We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Save Saved
You added Hotel Century Southern Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Century Southern Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-8583, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's all been said before, but sometimes it's still nice to know that the reality and the reviews really do match. Super-close to a major rail station, and that is key to getting around Tokyo without hassle.

The staff if so, so helpful. 1 week before we arrived, I contacted the hotel via their Facebook page and asked if they could make a dinner reservation for us at a certain restaurant where no English is spoken. They quickly made the reservation for us, and reminded us of it when we checked in. Hard to imagine a hotel in the US offering to help someone who hasn't even arrived yet. The concierge and front desk staff happily did so much for us -- printing maps, arranging early morning taxi for our trip to Tsukiji fish market.

Lots of food and shopping right outside the hotel. I would love to return to Tokyo, and I can't think of a reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    602
    360
    55
    8
    3
See reviews for
239
397
114
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner & I arrived on an early morning flight from Australia extremely tired and in need of a decent sleep. Unfortunately to check in early, you had to pay for an extra nights stay - but sometimes that is to be expected! The room was kept really clean and had amazing views of the city. It's only a couple of minutes away from Shinjuku station and walking distance to other shops and restaurants within the area. We dined at the restaurant in the hotel and although the food was pricey - the quality and taste was well worth it, especially at night with a panoramic view of the city. The staff were all friendly and very accommodating to our needs. We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We booked this relatively last minute, after we had to change our itinerary a few days before we travelled. We were very happy with our room, which was comfortable and well maintained. As the hotel occupies only the upper floors of the building, the view from our room was beautiful, both day and night. As we booked room only, we didn't bother with breakfast in the hotel but found cheaper local options nearby. The location itself was superb, both for neighbouring Shinjuku station and the local area. I'd happily stay here again, should the rate be as good as it was on this occasion.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for nearly two weeks and this amount of time gave us a really good appreciation of its location and services.

It's located a couple of minutes walk from Shinjuku Station and although you may have to jostle through with your luggage in peak hour, you would have to do this anywhere in Tokyo in peak hour!

Hotel was extremely clean, hotel staff spoke good English, and there is a hotel lobby shop for incidentals. Hotel is literally surround by 7 elevens, so easy for extra supplies.

The views from the hotel are amazing and you look out onto a magical Tokyo skyline anyway you look.

Hotel lobby bar is a little on the expensive side, but if you are lucky you can watch a pianist play at scheduled times.

Rooms are a decent size, not too small as can be the case in Tokyo.

Shops a literally a minutes walk away, plus restaurants. Vending machines for drinks and snacks are on every floor of the hotel.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, although as the rooms start on the 20th floor, you are guaranteed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Checked in on the 11 and will be out on the 15th of Feb, 2013. For 4 nights my cost is 62,600 Yen. Which is very decent for where it is located. You can walk to the train station from the hotel, well, you can pretty much see the train station at certain rooms. My room is 2454 which over looks Tokyo Hands and Takashimaya Department store. There is a connecting bridge for you to walk across so it is very convenient. I stayed a lone this time so I got a small room, but it's a decent size. At the 2nd floor is where you walk to Tokyo hands to train station. On the way, there are shops for you eat and Krispy Cream is there too. The lobby is located on the 20th floor. Service is very efficient and very well mannered. I would return to this hotel for sure if I'm staying in Shinjuku area.

Room Tip: Do ask for rooms with view towards Takashimaya department store or tokyo hands as the hotel have bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First the positives:

Location is nice & central, but I preferred staying in the Ginza area as we did in the first leg of our trip.
China Grill Xenlon restaurant was quite impressive and tasty.
Service was polite and friendly as is the case for Japan.

Now the criticisms:

Compared to every other hotel we stayed in Japan, this was by far a total disappointment. When we first arrived in Tokyo, we stayed in the Imperial Hotel which was magnificent and perfect in every aspect. At this hotel, we had our room changed when we first checked in on account of the foul smell in the bathroom coming from the pipes - it smelled like a sewer. The whole hotel is in desperate need for renovation and looks incredibly outdated. Century Southern Tower feels like a bland business hotel that your company books to save accommodation costs. The bars have no atmosphere and we ended up having a far more enjoyable night out at the Park Hyatt Tokyo - NY bar.

No intention of ever staying at this hotel again. There are more nice hotels to stay in Tokyo.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just returned from another 4-night stay at the Hotel Century Southern Tower. For me, everything about the hotel is absolutely perfect, i.e. the hotel size (375 guest rooms), location, price, room ambience, hotel amenities and, of course, the always helpful, courteous staff.

On my last trip to Tokyo, about 90 days ago, I stayed at a mega-hotel (1435 guest rooms) very close to the Hotel Century Southern Tower. I felt a much more welcoming, appreciative atmosphere at the Hotel Century Southern Tower. I always received a friendly, warm welcome every time I returned to the hotel.

I really can't add much more praise about the Hotel Century Southern Tower than what others' have said. On my next trip to Tokyo, I won't even give it a second thought on where to stay; it will be the Hotel Century Southern Tower. However, if you plan to stay over a weekend, I highly recommend making a reservation as soon as you can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 151-8583, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Shinjuku, Tokyo, Hotel Century Southern Tower offers a luxurious escape from the bustling city below. Elegant, yet, functional accommodations are conceived to meet the special needs of business travelers. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes from the hotel on foot. 375 guest rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor with spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Southern Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.