We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, will definitely be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shibuya Tobu Hotel to your Saves list
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 342 Reviews
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Great hotel, will definitely be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our stay at the Tobu Hotel was flawless. We arrived pretty early for check in but there were no issues leaving our bags for the few hours until our room was ready (I know this is a standard service but it doesn't always happen). The staff were really friendly and were all smiles every time we left and returned. Free wifi in the lobby and a paid service in the room if you prefer.

You may or may not know but for short-long term stayers in Japan gaining access to a phone network (for voice calls or data) can be an absolute nightmare. I finally found a company that just sells data sim cards, however you need to register the sim by phone! Obviously mine wasn't working so I asked a receptionist (M.Gomi) and she was absolutely great. She called the number and helped translate to me what needed to be done. The process didn't work the first time and even though I didn't want to annoy her, she insisted that I come back to her so she could finish the job. She was a great help and her English/customer service were great also.


I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    176
    75
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
105
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location as its not so far from shibuya station. Service was excellent and Very friendly staff. They really make sure that you find your way around Tokyo. I loved the fact that it was close to shops like uniqlo, gap, disney shop, etc. Restaurants abound too from japanese food, fastfood and desserts.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great location right next to shibuya crossing. Rooms are small but fine if you don't plan on staying indoors all day. Only downside is that the free internet can only be used in the lobby. Also no breakfast which is a shame.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was not very impressive for the price, but the location made it worthwhile. The room itself compared to a Toyoko Inn, except with nicer Shisedo brand bathroom products. If you've been traveling much in Japan, you'll notice the beds are rather hard and if you're not used to that it can really mess up your sleep. I found the pillows too big and they were full of heavy bean-bag stuffing which I did not like. The staff was nice, but not much English support around at times, otherwise I would give them a much higher rating. The reason to stay in this hotel is definitely the location. Within easy walking distance from Shibuya station and tons of stores and things to do in this area of town. Shibuya has a great lively atmosphere that makes it fun to just walk around and experience Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location is great, staff is very nice and helpfull. The room we had whas very small, but that's Tokyo... The beds were hard and also the pillow was hard. But I rate it "very good" because of the location and price.
It's just within 10 minutes of a walk to Shibuya crossing and Shibuya station. You walk along the best streets of Shibuya.

Room Tip: We had a small room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Tobu Shibuya was a great option for a weekender in Shibuya. I only stayed 2 nights, with the purpose of enjoying as much as possible of what the neighbourhood had to offer. The room was small, but had what I needed, it was clean, comfortable, quiet and in a great location. The staff are helpful. If you like to spend a lot of time in your room when on holidays, this probably isnt the best option, as it's set up to sleep, shower, watch some tv etc, but if you are looking for a cosy base, as you get out and about it's perfect. Good value for money also.
My only advice would be to check where it is on a map in relation to the station, whilst only a few blocks away, with the crowds, chaos and numerous streets to go down, it's not the EASIEST to find. If you have a map it's super easy though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel has a pretty reasonable rate considering it is in the heart of Shibuya, the most desirable neighborhood of Tokyo. It is about 5-7 minutes walking from Shibuya Station (subway and train), and close to everything - shops, restaurants, karaoke places, arcades, pachinko (if that's your thing), cafes, etc etc.
But it still located in an avenue quiet enough to get some peaceful sleep. The staff was great, very attentive, and the room size was very good for Japanese standards. Beds were comfortable... the view of the room wasn't the best (facing another building and can only see the avenue below from an angle), but honestly, who cares about that :) In Tokyo, you shouldn't spend much time in your room anyway! And yes, the room did have one of those super hi-tech Asia-only toilets that do everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Tobu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.