We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Save Saved
You added Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0001, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 hotels in Shibuya
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been in this hotel twice last year and couple months ago.It is very nice hotel. location is also very good.close to the Shibuya and Harajuku.5 minutes walk to shibuya station.breakfast is also fantastic.all the staff is very kind.I really liked this hotel.hightly recomend

Room Tip: Room 609 is very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    77
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
81
45
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkkonummi, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Very good small size hotel nearby Shibuya and Harajaku. Room was very clean and big enough for two people. Hotel's onsen was superb place to relax after Tokyo sightseen tours. The breakfast was also very good and you can select either japanise or western style.
The hotel staff was very helpful and they did their best to solve our "issues". In overall -the hotel is hidden gem in Tokyo. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Orewa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Premium is the way to go! This is the second Premium Dormy Inn that I've stayed at (other in Kyoto) and both times I have been extremely satisfied with my experiences.
I didn't realise until I arrived that this hotel is new (and new, not just refurbished), opened April 2012.

note: the hotel is closer to Harajuku Station (and downhill 7mins; slightly uphill from Shibuya, 12mins walk approx.) There is a free shuttle every 30mins to take you back to Shibuya in the mornings.

Desk staff were welcoming. The man that served me seemed to speak a decent amount of english (we used mostly japanese). There are computers in the lobby, as well at a seating area with free tea/ coffee, and from 9-10pm there are free hot soba noodle bowls served (I didn't actually partake in either of these services).

The room: small double, but really, I didn't need any more space. Lovely big OPENING window (I hate when hotel windows don't open) HOWEVER, the window glass was frosted, so impossible to see out to see what the weather was like etc. I partly understand the frosted windows, inner-city, right by the train line, and the side I was on (northern) overlooked a cemetary.
Nighttime noise: you could hear a little of people up and down the hall, but not too noticible or annoying. The Yamanote Line runs right past outside, the trains themselves are very quiet; so with windows closed it was no bother. Windows open, and still no more noisy than usual vehicle traffic sounds would be. Actually, the hotel is not on a main road, so there was no road noise at all (heard a couple of sirens, but not disruptive, and usual for any city).

Onsen: great perk of the Premium brand is that they have onsen (hot springs). These were internal on the second floor of the hotel. Separate mens and womens baths. Security code entrance doors, the codes are renewed each day. Normal japanese style public baths. I like the decor, dark tiles, with windowed garden between the bath and the 'dry' areas. Fresh apples where floating in the bath, nice seasonal touch. Nice soap, shampoo, conditioner available for use.

The whole hotel was very clean, english information readily available, comfortable and convinient to stay. I'd highly recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We could not have asked for a better hotel! My partner and I stayed here for ten nights on our first trip to Tokyo and this hotel exceeded all of our expectations. Being a new hotel, all the amenities and room were clean and fresh, and no where did it smell of cigarettes (a rarity in Japan). The staff were very friendly and helpful, although they did not speak much English, and were always at the front desk.
The rooms are very small but that is to be expected in Tokyo, and even so, my partner and I had no problem living there for 10 days.
The best part of the hotel is the onsen they have located within. After getting over the initial shock of having to take all your clothes off, this was the perfect way to unwind after a long day around the city.
The location is fantastic! Right between Shibuya station and Harajuku, it was the perfect walking distance between the two major hot spots (approx. 10 min walk to Shibuya station).
I cannot recommend this hotel enough! It was perfect in every way, we could not have asked for anything more. We will definitely stay here again!
TIP: Print off a map to the hotel for when you arrive. This hotel is tucked away from the main road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Tokyo. In the middle of all the action - Shibuya and Harajuku and walking distance to Meiji Jingu shrine, it's a delightful little hotel with a very helpful staff. We stayed here twice - before and after our visit to Kyoto and they gladly stored all our luggage for us too.
The room sizes are small like all other Japanese hotels (we stayed at 5 different hotels in Japan) but very well equipped and super clean. The fact that it's so new also makes everything well upgraded.
One of our favorite things in the hotel was the complimentary breakfast. It was a wonderful Japanese + continental type breakfast with a wide variety of choices (they even have a vegetarian menu which was great for me). You must also try the great onsen bath facility (separate for men and women). Very relaxing at the end of the day.
Free laundry, 2 bottles of mineral water per day, free wi-fi in rooms etc. are some of the other comforts. Overall, well worth your money and highly recommended for tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was great. Well placed to shibuya and harajuku. The staff were extremely helpful, breakfast was delicious & free noodles after 9pm! The onsen was a relaxing way to end each day. Would definitely recommend to anyone travelling to tokyo

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby for one week. This hotel is great and the staff are very helpful! They try really hard to understand your needs. They give you free breakfast every morning, and free ramen at night, and 2 free bottles of water per day, as well asl free washing machines with free laundry soap. Its a little far from Shibuya station (15 minutes), but very close to Meiji-Jingumae station (5 minutes), so if you have lots of luggage, get off at Meiji-Jingumae instead of Shibuya. The location is a little hard to find. It's on a little side street, off the main road so it's a little hard to find for the first time. The place is super clean, but the rooms are very small and all the tv stations are in Japanese. If you need to use the internet, there are 2 free computers downstairs for guests to use, and free wifi in the rooms. All in all, this hotel offers a lot in extra perks (compared to other hotels), the staff are great, rooms are clean. I would stay here again if I went back to Japan. The hotel has only 6 floors and the views are not great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae

Address: 6-24-4 Jingumae, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0001, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Shibuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shibuya
#3 Family Hotel in Shibuya
#4 Business Hotel in Shibuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1.Free WiFi in all rooms and lobby area. 2.English speaking concierge is attending to support your travelling and business in Japan.3.Free Ramen snack service.Every night between 21:30-23:004.2-Floor communal bath with ultra soft.5.Free breakfast at 1-floor 7:00am to 10:00am6.Drinking bar at 1 Floor(Starts from evening Sunday and Monday close) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae Tokyo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dormy inn Premium Shibuya Jingumae, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.