We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in the heart of Shinjuku” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0053, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel in the heart of Shinjuku”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff have very good english. Hotel is in a convenient location close to lots of shopping and the Shinjuku train station. Rooms are standard fare at this price point, but they are clean and mostly noise free. Airport limousine bus access to Haneda and Narita airports. Would definitely consider staying here again for a Tokyo trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    975
    1,058
    180
    24
    8
See reviews for
337
905
302
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Sunroute Plaza for two nights as we were passing through Tokyo. We took Narita Express from the airport, which was very simple. The hotel is just a few blocks away. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and polite and spoke good English, including the wait staff in the restaurant.

Our room was very clean (small by US standards, but that is to be expected) and our bed was quite comfortable. Shinjuku station is a few blocks away, so we used the train several times, which was very easy to navigate. The nearby area has a lot of restaurants and interesting things to see, so we walked around a good amount as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The only real asset of this hotel is its great location, right beside Shinjuku station.
We were possibly very unlucky with the room we were assigned to. Air-conditioning was poor. Each night the heating system would turn off by itself and when it was working it was loud and the air coming out was cold. Even though we complained and each time someone came up to check the heating (they even changed filters inside of the air-conditioner), situation hasn't changed for the whole duration of our stay in the hotel.
Room was clean yet the walls were dirty. Toilet was Ok yet it had an odd smell.
On the other hand, staff was friendly and tried to help each time, though unsuccessfully.
There is a possibility that we haven't been lucky with the room and that other rooms are in better condition...however, all in all, we would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Every time my family and I travel to Tokyo we stay here. It's easy and convenient with airport limousines buses stopping right at the door to and from Narita airport for only ¥3000. No need to drag your luggage up and down escalators to catch the skylines which is only ¥600 cheaper.
It's close to the main and busiest train station in Tokyo with JR and metro lines to travel to all tourist locations. There are fantastic restaurants and shops such as Lumier shopping centers and Tokyu hands just 5 minute walk away. Also if you're a member of the sunroute club check out is at 1pm! Great size rooms for tokyo standards, friendly staff and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location was convenient, nice and close to the station. Rooms were small, even by Japanese standard. Hotel could use a clean. Carpets were quite dirty and walls had lots of marks. The internet connection was unreliable, lots of dropouts on ethernet.
Found the breakfast average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location, next to shinjuku station (offr subway, train and bus). Easy way to go to sightsee in a place where taxis are very expensive.Near many shoppings and restaurants. Of course as usual in Japan the rooms where very small.The bus of tha narita airport stops in front of the hotel and have space to locate your luggage. IF you intend to go to disney tokyo there is a express bus direct of the station, bus ask to the front desk how to go.Staff very helpful. If i return to tokyo i'll stay at same hotel.

Room Tip: Best location in a big city makes your trip easy You find better price at restaurants at the trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a very pleasant experience. Location of this hotel couldn't have been better, less than 5 minutes to the trains and shopping strips! Our room was surprisingly larger than expected, quiet and clean. Staff were proficiently English speaking which helped tremendously. Breakfast menu could be varied can by the day though. On the whole, a highly recommended hotel to stay in Shinjuku, we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0053, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents. The guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations It is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. It invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.