We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. That's about it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel to your Saves list
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Location. That's about it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

And it boils down to location, yet again. It's great. Right in the middle of things, and a short walk to Shibuya train station.

The hotel in itself is nothing special. It's huge, the kind of impersonal four star you'll find anywhere. But the views are great, especially from the skybar. You have to pay extra for almost everything, from breakfast to wifi. Rooms are fairly large for Tokyo. A 7-11 in the same building, for those late night necessities.

About 30 minutes to Haneda with no traffic. There's a direct bus.

Worth staying? I'm sure you can do a lot nicer with a little more research.

Room Tip: The higher you get the more expensive the rooms are. And the view's better:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    421
    90
    22
    19
See reviews for
212
312
85
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Would I stay there again? NO
Good location, nice view but airless rooms, you cannot open a window.
Breakfast not included, you pay strictly for the room only.
Daily extra charges $10.00 if you want to use the wi-fi, $20.00 for the hotel swimming pool and the gym, disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night on my first visit to Japan, I was disappointed to find out when I arrived at 10:30am that I would not be able to check in until 15:00, this was the last thing I wanted to hear after 18hrs of travelling, they did however let me have a shower and store my bags in the luggage room until check in was allowed!

Breakfast wasn't included even although the room worked out at over £240 per night, an even bigger shock was that you have to pay to use the gym even although you are staying in the hotel.

Overall the hotel was very clean and it is in the main district for shopping, parks etc, loads of places to eat and drink around the hotel and only a 2min walk from Shibuya station.

Room Tip: Ask for a corm room to enjoy views on 2 sides of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kongsberg, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a long journey flying to Tokyo, airline lost our baggage and we were pretty tired upon arrival at the Cerulean Tower. Getting to Cerulean from Narita was a breeze using the Airport Limousine Bus, https://www.limousinebus.co.jp/en/
Since we were delayed there was no bus directly to Cerulean before another hour, but the attendant kindly suggested that we go Westin hotel on one of their other routes, take a taxi to Cerulean, and that worked out just fine, 1500 Yen for the taxi.
Reception at the hotel was a bit underwhelming, which almost made me award 4 stars. Got the feeling the person receiving us wasn't too happy with out travelling attire. Anyway that's about the only complaint I have. The hotel is gorgeous, location is unbelievable and the views from both standard rooms and tower rooms (we have tried both) are stunning. In my view you are not missing much if you go for a standard room, but the gym is half price, wifi is free and you can eat complementary breakfast at the executive salon, there is a dvd player and some better bathroom amenieties if you go for towers room or better. Breakfast is rather expensive and will cost about 3500 Yen per person, but quality is very good, Execute salon breakfast is adequate but cannot compare, but is complementary as far as I can make out.
Rooms are good size for two persons, nice bathroom, nice beds, stunning view, quiet.
Good restaurants in the hotel, a bit on the expensive side as expected. We haven't sampled all of them, I thought the Italian style was average, but the Chinese restaurant was very good. We didn't try the Japanese restaurant, hey we're in Tokyo, eating Japanese in the hotel seemed heineous.
We are close to Shibuya station, but far enough (and high enough) that little noise is heard. Location is one of the things that we are most pleased with,
Finally I will mention the incredible service we've got on the service desk. They've assisted us on travelling suggestions, navigating the subway to peripheral parts of Tokyo, writing down notes for us and assisting with most everything. Best information service ever.
We haven't checked out yet, so I hope nothing untoward happens in our final part of our stay (we are staying for 10 nights). Should that happen I will update the review.

Room Tip: Standard rooms have incredible views too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed one night at the Cerulean on our first night in Japan and was very impressed with the location and room size.
There was 3 of us sharing a room and we had plenty of space and the bathroom was very modern and a good size.
We were on the 21st floor and the views of Tokyo were fantastic.
Shibuya crossing was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are plenty of places to eat nearby.
We had breakfast at Caramelo in the hotel and the food was good and plentiful, but we did have to wait a while in getting a cup of hot tea with milk!
The staff were polite but they weren't overly friendlly and we assumed that was just how Japanese people were until we visited other places and were warmly welcomed.
Also, there was no free wi-fi at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great hotel that is central to the JR station and close to Shibuya crossing. Plenty of places to eat at and stop and watch the people drift by. Comfortable and clean beds. The only downside was it was very windy some nights and the walls made cracking sounds, which was annoying. But apart from that it was great!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Found the room in this hotel to be large enough for 3 persons. It was important because of experience with tiny rooms in Japanese hotels. The twin beds are double beds and can accomodate one adult and a child easily. The bathroom is also huge by Japanese standards. The hotel is conveniently located near Shibuya station, about 10 min walk over the pedestrian bridge. Shibuya station is next to Tokyu Department store. Foreign passport holders can get password from the Shibuya station information counter for free wifi access in surrounding area, which extends to Tokyu department store. Because the hotel charges for internet access, naturally, we resorted to the free wifi at the station. I have also noticed that the department stores offer free wifi but you have to show your passport to prove you are a foreigner.

We arrived earlier in the morning and did not expect to have a room. However, the reception staff was kind enough to have found an available room and we managed to check in in less than half an hour.

One tip for passengers arriving in Haneda Airport, is to buy the Subway and metro pass from the airport, if there is plan to be in Tokyo for at least 3 days and planning to travel alot. This is different from the JR pass we realised but in the end, the costs might equal what you would spend on the subway but save on the hassle of having to buy a ticket each way. I believe it costs yen 2500 for 2 adults and 1 child. An average subway ticket might be at least Yen 250 one way and alot more depending on the distance. This ticket does not entitle one to take the JR but we didnt see that as an issue as the the lines appear to be run alongside anyway but the JR tickets costs more.

The bus ride from Haneda to Cerulean is about 30 mins and costs Yen1300 one way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Address: 26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Hotel Tokyu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.