We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel and Dime merchants with little assitance” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel to your Saves list
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture (Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels / Ryokan in Shibuya
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nickel and Dime merchants with little assitance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Not frequent traveller to Tokoyo so don't know what the standard practice or how this hotel compares to others but in general we were not impressed. For hotel guests there are additional charges for anything and everything including room wi-fi, gym use, local calls, child playroom, even to just sit in the bar ++. Also, if we heard them correctly they also do not allow children under the age of 20 in the Japanese restaurant. We were travelling with two small kids so nearby amenities was important but when you ask for restaurant recommendations in walking distance they whip out pre-made directions to touristy places which were not the easiest to get to with huge lines basically in shopping malls if you mange to find them (I assume the have a deal with the restaurants). The second day we found loads of good restaurants which were basically just down the street (more localized, better tasting, less lines). We decided to transfer to the Disneyland Hotel and when asked about a car transfer they quoted us about $250 saying there was a taxi shortage due to a soccer game in Yokohama! I assume they only called the places they had deals with where they could overcharge you again. Not getting much help I called Hotel Disneyland myself and they sent a 9 person van for half the price so much for the shortage of local transport. Ironically we had a much better experience at the much more touristy Disneyland Hotel in Tokyo - well at least they didn't nickel and dime us to death and directed us our queries appropriately. The two stars are basically for the central location and the reasonably sized rooms but I would not recommend this place especially if you have other options especially for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    434
    90
    23
    19
See reviews for
217
319
86
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's big and very spacious room for japan standard. Other than that it is an average hotel. Staff were friendly, and somewhat helpful. The hotel is clean and well taken care of.

Looking for the hotel was quite difficult. No clear sign from shibuya station. The location is about 10 mins walk from shibuya centre. Lots of shops and restaurants, even during the night time.

No free wifi for my standard floor room, only available for executive floors. Quite a disappointment, considering free wifi is available at most of hotel nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Suprisingly nice hotel near the shibuya station without all the hecticness. The staff was really friendly, the business of Shibuya is just accross the street,easily accessible near the Mark City Mall. The rooms were also quiet large for a Japanese hotel at that price. For a hotel like this wifi shouldve been complimentary though (1,050 yen per day unlimited users).

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the last night of our 12-day Japan adventure. Overall the price was reasonable for a hotel of this type and the service we received was excellent. We arrived at 11am and wanted to leave luggage there until we could check-in, but our room was already available so we were taken to our room early. Porters were polite and spoke good English. The room itself was clean and quiet and had everything we needed. We didn't use anything from the mini-bar - anyone traveling on a budget knows that's a no-no! Location is excellent, very close to the Shibuya madness, and easy to locate from Shibuya station - just take the south exit and look up to your left! - that giant tower is Cerulean. We ordered a room service breakfast as a treat, (Japanese-style) however in comparison to the Japanese meals we'd had at other Ryokans and hotels this one was a little bland and not quite the 'feast' that is the usual Japanese breakfast. It's nice to have it bought to your room in the morning however I don't think it's worth the money.
We missed out on checking out the on-site Noh Theatre but if you are there when there is a Noh performance on I would go - Noh Theatre really is a treat; there is nothing else like it; it is very strange and don't expect a narrative but quite a cultural experience.
Overall our stay at Cerulean was pleasant and we were comfortable however the traditional accommodation in Japan is far better value for money in my opinion, but it does just depend on what suits your taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

One would have though that being near to Shibuya station the area would be messy and chaotic, but it's not. Very rare to find a place which is so near to the shopping area but so quiet all at the same time. The rooms size is reasonable big for a Japan hotel. Also the airport limousine bus stops direct here if you are flying in from narita airport. Unlike other countries where the bus stops at several hotel, this one only serves two. This makes it relatively easy to travel back and forth from hotel. At 3000 yen, I would go as far to say that the bus ride was affordable. I would definitely love to come back again.

Room Tip: Opt for rooms where u face shibuya and also the Japan tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Nice place, great location in Shibuya District, fantastic panoramic view... Rooms big and clean, good food. Prices ok for a 5 star hotel. Wifi on the room (but not free, about 25 euros for 1 week).
SPA not so good, too small and with no realxing bed (only chair!).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in late Nov / early Dec, and the best thing about it is the fabulous location! Shibuya itself is real fun, and the subway and JR stations are just a 3 min walk from the hotel. The service is excellent, what you expect in Japan and at a 5 star hotel, the concierge service specifically is excellent! They were extremely helpful in getting us dinner reservations and gave excellent recommendations as well as detailed explanations that made everything simple.

The room size is great for Tokyo and the view was spectacular from the room.

The only reason I gave it a rating of 4 is the small things like -
1) No free internet (doesn't make sense nowadays, there is free wifi in most of the city)
2) When we went to the bar on top (amazing view) and asked for a table near the window, they told us none are available, so when I said we will wait, they said there is a charge per person to get those tables, and as soon as I said yes they took us to an empty table.
3) Needed to print something before checking out, the first reaction was - there is a charge of 500yen per 15 mins, which again doesnt make sense since we are staying in the hotel.

Basically all these small things that don't really make you feel comfortable. That is the difference between hotels that want to gain you as a client for life, or hotels that want to make money quickly on every small thing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel

Address: 26-1 Sakuragaoka-cho, Shibuya 150-8512, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya > Shibuya / Harajuku / Ebisu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#5 Family Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cerulean Hotel Tokyu
Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel Shibuya, Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerulean Tower Tokyu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.