We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0053, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Shibuya
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The only real asset of this hotel is its great location, right beside Shinjuku station.
We were possibly very unlucky with the room we were assigned to. Air-conditioning was poor. Each night the heating system would turn off by itself and when it was working it was loud and the air coming out was cold. Even though we complained and each time someone came up to check the heating (they even changed filters inside of the air-conditioner), situation hasn't changed for the whole duration of our stay in the hotel.
Room was clean yet the walls were dirty. Toilet was Ok yet it had an odd smell.
On the other hand, staff was friendly and tried to help each time, though unsuccessfully.
There is a possibility that we haven't been lucky with the room and that other rooms are in better condition...however, all in all, we would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,019
    1,100
    183
    26
    10
See reviews for
361
930
319
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Every time my family and I travel to Tokyo we stay here. It's easy and convenient with airport limousines buses stopping right at the door to and from Narita airport for only ¥3000. No need to drag your luggage up and down escalators to catch the skylines which is only ¥600 cheaper.
It's close to the main and busiest train station in Tokyo with JR and metro lines to travel to all tourist locations. There are fantastic restaurants and shops such as Lumier shopping centers and Tokyu hands just 5 minute walk away. Also if you're a member of the sunroute club check out is at 1pm! Great size rooms for tokyo standards, friendly staff and clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location was convenient, nice and close to the station. Rooms were small, even by Japanese standard. Hotel could use a clean. Carpets were quite dirty and walls had lots of marks. The internet connection was unreliable, lots of dropouts on ethernet.
Found the breakfast average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location, next to shinjuku station (offr subway, train and bus). Easy way to go to sightsee in a place where taxis are very expensive.Near many shoppings and restaurants. Of course as usual in Japan the rooms where very small.The bus of tha narita airport stops in front of the hotel and have space to locate your luggage. IF you intend to go to disney tokyo there is a express bus direct of the station, bus ask to the front desk how to go.Staff very helpful. If i return to tokyo i'll stay at same hotel.

Room Tip: Best location in a big city makes your trip easy You find better price at restaurants at the trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here for four nights and had a very pleasant experience. Location of this hotel couldn't have been better, less than 5 minutes to the trains and shopping strips! Our room was surprisingly larger than expected, quiet and clean. Staff were proficiently English speaking which helped tremendously. Breakfast menu could be varied can by the day though. On the whole, a highly recommended hotel to stay in Shinjuku, we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We recently had two stays at this hotel while on our holiday in Japan. Both times we enjoyed our stay. Whilst the rooms are extremely small on western standards they are very clean and well stocked on amenities. Hotel staff are very friendly and always willing to help to any queries we might have. We left our luggage after our first stay and was able to leave our luggage while we toured Japan. Pillows were not very comfortable but was able to get another.

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit more for a bigger room so that you can have a little more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Close to shinjuku station, lots of excellent restaurants nearby staff were excellent and English speaking. Wifi available in the lobby. Rooms were small but very clean and convenient. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-0053, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.