We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience at Tokyo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mets Shibuya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mets Shibuya to your Saves list
Hotel Mets Shibuya
3-29-17 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Karachi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First experience at Tokyo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Be-warned that this was my first stay in a Tokyo Hotel.
So I was amazed at the size of the room! (very small) However I am told this not uncommon.
Having stayed at one other hotel during this trip I however gave it Average rating.
The booking was made by our parent co. Location was excellent for us (Shibuya district of Tokyo). Breakfast was not bad and we were surprised to see a Label with 'Halal' next to many items (this indicates that its 'kosher' for Muslim guests)
Hotel was very clean and bright.
Issues : While it was cool/cold outside, it was too warm in the room. They told us that the entire hotel was on heating, so they could not put the AC on for a single room.
The window opened in the direction of a train station so this was annoying. Toilet I thought was small but after moving to another hotel I realized that it was an avg size for Tokyo. Basic TV was pretty much useless for non-Japanese speakers.
When I asked for an iron, I was told to pick it up from Reception (my colleague however said his was delivered). But in Japan many things are done by people them selves I think.
No Gym or Pool.
When we moved to another hotel which were told was better, we were amazed/shocked to find that had smaller room and toilet ! And it was further from the office so....I wish we had stayed at Hotel Mets Shibuya.
(sorry I cant seem to find photo of the room now)

Room Tip: Get a room not facing train station !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    69
    31
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
14
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Mets is literally just a few steps from the gates of Shibuya station (South exit); you'll need less than 2 minutes from leaving the Narita Express until reception. Staff is friendly, rooma are clean, no-frills but spacious and very good value for money in Central Tokyo. The bar on 3f, where you also get a Japanese breakfast, is a nice place for an evening beer as well. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As the title, it is ok to stay for a short trip.
The room with a big bed is a little bit small but it is normal in Tokyo actually. The room with two single beds is bigger.
You can have free internet access with RJ45 LAN port in the room but there is no free Wi-Fi available.
In brief, room is clean and the price is acceptable with a very convenient location to access to JR Shibuya station and Tokyo Metro system.
Breakfast is good enough from my point of view. It is buffet service but the choice is not so much. You can have eastern style food such as rice and soup, or you can choose western style food such as milk, coffee and bread.
If you are just looking for a "not bad" hotel with good location and price, and you will not spend so much time in your room, then you can consider Hotel Mets Shibuya.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location, good room, great staff, NO WIFI, horrible breakfast, wired Internet in hotel was Like dial up!! Amazing location tho right at the shibuya south exit stop and right at the narita xpress stop as well. Room were nice overall it was good! If it had wifi n a good breky it'd ve a 5/5

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Located in the actual Shibuya new south subway exit, impossible to miss and very convenient for around town travelling. Extremely central and easy accesible. 3 minutes walk to Shibuya Crossing. Rooms are small and english understanding limited. Free wi-fi on floor 8. Roomier and more luxurious rooms on the 14th floor is well worth the 500 yen / day upgrade. Over the rooftop views from 8th floor and above. Free breakfast at 2 nice breakfast cafes (one western and one japanese). Nice hard beds. No gym that I could find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I was expecting much more then received, even for this price. I usually stay at a more fancy hotel close by, and knew I wanted to try something new, but for the price, you get pretty much nothing but a bed, shower, and average breakfast. Located IN the Shibuya station, at the New South exit, the hotel goes up to the reception floor, then you are directed to your room. Free wifi, free breakfast, pay for TV, tiny tiny Paris sized room, tiny bathroom, and the vent was stuck on heat the 2 days, so it was hard to sleep. And the construction next door goes on through the night, so don't try and open the window. I wouldn't recommend unless you can't find anything else, and I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: Away from construction side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

A no-frills hotel, conveniently located at the New South Gate exit of Shibuya Station. Rooms are small, a bit bigger than, say, a Paris 2-star, but apparently quite standard for Japan. Sadly, no wi-fi - only a wired internet connection (with a very short cable) in the rooms, and public terminals in the lobby. Buffet breakfast at the cafe one floor below the lobby is excellent - the best part of my short stay there. The cafe itself is bright, comfortable and beautifully designed - a great place to unwind from the crazyness of Shibuya. So, on the whole, not a great hotel for business travel, but perfectly acceptable as a base for exploring Tokyo as a tourist.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mets Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mets Shibuya

Address: 3-29-17 Shibuya, Shibuya 150-0002, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narita Express/JR Saikyo Line/JR Shonan Shinjuku Line platform is directly connected to New South Gate where our hotel is located. Our hotel is directly connected to JR Shibuya station through New South Gate. JR Shibuya station East Exit-8 min. walk Tokyo Metro Hanzomon Line & Tokyu Toyoko Line-10 min. walk (14th or 16th Exit) Inogashira-Line West Exit-10 min. walk ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel Mets Shibuya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mets Hotel Shibuya
Hotel Mets Shibuya Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mets Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.