We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel, Loved staying there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Century Southern Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Century Southern Tower to your Saves list
Hotel Century Southern Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture (Shinjuku)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, Loved staying there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was the first time I visited Tokyo and chose this hotel in Shinjuku because of the location and previous reviews on here about how convenient it is. I noted down the instructions which was to follow the southern Terrance exit and within 5 mins we was at the lobby of the hotel on the 20th floor.

I stayed here for 5 nights and each night was like returning home, really nice and relaxing, the view from our room was also amazing looking over the city. We spent time around the area to find lots of different places for food. Although we was opposite the 2 massive malls, we preferred to shop down town where things were less pricey.

The hotel is just in a fantastic location, close to the JR which was handy when having to take the Narita Express back to the airport at like 6am in the morning. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, communication was not a problem at all! I still remenber every time we walked in/out of the lobby, the staff were very polite and would always bow to us.

Overall a excellent choice expecially a we were first timers and had no idea what Tokyo was like, we spent time exploring the area and loved it! its a good place to settle and start if your unsure and not with a tour guide group.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    429
    65
    10
    4
See reviews for
298
466
133
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

As I walked into this hotel after being exhausted from a red eye flight from SE Asia, I was delighted at the subtle smell in the lobby on the 20th floor. It was just like walking into a luxury spa. Looking around also proved to be wonderful as the panoramic views were unbeatable. While I was disappointed that my room wasn't ready when I arrived bright and early, the staff did do a wonderful job of sending me on some sight seeing tours in Tokyo which were fantastic. When I got to my room I was delighted at how comfortable it was. Added bonus, the toilet seat was heated!

The hotel was nicely located next to Shinjuku station, although it was tough to find when getting off of the subway as that station is so large, and had quite a few conveniences right at your finger tips. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as the staff was pleasant, the rooms were nice, the views were unbeatable, and the location was superb!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed at this hotel during March '11 for 3 nights. The hotel is conveniently located on the south side of Shinjuku and only 5mins walk to JR station. In addition, the hotel is equipped with everything you need during your stay (including a massive Queen size bed). The room was immaculate and pleasantly bigger than the standard Tokyo cube. The staff are friendly and some do speak English to an adequate level for communication. I will always book this hotel when ever I come back to Tokyo......also forgot to mention the AWESOME view you get overlooking Shinjuku.

A++ for services, facilities and value.

Cheers,

Dan from Oz

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

I would stay here again. Great hotel and great location. Its officially Shibuya but more like Shinjuku. We stayed here 4 nights and loved it! I have stayed in Shibuya before at the Tokyu inn which was amazing location but much smaller room and more expensive I think. The location was still great! Coffee places downstairs and around the corner (segafreddo is the best coffee we found in Japan), dept stores nearby, next to JR station and close to metro, easy and nice walk to the golden gai and Shinjuku's yakatori alley (which I liked better than Ginza's for atmosphere).

The hotel starts at the 24 floor (approx) so all rooms would have a great view but we were lucky to stay on the top floor and the views we had of Shinkuju koen and the city were beautiful. Our room was nice and had free wifi. It was also pretty big and nicely appointed. Bathroom clean and good size.

Staff were also friendly and helpful.

Don't hesitate to stay here. Great rooms, value and location. However Shibuya is also a great location but equivalent hotel seems alot more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

The room and the view were lovely. Located in the heart of Shinjuku, it's a couple minutes walk from the station. When we stay in Shibuya, we stay at the Cerulean Tower. I love both neighborhoods, but it's much cheaper to stay in Shinjuku. The Cerulean is about $400 a night while a corner room at Century Southern was only $170.

TIPS: The convenience store is a great place to buy snacks, sake or odds and ends.
Do not miss an opportunity explore Tokyu Hands! It's a great place to buy interesting souvenirs. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tokyu_Hands

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This is a great hotel located right by the Shinjuku train and subway station. I have pretty high standards when it comes to hotel and thought it was a great value hotel for the following reasons:
- Location! Location! Location! So convenient!
- Rooms are relatively normal size compared to what I've been told about other hotels in Japan. It was fine for 2 people.
- Service was excellent. Staff was friendly, efficient, and helpful
- Free internet is always a bonus
- The airport limo bus takes you direct from Narita to the hotel door and vice versa
- Rooms were very clean
- Breakfast buffet was very good

I highly recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Recently spent 6 nights here at the end of a 3 week trip around Japan. We had a corner room on the 27th floor, with spectacular views of Tokyo and clear visibility all the way to Mt Fuji.

My girlfriend and I loved this hotel. It is very close to Shinjuku station. The promenade from the station was beautifully illuminated at night. Rooms are spacious. Beds were the most comfortable we had during our stay. Service at the hotel was flawless and the location is perfect. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Highly recommended, and much better value than other hotels of this standard.

Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Century Southern Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Century Southern Tower

Address: 2-2-1 Yoyogi, Shibuya 151-8583, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shinjuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#1 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Century Southern Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above SHINJUKU, Tokyo, Hotel Century Southern Tower offers a luxurious escape from the bustling city below. Elegant, yet, functional accommodations are conceived to meet the special needs of business travelers. Trains, subways, and Narita Express Train are all located within 3 minutes from Shinjuku Station South or JR Southern Terrace Exit to the hotel on foot. 375 guest rooms are located from the 22nd to 35th floor with spectacular views of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Fastbooking, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Century Southern Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Century Southern Tower Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Century Southern Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.