We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 Reviews
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Enjoyed staying here - so close to everything in Shinjuku and even Yoyogi. At first I was a bit worried given the extreme negative reviews on here but after giving it a try, I have to say the staff were extremely helpful with any questions I had and also did a great job cleaning the rooms every day! The rooms were a wee bit small but what can you really expect from a Japanese hotel?

I highly recommend Sunroute Plaza and would be happy to book in again next time in Tokyo!

Room Tip: Always best to ask for a non smoking room - Japanese are notorious for smoking in hotel rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    1,169
    200
    26
    11
See reviews for
380
997
343
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Located minutes walk from Shinjuku station. Clean, small rooms. Hotel staff were very friendly during check-in. That was the only real interaction we had with them. We had a tiny room with a double bed, but we were expecting that for Japan.

The location is fantastic, lots of restaurants nearby. Close proximity to Shinjuku meant we could take lots of day trips and still get back to the hotel with relative ease.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A great hotel in a very central location. We stayed here for six nights and it was a fantastic base for exploring Tokyo.

Shinjuku is great fun, lots to do with a range of shops and restaurants.

The hotel itself is very close to Shinjuku station, however; we got a bit lost upon arrival at the station. Make sure you take the South Terrace exit, turn left on the Main Street and make your way to the traffic lights and turn left again. The hotel will be about 300 metres on the right.

Lots of cafes and 24 hour shops around for breakfast and snacks.

The rooms in the hotel are quite small, compared to European or American standards, however; the rooms are very comfortable and have everything you might need. The fridge was very useful for keeping bottled water cold.

I would use this hotel again and recommend it if you are looking for a good base in an exciting area of Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel - brilliant location (2 min walk from Shinjuku), good clean rooms (yes they're small but still comfortable and big enough to stay in), nice breakfast and helpful staff. There is a familymart across the road and huge department store (tokyo hands) nearby which was great for present shopping. Will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Tokyo

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We experienced good service for our week stay there. Restaurant in lobby had good food and wine. However, you are located in a busy part of Tokyo and have access to many restaurants.
our room was bit small in comparison with US hotels, but it was ok for the small amt of time we spent in the room. Free Wi-Fi on 1st and 2nd floors only. i would have liked wi-fi in the rooms for convenience. Rooms were cleaned daily and bathroom facilities meet our expectations. I would definately stay there again. Has currency convertor machine for US dollars to yen which was very convenient for us.

Room Tip: If you are looking for wi-fi in the rooms, you won't find it. We had 3 suitcases and were able t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is the major plus point. Staff speaks good English. However room is very small and cigarette smell is too strong. I ask for non smoking room, the staff says they are running full house I am not given a change. There is a air purifier in the room but it still unable to get rid of the smell. Even the bedsheets and pillows are full of cigarette smell! They also did not send housekeeper to spray the room. I am very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If arriving by JR, you will be facing Lumine 2 (Shopping Mall) and Lauduree once you step out of the Southern Terrace exit. Turn left, walk straight past a pharmacy and you will reach a traffic junction. Turn your head to the left and you will see Hotel Sunroute.

We enquired about switching to a twin room since it wasn't available when we made our reservations. Fortunately, they had a twin room available and we were given a room on the 7th floor. Sound proofing is great, as with all hotels I stayed in Japan and that ensured a good sleep at night.

There are many 24 hours establishments around the hotel - Family Mart across the street, MacDonalds to the left and another Japanese restaurant opposite Mac. Turn to your right after exiting the hotel and you will find Exit A1 of the Toei Oedo line and also the pedestrian overhead bridge to cross over to Takashimaya.

Our twin room was tiny and we could barely open both our suitcases. Pajamas and slippers are provided and so are the usual toiletries in the room. The location made up for the lack of room space and we used the JR and subways to go everywhere. The Airport Limo picks us up directly from the hotel lobby and saves you from having to lug your suitcases around. Book your Airport Limo tickets early with the reception as they sell out very fast. Housekeeping is from 10am to 3pm and room was cleaned pretty well. However, we found housekeeping services a tad inconsiderate. Our skincare items were thrown around and our makeup pouches placed on top of plants that we bought. Otherwise, everything is good and we would stay here again for the great value!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.