We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Century Southern Tower to your Saves list
Hotel Century Southern Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 Reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights and got a great advance purchase rate. A few minutes stroll to Shinjuku Station and restaurants near by. Have a small shop on premises for drinks and snacks etc.Rooms are good and offer great views of Tokyo. TV is a little disappointing but didn't bother me that much. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    398
    62
    8
    4
See reviews for
272
436
124
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Japan. We travel a lot so always consider choice of hotel with practicality . We planned to be in Tokyo for 5 days so...that's good enough time if you are a 'active' traveller. Location is excellent from every aspect. Renovated rooms are spacious and pretty much have everything including hot water pot for tea/coffee. We had room on west side so had great view of city plus Mt. Fuji. Apart from all the reviews about hotel itself, here are my some quick tips:
* Take Narita express directly from airport to Shinjuku station. Make sure to exit to Southern Terrace exit otherwise you will sure be lost.
* If you have to get onto main street then consider yourself asking someone or look for landmarks i.e starbucks, Krispy Kreme etc .
*No need to pre-pay or have breakfast at Hotel's buffet as we find it not worth of the cost based on what all we can eat there i.e Miso soup with rice at breakfast is not for us etc,
* Starbucks and another Japanese bakery just outside are great place for having fresh products.
* We used Metro and other local rail lines for daily travel so very convenient by staying right next to the station. Get a english version of the Metro map from the hotel itself. We did not find buying one-day pass worth it as it costs $10 for Metro and another line hence does not inlude JR lines. Best is to buy point to point tickets and don't worry about finding how much it costs. Just buy the minimum fare one and when you get down at your destination station, put the ticket into 'Fare Adjustment' machine ( you will find it always just before the exit) and it will exactly tell you how much uou need to pay..very helpful..:)
* Tokyo metro stations are one small city in itself having underground walkways, shopping, restaurants etc hence you may not realize and walk a lot or to a wrong side. Hence, always either ask for the exact EXIT number for your landmark OR just look at the map after you land. Japanese are very good at visual aids...even blind can walk n find its way around without any help..:). You will always find rail personnel next to ticket/exit checking machines
*Most of the small shops/shrines/restaurants don't take credit cards so make sure you have enough cash. Another advantage of the hotel is that CITI BANK is just down the street from the station i.e come to the main road from hotel then turn left. It's right on the next intersection.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Negatives: Expensive breakfast, no self-service laundry, no in-room dining.

Everything else is positive. The best thing about this hotel is its location. It is on the Southern Terrace of Shinjuku station. Once the Southern Terrace has finished remodeling, it will even be more convenient to get to. The hotel is in easy (within minutes) of the Shinjuku station and Yoyogi station - and thus it is easy to get anywhere in Tokyo. And since it is at Shinjuku station, Narita Express also stops here. It is within walking distance of all the department stores within the Shinjuku station area and right across from Takashimaya Square. Thus, there's plenty of shopping and dining options because of its proximity to Shinjuku and Shinjuku station. I did not try the restaurants in the hotel though (nor did I try the restaurants in the building). A Japan post office is right next to the hotel making it easy to get ATM withdrawals. There is also a Family Mart (and of course the department store grocery departments on the basement floor(s)) within easy walking distance (close to the post office) if you need supplies and groceries.

The room itself is quite large and spacious for Japanese standards. It is even large when compared to hotels I've stayed in the US and Canada. There was plenty of storage space and there were many complimentary bathroom supplies. There were also great views of the Shinjuku area. The room was also clean when examined by my UV blacklight. Beds were a bit hard, but it seemed like every Japanese hotel I stayed in during my trip had hard beds. The curtains were also near black out curtains which was extremely nice so I could sleep without being awakened by the sun. The TV also had plenty of Japanese as well as English channels (CNN, BBC, etc.).

The front desk/concierge service was also quite helpful. The front desk folks had sufficient command of English, though if I needed to ask them something a little more complicated, the front desk person would usually find a senior manager to help me out. They also helped us when we had to go to a Japanese hospital to make sure we didn't get the Asian flu. However, I wished the manager could have helped us a little more to make sure we got to the hospital correctly (he did give us a map to the International Medical Center of Japan, but I was hoping he would at least take us downstairs, then directed the taxi cab driver to the hospital).

The rate that we paid was extremely reasonable - approximately $180/night. I probably couldn't get this rate at any centrally located hotel in the USA and Canada, let alone in Shinjuku... Stayed for eight nights so I believe I have a decent feel for this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's says shibuya, but it's directly across the tracks from the shinjuku station. If taking the narita express the walk to this hotel should only take you about 5 minute max. From the station, we did get lost and walked the long way and took 15. Here's a hint walk to the main rd turn left and as soon as you walk over the JR tracks turn left immediately down a sidewalk. There's a French bakery on the end to give you a reference. This turn is before the first 4 way intersection. Walk down this sidewalk toward Eddie Bauer, Krispy Kreme , and Starbucks. When you see the Krispy Kreme look up and to the right the tall tower is this hotel. The lobby is on the 20th floor. Amazing views and reasonably price. We saw my fuji from our window everyday, we were on the top floor. Very clean, large room, free bottle water. Breakfast is good, but overpriced. I tried it once loved it, but just ate croissants or something simple instead for the rest of the week. So much food and shopping and shrines nearby. Ideal location and so affordable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Location was great.. just mins from shinjuku station.
Room is really big & spacious... simply love it!
Hotel was great.. staff was friendly
price as reasonable too..
it was a great place.
will definitely be back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Located in the upper half if this high rise, views are guaranteed. Everything about this hotel makes it an all around too choice for Tokyo. The location, service, rooms and overall ambiance are top notch, yet the rates are surprisingly fair compared to name brand equivalents.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is actually 3 minutes walk from Shnjuku station south exit. This location is exetemely convinient. The room size is OK and very well taken care of. No room service, but instead there is a shop that is open until 23;00. Breakfast is not great. However the great location combined with its price make it very worth while. All in all great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for the Fuji side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Shinjuku, Tokyo, Hotel Century Southern Tower offers a luxurious escape from the bustling city below. Elegant, yet, functional accommodations are conceived to meet the special needs of business travelers. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes from the hotel on foot. 375 guest rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor with spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Southern Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.