We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-8512, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Shibuya
Paris
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location for this comfy hotel in shibuya.
Spacious rooms, with large bathrooms, and very comfortable beds.
The service is perfect (welcome to Japan) and the breakfast buffet is excellent.
A couple of complaints though:
- i had to ask for another room, as the one i initially got had a terrible smell of tobacco
- the fitness center and the pool close at 9pm, which means that if you're ther for work, and you come back a bit late, you just won't be able to go to gym. A pity for a hotel of such a level...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    360
    69
    16
    14
See reviews for
155
258
77
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Cerulean Tower Hotel is in probably the best location in Tokyo for tourists. Very close to Shibuya station.
The hotel itself is very nice but maybe a bit bland. The staff of course are very polite and attentive but we usually stay at the Hyatt Regency and I prefer this hotel but of course the location is not quite as good.
The rooms are comfortable and relatively large with beautiful bathroom. The beds are on the hard side, the view is magnificent. Immaculately clean.
I will say that it is a little noisy at night with thumping and bumping from above a little annoying.
Overall though you would have to be picky to not enjoy your stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Cerulean at the recommendation of a work colleague and if we hadn't stayed at the Hotel ICON in Hong Kong only a few weeks earlier then my review may have been very different. We booked a room on the executive 'Cerulean' floor which included breakfast and access to the lounge. I would recommend this as it is nice to have the extra facilities inclusive. The service was excellent and the staff were very attentive and polite. The room was clean and I believe large by Tokyo standards but for me was a similar size to a standard hotel room in other major cities around the world. The bathroom and shower were excellent and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. As I mentioned, the let down for me was comparing similar facilities between the ICON and Cerulean but the ICON just managed to go one step beyond in terms of service of what the Cerulean offered. Both had breakfast included but the ICONs spread was a buffet and also full service and was a much larger selection rather than a small buffet. They both offered afternoon tea but again it was full service at the ICON rather than serve yourself at Cerulean etc etc. I don't want to keep comparing in this review as what is on offer at Cerulean is excellent but for me I only recently had better in Hong Kong.

The bed was very comfortable and of course the location of the hotel is superb right in the middle of things. If you wish to travel by public transport the station is only a short walk away but as with all Japanese service, the hotel are most efficient at organising a taxi should you prefer.

All in all I would recommend the Cerulean but just be aware that other than attentive staff you are getting quite a bland corporate 5 star hotel rather than a hotel with huge amounts of character or a hotel that really does go above and beyond.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just spent a week at the Cerulean Tower and was very impressed with the stay. The location can't be beat (3min walk to Shibuya Station) and the views are fantastic. There are multiple restaurants in the hotel and an amazing bar on the top floor. The gym equipment could be updated but there was never anyone else in there when I went to work out. The pool and jacuzzi are enormous and were also empty when I visited. My bathroom wasn't very large but I did like the size of the rest of the room, especially the walk in closet. They also provide a variety of pillow types so you can mix and match to your liking. The breakfast buffet was nice ($33USD) and as a westerner I appreciated their inclusion of french toast, pancakes, & fresh squeezed OJ. There is also a convenient 7-11 practically within the hotel lobby. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: I can only assume all the rooms have great views. I was on the 39th floor and kept my windows open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we go to Japan, this is the place to stay for the service of course we are in Japon...!
Magnificient view from the roof top bar over Tokyo. Very well located next to train and subway station.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in a Sky View room after a trip from Kyoto. We cannot help but compare the 5 star hotel we stayed in Kyoto with this hotel. They had the same price but seems like Cerulean lacks everywhere. They have a lot of staff from assisting the traffic because of the complicated entrance to just standing in the lobby. Also, no one even cared to help us carry our heavy baggage when we checked out. Location was technically near to Shibuya station but you have to walk a lot because of the overpass. If I were to stay in Tokyo, I'll choose Shinjuku for better shopping. Toiletries were cheap quality, room design was old but the size was big.

There are tons of hotels in Tokyo, look around to get a better deal with quality and value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed several nights at the hotel and had an excellent experience with my family. Three minute walk to shibuya station and the rest of the shibuya district. Service was exceptional! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for convenience and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Address: 26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-8512, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Fastbooking and Venere so you can book your Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Hotel Tokyu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.