We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
HK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Convenient and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The limousine bus from the airport took us directly to the hotel in around 80 minutes. The bus actually stops on the 5/F so there is no need to take any lifts to get to the lobby The hotel is actually next to all the major underground and train routes so is extremely convenient. For breakfast, don't go to the Japanese buffet which was bland, the western buffet is better but selection is very limited.
WIfi was super fast

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    347
    93
    14
    6
See reviews for
154
136
86
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location, right on top of Shibuya Station. I also had a room which looked out on to the famous Shibuya crossing. The hotel is clean though a little on the small side for what you pay, but that's common on Tokyo i guess.
I was a littel confused when i first arrived as you have to take the lift to the 5th floor where the reception is. You then have to change lifts to the residents lift and go to your room, but this didn't become an issue for me.
The room had a desk and chair, double bed, Flat screen Cable TV and a small dresser. The bathroom had a bathtub with shower and some basic toiletries.
There are no international plug sockets so take an adapter.
I didn't try the food as i was out most of the time.
The airport bus is easy too. The bus for Narita and Haneda both leave from behind the hotel. Once you come back down to the 5th floor, you walk out the back door and you're at the bust stand. no steps or inconvenience.
The area is great and always lively. Neon light galore and the Tokyo they usually show on TV.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We spend our first two nights here. I have to say that you couldn't find better location. The hotel is nothing special but if you never been in Tokyo before I
Recommend to stay here because all what u need is at your door step to enjoy the Tokyo craziness ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshav Shdema
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I used this hotel with business trips. Easy access to train station and surrounded by all kind of shops. Can see the most famous traffic junction of Tokyo by foreigners (because of super crowd) down the hotel. Good restaurants and drinking places are reachable easily. Good service and reasonable price.
There is a corner in the room for make up. Good thing for women.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I visited the hotel 1 of July 2013 and stayed for 6 nights, my choice upfront was primarily based on the location, being on the famous Shibuya crossing, and close to the station(s).
Location is indeed excellent and very important, Shibuya is one or two stops away of places like Shinjuku, Omotesando, Harajuku and less than 15 min to Ginza, Roppongi and Tokyo station.

The hotel lived up to the expectation, it is clean, modern and overall a nice looking place, on top of the JR and local metro stations.
Nothing fancy though, but considering it's moderate price per night compared to the real high end hotels, I can fully recommend this place.
Allthough Shibuya is a noisy area, our room on the 15th floor was soundproof.
Room is relatively large with all necessary amenities, enough storage space and a great city view, opt if possible for Shibuya croosing view!
Finally, Budgetwise, with a room of <€200 per night, it can aboslutely compete with similar hotels in Hong Kong, Singapore or Bangkok to name a few cities!

Room Tip: Rooms between 20 th and 25 floor are extra safeguarded by a card system in the elevators. Views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not as posh as the Cerulean but who cares it was more fun! Right next to the Shibuya station and several department stores. I ran down to the basement of one of the department stores to buy an apple and was back in about 10 minutes. Modern but room was more of a 3 star. Good air conditioner and view. We had both free breakfasts on two separate mornings. The Japanese breakfast was fun but VERY exotic. Most of it I didn't know what I was eating. Pink cold vinegar to drink anyone? The rice porridge was good. The Western breakfast buffet was great also, and more of what you may be used to but also kind of boring compared to the adventure next door. This room was around $250 for two twin beds but had the free breakfast and free internet. Actually MORE than the Cerulean, but worth it because it was more fun. Front desk is helpful although you need to speak carefully and slowly and repeat the answer back to them to make sure you know what they said.

Room Tip: Found the coffee cups (paper cup with coffee grounds on the top, standard here) and water heater in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the action. The hotel literally sits on top of shibuya station. This makes getting around tokyo very convenient. To add to this, the view from our 16th floor room was a perfect view of shibuya crossing.
The room was also comfortable. We have a family of 4 and we all got our own beds. This is rare when we are traveling. It also had free wi-fi although the connection was weaker between 6-10pm. I'm guessing its overloaded.
The hotel was very helpful in arranging taxis and shuttles. The only negative is when we asked for a restaurant recommendation, they recommended their hotel restaurant....It maybe a fine restaurant but when your traveling you want recommendations that take you out in the city not inside your hotel.
High highly recommend staying here if you are going to tokyo.
Shibuyahh!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the crossing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shibuya
Shinjuku
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
Shinjuku
Hotel Century Southern Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
Shibuya Granbell Hotel
#7 of 29 in Shibuya
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
Shibuya Tokyu REI Hotel
#14 of 29 in Shibuya
3.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Priceline, Rakuten, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.