We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Century Southern Tower to your Saves list
Hotel Century Southern Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
4.5 of 5 stars 1,112 Reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient location and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Most recommended for young family and/or first visitors to Tokyo.
Right next to the Shinjuku station which is the hub to many other areas - with its complicated train system, you want to avoid as much transit as possible! Especially when you have a young baby - the rush hours are crazy, avoid it or you won't have any space to have the strawller open.
Short walk to various restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping malls.
Both hotel facility and service are excellent - clean, tidy, well maintained, good room size, very welcoming, attention to the detail service, warm greetings and smiles. There is a store on the lobby which provides courier service as well. No porter service but you can use trolleys. No swimming pool or sauna but we didn't mind.
Booked on a booking website which was offering huge discount sale - worth checking before booking directly.

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms which helps when you travel with children. Request for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    398
    62
    8
    4
See reviews for
272
435
124
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I was really happy with my choice to stay here. The location is perfect for catching trains/subways anywhere from Shinjuku station. There may be nicer places to stay but you will pay for it. This is a good compromise to stay somewhere nice without blowing your entire budget on your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed 4 nights to 10th Dec, really enjoyed it. Great location 200 mt frm Shinjuku station. Great service, and comfortable rooms. Lobby on lvl 20 was spectacular. Don't eat in the bar though as expensive (we did after arriving late), as food nearby is great and much cheaper. Close also to Starbucks for some good breakfast options, or nearby sundowner hotel for cheaper hot breakfast. Excellent service, and v comfortable hotel, location a real highlight!

Room Tip: Good view, non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Technically, the hotel may be in Shibuya, but it's a quick and easy walk to Shinjuku station, so the location is excellent. It's actually a bit of a walk to the heart of Shibuya, but do-able. There are tons of restaurants nearby. If you're a beer enthusiast, a Belgian bar, the Delirium Cafe (as in the Delirium Tremens brand by the Huyghe Brewery) is right downstairs.

The service was terrific. We had a little snafu with our reservation, but they cheerfully took care of the problem without a quibble. Service to the room when requested something was fast.

Our room was fine, if a bit sterile. I tend to reserve my 5 ratings for the really top-notch places, that offer something special, so I'm giving the hotel a 4 (I would do a 4.5 if I could) for the ho-hum yet perfectly adequate room.

But, the place is a pretty decent value and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a view of Mt. Fuji, but Fuji-san is shy most days and usually hides behind the clouds/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights from 4 December to 10 December 2012. The hotel service was excellent - staff always happy to assist and always addressed us in English. There was an earthquake while we were there and the staff handled it with absolute calm and efficiency.

The location is good - at the Shibuya end of Shinjuku. Just be mindful that if you think you are going to be in the absolute heart of Shinjuku near the areas with all the loud neon lights, you will be disappointed. I was at first, but soon realized this in a great location near the train lines you will most likely use most and at the "classier" end of Shinjuku. Views from the rooms are absolutely superb, particularly if you are on the Takashimaya Department store side of the hotel as we were.

The hotel rooms are slightly dated and need a bit of a facelift but it's otherwise a very nice, convenient and comfortable hotel and especially so when the very reasonable cost is taken into account. Rooms are very, very clean. The bar in the lobby is great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask or Takashimaya side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

My partner & I stayed here 8 nights (2 adults, 14yo and 1yo). Room had 3 extra large beds, so we could sleep next to our 1yo. Stunning views of Tokyo. Location is fantastic for shinjuku shopping, train station and restaurants. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Merles, France
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is well up to a high 4* rating and it has a couple of extra pluses as well. "High" is the best word for it because the lobby is on the 20th floor and the rooms on 23rd and up. The views over Tokyo by day or night are striking. The rooms are generously sized by Tokyo standards i.e. normal international size. They are wonderfully clean to begin with and are immaculately serviced each day. Way above expectations. FoH staff are smiling and very polite and always willing to go the extra mile to please the client. Their training has been good and I suspect they are carefully selected for charm. The F&B outlets are good quality, but expensive. Breakfast comes in at around $25 per head (US$ or AUS$) and dinner, which is what we would call in Europe 'nouvelle cuisine' i.e. far from copious, is north of $70 without drinks. To compensate (and of particular value to parents with young children) there is a minimarket on the 20th floor where substantial snacks such as pot noodles and a good selection of canned drinks can be bought at very reasonable prices. A final point to mention is the location - just five minutes from a major station and the same from some fine large department stores. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it warmly.

Room Tip: West side views are not very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Shinjuku, Tokyo, Hotel Century Southern Tower offers a luxurious escape from the bustling city below. Elegant, yet, functional accommodations are conceived to meet the special needs of business travelers. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes from the hotel on foot. 375 guest rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor with spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Southern Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.