We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for first Tokyo trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Save Saved
You added Hotel Century Southern Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-8583, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 28 hotels in Shibuya
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Location for first Tokyo trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on my first trip to Tokyo. The hotel is in a very convenient location right next to Shinjuku station, perfect for the Narita express and getting around the city. The views are awesome and was perfect for cherry blossom season.

All in all a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    373
    55
    8
    3
See reviews for
246
408
121
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A very conveniently located high rise hotel with great views of the city and comfortable rooms. They feature a breakfast buffet that’s quite good but skews towards Western food. Not a major problem and since this was where we stayed at the end of the trip I was ready for yogurt and fruit for breakfast again.

It’s just about 5 minutes from Shinjuku station so a nice place to connect to the Narita Express Train. It’s also very easy to get to the nightlife of Shinjuku in and around Kabukicho. Overall a convenient and comfortable place to stay in Tokyo with great transportation options from nearby Shinjuku station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights during a family trip to Japan with my wife, two teenage boys, and parents in July 2013. The hotel is extremely conveniently located on the new southern terrace of Shinjuku station. For travelers coming from overseas, the Narita Express train from the international terminal arrives in the southern portion of the station. From there, it is a short walk to the hotel which we were able to accomplish in a few minutes with all of our luggage in tow. Right across a footbridge from the hotel is the giant Takashimaya Times Square with its “depachika” food court in the basement and three floors of restaurants at the top. There are also a Starbucks, convenience store, and even a Krispy Kreme donut right on the southern terrace. The staff spoke very good English and were extremely helpful. For instance, we speak almost no Japanese but were able to arrange to leave several bags at the hotel, at no charge, while we traveled to Kyoto and Hiroshima. The hotel lobby is on the 20th floor and the rooms are above that, which affords the rooms great views and isolates them from the noise of Shinjuku, below. The rooms were extremely quiet. Each of our rooms had a comfortable king size bed. They were also surprisingly spacious for Japan and well appointed. We stayed in both the higher floor, renovated rooms and the lower floor, normal rooms. Both were fine. As with everything in Japan, the rooms were spotlessly clean. There was free wired and wireless internet. There is an electric hot water pot, instant coffee and tea, and a refrigerator, but no microwave. You get two free bottles of mineral water every day. We did not patronize the hotel’s restaurants. I don’t know if there is a fitness center or pool. The hotel also had a better exchange rate for US dollars than the currency exchange stores in Shinjuku station, so we exchanged some cash at our hotel. It couldn’t have been easier. Including additional fees (for a second adult or child > 12 years old in the room), the 15% service charge, and tax, we ended up paying $180-200 per night which we thought was a good deal considering we were in Tokyo, the convenient location, and quality of the room and amenities. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors (I think 30 and above) have been renovated and are a little nicer, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stay here for 4 nights. The location is very convenience. Staffs has very good English ability so no worries. They store lagguages for you that is a plus when we need to travel somewhere else. Yes, it does not have bellman and Everthing is selfs services. But the price is so good that I don't mind that, otherwise you can stay at Kieo Plaza. Rooms are small but you pay what you get and most of hotel rooms in Japan are small. We love the view up on 35th floors amazing. We stay at Keio plaza before I think from now I will stay here to save a bit of money and go shopping!

Room Tip: The higher and better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family of four had connecting rooms with two beds each on the 25th floor facing east with amazing views of the Tokyo skyline and Takayshimaya Times Square. The rooms themselves were nothing special, but we chose this hotel for location (close to shopping and dining), not decor. Some of the rooms in the hotel have been remodeled (as in the website photos), but ours had not, but it was nice enough. The price for Tokyo was very good value for two rooms (perhaps the remodeled rooms cost more?) and the space was large enough not feel cramped. The department stores and lots of restaurants were within easy walking distance for our kids- we did not have to use the train system or cabs to do these things as we had earlier in our trip staying in another area of Tokyo. However, the hotel is far away from the traditional tourist sights in the eastern half of the city. It is convenient for taking the shinkansen from Shinagawa station and the airport bus to Narita. Free wifi in rooms was a bonus.

Room Tip: Families should request connecting rooms directly from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived before 6.00am on a public holiday after a 12 hour flight and without having a guaranteed early access to a room. The reception staff bent over backwards to accommodate us for a 30% fee of the daily room rate which was extremely welcome. Our room had an expansive view of Tokyo as the hotel only starts at the 20th floor. Bed was very comfortable and all amenities available. Restaurant was good for both a Japanese dinner and hot breakfast.
Very close to at least two stations (Shinjuku and Yoyogi), within easy walking distance of Yoyogi Park and Takashimaya Department store. Airport buses from Haneda and to Narita airports operate from Shinjuku station. All very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Great location right next to train station for easy access to anywhere (once you get the hang of it). Plenty of eat streets nearby. Rappongi and Shibuya all just one or two stations away. Also headed out to Mount Fuji which is only 30 min on the bullet train from/to Tokyo station, then 20 on the subway to the hotel. Really nice hotel, business style so not too many extra frilly's that you would rarely use anyway. Staff were really nice and helpful. We got a corner room and views were great. I would recommend anyone coming to see the sights of Tokyo for a visit to stay here as it was really a great location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-8583, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Shinjuku, Tokyo, Hotel Century Southern Tower offers a luxurious escape from the bustling city below. Elegant, yet, functional accommodations are conceived to meet the special needs of business travelers. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes from the hotel on foot. 375 guest rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor with spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Southern Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.