We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is right in the middle of the action. The hotel literally sits on top of shibuya station. This makes getting around tokyo very convenient. To add to this, the view from our 16th floor room was a perfect view of shibuya crossing.
The room was also comfortable. We have a family of 4 and we all got our own beds. This is rare when we are traveling. It also had free wi-fi although the connection was weaker between 6-10pm. I'm guessing its overloaded.
The hotel was very helpful in arranging taxis and shuttles. The only negative is when we asked for a restaurant recommendation, they recommended their hotel restaurant....It maybe a fine restaurant but when your traveling you want recommendations that take you out in the city not inside your hotel.
High highly recommend staying here if you are going to tokyo.
Shibuyahh!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the crossing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    323
    87
    13
    6
See reviews for
133
125
83
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A reasonable sized room, very nice inside, but great location.

This is actually located within the Shibuya train station, but of course the room is completely upstairs in the actual hotel. The great thing is, you can arrive into the station and just walk straight to your hotel without worrying about walking the streets with your bags trying to find your accommodation. Was fantastic.

The staff were so friendly (just like all the Japanese seem to be). Very helpful. We had the breakfast every morning which was on the 25th floor overlooking the city. Amazing views, and the food was great. Just couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonsberg, Norway
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Just in the middel of everyting. Fantastic view from our room in 22th floor. Spaceious room and clean room, friendly staff. Directly connected to the subway and JR-rail. Lots of restaurants and estery in the shopping center under the hotel. Very good choice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is a great way to immerse yourself in bustling Tokyo! We came here as we were moved from another hotel because of overbooking! This turned out to be a blessing in disguise. The room we stayed in was a very decent size( we did have one of the executive rooms) which had an amazing view of the city! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was surprisingly quiet given its central location and being right above Shibuya station.
Hotels can be very expensive in Tokyo so we were very surprised that the Excel was very reasonably priced!
The only downside for me was the breakfast. A little on the average side for my taste. Nothing interesting there. I would suggest the shopping centre below for meals.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this place!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed on executive floor with large room and great views across Tokyo from 24th floor. This place is location, location, location at the heart of Shibuya. However, the rooms are well appointed and quiet. Service was attentive. One star off for the dull breakfast. Plenty of much better options downstairs in shopping centre or beyond. Would stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Family of 5 stayed at Tokyu Excel hotel Shibuya last week.
Took a family room, located at 12 floor - city view.
Though room was not too big, it was definitely comfortable, furnished with 4 beds and a small dining area are the centre. 2 of the beds are super singles and 2 singles. Very comfortable and happy stay for a family of 5!
Locaiion was great - hotel is sited just above the Shibuya station - though must say the Shibuya station is so huge and complex!
Lots of shopping ( for teens) and food options available.
One suggestion for improvement - hotel may want to consider to tighten security for guests access to rooms, as currently there isn't any in place - meaning all can go up to the rooms.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with city view, and high floor rooms. Highest is 24, 25 level is the restuarant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect, convenient for food, shopping and commute to important sights. You can get the shuttle bus from the airport and get off at the last stop which ends up at the feet of the hotel. It is right on the shibuya crossing, perfect for late night dinners, shopping and generally a nice and young spirited area to stay at. Rooms are nice, however may be a bit small, The room we had booked was rather too small and the view was the back of the building but we asked for a different room and with a small fee were taken to a new bigger room with view of the town. It is located next to a few major shopping malls. Not to forget that you can easily walk to Mark city for the famous sushi Midori at restaurants avenue, A must go for sushi lovers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya 150-0043, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Rakuten, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.