice to have it in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on recommendations on Trip Advisor, Lonely Planet and a few design guides. I have no idea how this hotel gets the ratings it does. We checked in to a deluxe room and were shocked at how dirty it was. The linen/towels were fine but everything else was filthy. The bathroom was full of hairs, mold, small pieces of rubbish. The main living area had a moldy ceiling, marks all over the walls, dust/grime on all surfaces, moldy coffee machine, junk in wardrobe. We complained and they moved us to a suite with the spiral stair case. Its obviously fabulous in terms of design, but was equally dirty and so run down. There was what looked like coke sprays on the columns, mold on all the curtains, disgusting bathroom. Hotel lift was the same - filthy carpet, greasy marks, hairs stuck in joinery!? So even though it was a huge upgrade we just couldn't tolerate it and left. The girls at the desk were very helpful and happily refunded our prepayment - so the service in that sense was good. This hotel was totally at odds with our normal experience of Japan where everything is so clean and well looked after, even the smallest and cheapest hotels. We ended up checking into the Cerulean Towers as it was so close and had availability. It was a boring 5* business hotel, but we so appreciated the comfortable and clean rooms after such a disappointment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Granbell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Granbell Hotel

Address: 15 - 17 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0031, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Granbell Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Shibuya Granbell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granbell Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Granbell Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Granbell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.