We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, but a bit too pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Shibuya Tobu Hotel to your Saves list
Shibuya Tobu Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 343 Reviews
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
2 reviews
“Clean, convenient, but a bit too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Everything is almost perfect. The room looks clean although it would be to narrow for somebody. However, it lacks Japanese hospitality you would usually find in Minshuku. Also, it is a bit too pricey, but compared to some hotels in the area, it is still a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    176
    76
    9
    4
See reviews for
54
106
45
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

It is in a great location, very close to the crowded shibuya, like 10-15 min from the shibuya station. The staff it is very educated and helpful, and the room was very clean and quite big.

There is only wifi conection in the main hall

I think the walls need to be repainted, but for now is ok

Good value for money

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and the room rate was extremely reasonable. We booked early via Expedia and was offered a very attractive rate at approximately USD100 per night. This hotel provides all necesities and amenities. Size can be a little challenge for plus size adults as the room is really tiny. However, i guess most hotels in Tokyo has tiny rooms. There is no free wifi in the room but you can get free wifi in the lobby. Walking distance to Shibuya station takes about 10minutes and walking back from station to the hotel is slighly uphill. Walking distance between Tobu Hotel and Cerulean Tower (where most pick up for day tours are) is about 15 minutes and this is manageable.
You will be spoilt with choices in terms of shipping, restaurants and drinking places at Shibuya.If you are young/young at heart and do not want to splurge too much on accomodation, you should definately consider this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Like most mid-range hotels in big cites like Tokyo, the rooms are not the largest! However, they are big enough and quite comfortable especially considering that we barely spent any time during the day there. The location really is the selling point here! The hotel is a five minute walk from the most lively part of Shibuya, and near the Shibuya station. From here, you can easily get to anywhere in Tokyo. Wifi is not available in the rooms, but it is very reliable in the lobby! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in the perfect location for exploring shibuya, far enough from the busy parts to not be noisy, but a 2 min walk and you are right in the action, with shopping, restaurants and bars everywhere. Rooms are pretty standard for Tokyo, small and basic, but the have everything you need and are very clean. If you don't plan on staying in the room much then this hotel is great for exploring the area. Great value for money too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel offers really good value for money. Its location is excellent, just a few blocks away from the famous Shibuya crossing. There are lots of dining and shopping possibilities around and also a lively nightlife. From Shibuya Station you have great train connections around the city and also to/from Narita Airport.

We got a really good price for our semi-double room. The room was, as this type of rooms in Japan normally are, tiny. The room and the bathroom were extremely clean, but a bit scuffed. Our window was made of patterned class, the kind of you can't see through, and couldn't be opened more than a little ajar. But that was ok as our room didn't actually have a view, it was facing a fall. The bigger rooms and the rooms on the upper floors probably do have a view. The staff were polite and efficient, but I can't really describe them being friendly. We didn't try the breakfast as there were so many different breakfast possibilities around. I think this hotel is a great choice for those who appreciate a super location and value for money, but aren't that demanding on the room itself. I would be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel.

Location is pretty easy and if you come out to Shibuya Crossing (the massive crossing by the Hachiko (dog statue) exit, you will see a Starbucks ahead of you. Cross the road with Starbucks on your left, and walk until you see Zara on your right, then turn left. Go past Parco mall and you should come up to the hotel.It's about a ten minute walk with luggage.

The rooms are tiny, and apparently this is typical for japan but even then I was surprised, but at that price range it did seem very good value.

As a guy who is pretty tall I had to duck a little to use the shower (if you are 6 foot or under you will be fine) and the bed was small for a couple.

There was no breakfast included, but that was fine for the price we paid, and the room was clean and the toiletries provided were sufficient and nice to use as well as things like a comb, shaving kit, dental kit provided. They also supplied an iron when requested.

They have wired internet in the room (I used my own portable travel router in the room) and wireless in the lobby.

Staff were helpful and they even had pyjamas in the room that were replaced daily, and nice little touches like all your shoes/slippers will be lined up and clothes folded.

Very happy with it and gave 5 stars as it was pretty much as advertised.

One point of note is that there was a school or sports centre where kids are playing sports which was quite loud (whistles of the coach/referee, kids shouting etc). Perhaps there are rooms away from this which I would recommend you request.
We had a no smoking room and didn't smell any smoke.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the other side to the school/sports centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Tobu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tobu Hotel

Address: 3-1 Udagawacho, Shibuya 150-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tobu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Shibuya Tobu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tobu Hotel Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Tobu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.