We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu to your Saves list
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0043, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Shibuya
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“location, location, location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights during my trip to Tokyo. The hotel is centrally located in the heart of Shibuya and also have a direct exit from Shibuya station (through Mark City dept store). Only a 3 minute walk to the famous 109 building and also overlooks the scramble intersection. It's just nice to stay in such a centrally located hotel and not to worry about being too tired after shopping the entire day in shibuya.

I stayed on the 7th floor and in a twin bedroom. The room size is very good to japanese standards, clean and comfortable. however try to avoid staying on the 7th floor because the billboards are RIGHT outside your window which lights up throughout the entire night and even the curtains won't help (if you're a person who needs to sleep in absolute darkness like myself).

Room Tip: don't choose the 7th floor, bright billboards light up during the entire night. go higher up for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    270
    74
    9
    4
See reviews for
100
98
74
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here during my Tokyo trip.

Located in the Shibuya Mark City building. Department stores/restaurants/metro are located on lower floors.

Clean room, great views (view of the Crossing!). Shibuya station is right there. Room comes with hair dryer, toothbrush, razor, shaving cream, amongst other things.

Front desk speaks English and were very helpful in booking restaurant reservations for me as I cannot speak much Japanese.

To get here from Narita Airport - after baggage claim walk directly out and there should be signs for "Airport Limo/Bus" - get a ticket for Shibuya Excel (3000 yen) and then proceed directly outside (gate should be right in front of you). My flight landed during rush hour so the bus ride was approximately an hour and a half.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is located right in the heart of Shibuya and very near the Shibuya station that will take you to all places in Tokyo very easy. The hotel itself is a high-rise so if possible get yourself a room high up from where you will have amazing views. The lobby is on third floor and you can access the hotel from the street and the train station. The room we stayed in was large (we paid extra for an upgrade) and stayed on 23rd floor. Two large twin beds, sofa, separate toilet and bathroom and huge panoramic windows. The breakfast restaurants is on 25 floor also with amazing views. Be early as the restaurant is small. Breakfast was not that great, not enough choices of food. So if you are paying extra for breakfast think twice.

Room Tip: We stayed on 23rd floor with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Shibuya Excel for 5 nights. It was our first time in Tokyo and I must say, this hotel is great! The location is awesome and is right across the street from the shibuya station, which has basically every train line you could need. The hotel overlooks the main square, so we had a great view, but it was still really quiet at night.

The rooms are small, but not unbearable. They are very clean and the bathroom was nice. There was free wifi in the room and it worked great. The hotel staff was friendly, but didnt speak english that well, so we didn't use them a ton for recommendations. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would highly recommend it to my friends. The overall experience and price were very good!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is geared more for the young and hip party goer or Business Traveler as the area is filled in drinking (Izakaya's) places and its proximity to Harajuku. Nevertheless the location of the hotel is great:

The Pros:
1.) Direct drop-off to the hotel by the Airport Limousine Bus from Narita. (prepare for a really windy and cold arrival upon exit from the bus as the parking lot is open).
2.) Access to the 4th Floor Food hall of the Mark City Mall next door is a plus (access to Mark City is better on the 3rd floor than the Lobby because of the tight lift provided by the mall from lobby to 4th floor).
3.) Proximity to the Tokyu Supermarket and Shibuya train station across the street. The Tokyu supermarket is the best place to grab some Sushi or Sashimi for Dinner. They offer 20% discount after 6PM and rivals the quality in some of the best restaurants. Remember, the supermarket not the food hall right outside it. Just buy some soy sauce in the supermarket as they don't offer it for free.
4.) There are also a lot of reasonable eating outlets to the left of the Hotel (upon exit from the G/F lobby). Soba, Ramen, Yakiniku, Donburi, everything you want in such a small area!
5.) There are a lot of vending machines in the hotel lobby even a washing machine in the vending area per floor of the hotel.
6.) Access to Starbucks (3rd Floor) and Excelsior Cafe (4th floor) in Mark City. Great sandwiched in Excelsior as well.

The Cons:
1.) The Shibuya area is filled with young people, this is the only reason I can attribute to the area being generally dirtier than the rest of Tokyo. Small trash can be seen everywhere. Compare this to the Ginza area and other nearby areas and you will know what I mean.
2.) We left used cups and teaspoon from the tea service in the room and came back to find then un-washed when we returned. I really don't know if its customary in Japan not to have this cleaned by the maid service.
3.)The cleaning service was generally not that good. We only found the room really clean (1) night out of the (4) nights we stayed. We constantly found our used Starbucks coffee cups still lying on the floor next to the trash bin due to it being filled already.
4.) You will constantly hear the train all night (stayed in the 8th floor). So this will be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Just drink a 500ml can of beer from the vending machine and you will be all set for the night. :-)

Some tips for Families with Strollers or Baby Prams:
1.) When taking the train.Take the South Entrance of the Shibuya Station (to the right when you cross the street). This is where the lift is located, took me 10 min. just to find it.
2.) Most of the restaurants in the 4th floor Food Hall of Mark City next door is very child friendly.
3.) Remember to take the 3rd floor access to Mark City from the hotel and just go (1) flight up the escalator.
4.) Most if not all convenience stores do not sell fruit so if you want or need some for your baby or what not get it from the Supermarket (the Tokyu supermarket is small so go off-peak hours) or the fruit stand right outside to the right of the Hotel G/F exit.
5.) ask the hotel for extra towels for your babies as they wont give you extras unless requested.
6.) The Hotel doesnt offer baggage assistance so expect to log your own luggage to and from the lobby and/or bus.

You will see that the Pro's out-way the Con's but given my experience here and in Shinjuku, I think we will try Ginza next. I think it is much more laid-back and definitely cleaner.

Room Tip: You have to pay more to get the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the second time I am posting this review. TA told me initially that it did not contain enough "information" to make it relevant. As a senior reviewer I find this very surprising and disappointing. I feel the information I have supplied genuine and helpful for people in a similar situation. I have travelled the world and am trying my best to not lose my faith in the site I have had so much faith in. So, TA, will you publish my honest account of my family's stay? Here it is.

As stated by previous reviewers this hotel is fantastically situated. Couldn't fault location. Upon attempted check in after an overnight flight with 2 very tired children they flatly refused any sort of leeway with check in. I would have happily paid extra for this but it was not offered. As such my kids pretty much cried in the foyer for 4 hours while we valiantly tried to settle them. Very disappointing. Hotel facilities were fine. No other complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

location is the best! It is in the middle of everything. Restaurants,shops and underground train is just in front of hotel. There is airport shuttle bus which is convenience and help me save a lot of money(taxi is very expensive).
Room is small but clean in contemporary design.I also got massage chair in room!
lovely business hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu

Address: 1-12-2 Dogenzaka, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0043, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Rakuten, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shibuya Excel Hotel Tokyu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;