We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku to your Saves list
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 2,500 Reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Sunroute is a five-star hotel with three-star prices. This hotel is FANTASTIC. Clean, modern, new, and super close to shopping, restaurants, and the Shinjuku metro line (it's literally right next door to one of the entrances).

I got a great deal with the Internet and breakfast included and it was perfect. Yes, the WIFI only works in the lobby, but my room had a LAN cable that connected to my laptop and was easy to setup.

Sunroute also has outstanding service. Each time I would go to the front desk for something (iron, etc) they would have a minimum of five people to help me. I never had to wait to talk to someone - ever. During my stay, and since this was for work, my laptop's network settings had changed and I could not use their internet. I called the front desk from my room and they were able to diagnose and fix my computer - over the phone, in perfect english - very quickly and easily. Amazing!!

And the breakfast - SO GOOD. Great selection of western and japanese-style breakfast food with, quite possibly, the world's best hotel coffee.

For work and pleasure I've had the opportunity to stay at some really nice hotels (waldorf/intercontinental/etc.) I would consider the Sunroute to be just as nice as any of those hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    1,169
    200
    26
    11
See reviews for
380
997
343
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku hotel for two nights in the middle of July 2012. Both the location and the price were just perfect for us. We got right to the hotel entrance from Narita airport by a limousine bus, not the fastest but a very convenient way for us, the first time visitors to Japan.

We heard that the rooms in Japanese hotels are usually small but our room was of an appropriate size. I have to admit though that we travel with minimum luggage. The room was also very quiet -- we had a good sleep after the long flight. And we needed it because the next day we had a very intensive private guided tour with Junko Matsuda that allowed us to see so much in one day that we could hardly do without her help.

We enjoyed a clean, well equipped bathroom, of a good size as well.

We choose a continental breakfast option. The buffet had a rich assortment, including Japanese and European dishes, and everything we tried was fresh and tasty.

Front desk personnel was responsive and supportive: they quickly provided us with some medical and cleaning supply we asked for. They also assisted us very nicely with directions and booking a bus to Kawaguchiko, our next trip point.

The hotel has left very good impression on us and we would definitely suggest it to our friends. Feel free to contact us for more details.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel was a great value in Tokyo. Very clean and very near to the JR train station and Shinjuku Station. The economy rooms are small, for couples I would recommend spending a little bit extra and upgrading to the deluxe queen so you don't have to be on top of each other. Housekeeping was efficient and non-intrusive and our room looked great everyday. There was a little fridge in the room that came in handy as well. Only drawback was that there was no wifi in rooms only in the lobby so there were 3 members of our group that were very annoyed by this. There was a wired connection if you have a laptop but no good for Ipad users. Just take note if you are one of those people that can't live without wifi. I would stay there again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I spent 5 nights here back in October 2011. Clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms right next to Shinjuku station.

The single rooms were surprisingly big by Tokyo standards. There wasn't any in-room wifi but they did offer an ethernet cable and free internet.

Hard to argue with the price, quality and the location of this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were staying 5 nights at the sounroute plaza hotel.
Everthing was good but here the biggest downside (for us) up in front:
THE WIFI INTERNET ONLY WORKS IN THE LOBBY. NOT IN THE ROOM. That upset us pretty much because we were expecting to have wifi in the room and to do some research for the trip therefore it was annoying to have to go downstairs everytime you wanna look sth up.

Besides that the hotel is good, clean, we had a room with twin beds and the size was ok. The rooms with a single bed or a double bed are very small though- we found out when we looked inside a room like that being cleaned.

The hotel's location is ok, not as busy as we thought but close to the subway. If you wanna be "in the middle of action" then go somewhere else.

Once we had breakfast in the hotel which has a good price for what they offer, also the breakfast room is nice.

The staff/ concierge is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there for 5 days back in May 2012, will return next month for 6 days. Close to JR Station (N'EX) which is great when you land at Narita. Quite a bit to see when you walk around at night. Good service, room was clean, breakfast was great.

Small rooms but who cares, you'll be there to sleep and that's it. At night if it's nice and not too hot, go get a few beers or chu-hui from the 7 eleven next door and sit on the granite block of the building next door. It's incredibly relaxing even though you're in the center of busy Tokyo.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed for 2 nights in sunroute in an economy double room (no breakfast). had a little trouble finding the hotel from shinjuku station, even though i had a map ad i knew its really near, but after i figured it out, it's REALLY very near the station. plenty of eating places around that open till late: macdonalds (24 hr), KFC, japanese restaurants and izakayas.

room was great, perfect size for 2. had all the amenities any good hotel shoud have, toiletries, tv, mini fridge (no complimentary water though), kettle. it was cleaned every day, air con was strong, toilet had a bathtub and good water pressure. staff at the reception were fluent in english too.

the only bad thing is that there's no free wifi in the room. but there was a free open wifi connection ( i dont know whose, but i dont think it was the hotel's) so i just tapped on it :D

overall, excellent location and room for a great price (SGD 418 for 2 nights from hotels.com).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku

Address: 2-3-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-0053, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku is a chic hotel located in the busy Shinjuku business district of Tokyo, Japan. Newly renovated in 2007 with sleek lines and modern accents, this Tokyo Shinjuku hotel's guestrooms are both contemporary and inviting for business and leisure travelers. Spacious and considerate, Hotel Sunroute offers guests competitive prices with special discounts and deals and the choice of a variety of guestrooms to meet each party's specifications. At the confluence of corporate skyscrapers and subway stations, this business hotel in Shinjuku is a magnet for business travelers. Travel around the Shinjuku and Tokyo area effortlessly via high-speed public transportation, which is just minutes away by foot. Shop one of the many department stores or travel outward to Mt. Fuji and the greater Tokyo area. Hotel Sunroute invites guests and visitors to lounge in the Villazza restaurant and trattoria for an expertly prepared meal from a menu featuring traditional Italian fare. Unwind at the end of the day in our Shinjuku hotel at Bar Ku Kon, in the plush lounges lit by a crackling fire, while sipping on a premium cocktail or whiskey with colleagues or friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya
Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Hotel
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.