We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, but excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Tokyu Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shibuya Tokyu Inn to your Saves list
Shibuya Tokyu Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-24-10 Shibuya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0002, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Shibuya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small rooms, but excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend, and we spent 3 nights here in Feb. Conveniently located just across the road from the Shibuya JR station, and a stone's throw from the main street of Shibuya, it is accessible to all the action on Shibuya minus quite a bit of the noise and traffic.

The rooms are really small, barely enough space for a not-quite Queen bed and a bit of space on the side to walk. The bathroom / toilet was rather cramped, so if you have a large build, then perhaps look elsewhere. There was just enough space for a small bath tub, which was flanked by a small sink and with the toilet bowl right up against the sink (kinda like the toilet on a boat). After the initial impression of "wow, this is small" wore off, we actually found it cozy, and we spend most of the time out of the room anyway, only returning to shower and sleep, so it was fine.

Despite the small size, it was well furnished, the bed was comfortable, and opening the window allowed some cool winter air in (though you get a bit of road and traffic noise as well). A LAN port and cable is provided for internet and they even provided a multi-charger for most mobile phones on the tiny bed-side table. There wasn't a safe in the room, so we just locked our passports in one of the luggage.

Service was run of the mill, no complaints and they even assisted with arranging a courier to have our excess luggage delivered to our onward hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    81
    42
    7
    5
See reviews for
24
37
45
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Wonderful location but the rooms and beds are extremely small - even by Japanese standards. We had to turn sideways to get between the bed and the wall and i am definitely not large! We chose this location so we could walk to Meiji Shrine on New Year's Eve and not have to worry about getting back on the trains and it worked really well. But I don't know if I would stay again - I think I would pay a little more for a room where I could unpack a few items into a drawer and have enough space on the floor to open my suitcase.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Small room, but so is many things in Japan. Everything was clean and had everything I needed! Best of all, right smack in Shibuya! Heeeellllo! Robes, toiletries, and indoor slippers are provided in your room.

(travelled in July 2010)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and it is so convenient to about 4 or 5 different train & subway lines. 200 metres from Shibuya Crossing as well. Lots of cute bars, food stalls and traditional japanese restaurants around the area plus lots of shopping stores. The hotel staff were so nice and helpful, always smiling and saying hi. Room was average size, but quiet decent for japanese sized rooms. TV, Air con and nice bathroom. Room always cleaned and not too noisy either. Over all very convenient and would happily stay here again for a fairly priced place in a popular area of Tokyo city. would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Higher up levels are probably not as noisy, but double glazing windows any level would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou, Benin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was the first time for me to arrive in Tokyo. Prices are outrageous, but the city is stunning!
This hotel was booked for me, mainly for its value and location. About 200 US dollars per night for nothing more than a battery cage with a build in bath room is apparently a good deal...
The room was so small that I had no place to open a second suitcase. Everything in the room was mini, but it worked. Internet was fast and for free. The mini-bar was empty though and a coffee downstairs was 10 dollars(!). The breakfast in the restaurant was nice but not outstanding.
The bathroom was entirely plastic and a build in model. Very efficient probably, but I felt like being in a camper on a camping place.
The hotel's best asset is its location at only 3 minutes walking from the Shibuya train/subway station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here primarily for the location, and we weren't disappointed. It's right in the middle of the huge shopping district of Shibuya, a few blocks from the main station. That meant that getting around Tokyo was easy, and we could always find food (or whatever else we needed) nearby. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Wired internet in the room, air conditioning, vending machines (with beer), refrigerator, nice staff. There's a restaurant on the first floor serving "euro" food; we didn't go in, and it looked kind of expensive. This was a great way to start our trip to Japan.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights and it was very convenient that it was steps away from the station. This was great since we were towing heavy luggages around. The check in was fast and the staff helpful with our questions.

Aside from the weird stains in the hall, the room was quite clean. It was also great that they have the option of being "green". We weren't expecting a big room but the space was sufficient for two people - especially since we're out most of the day anyway.

A few minutes of walking, and we're in Shibuya crossing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Tokyu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Tokyu Inn

Address: 1-24-10 Shibuya, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0002, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shibuya Tokyu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, Rakuten, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shibuya Tokyu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Tokyu Hotel Shibuya
Shibuya Tokyu Inn Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Tokyu Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.