We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Ramen!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiran, Shibuya

Ichiran, Shibuya
1-22-7 Jinnan | Iwamoto Bldg. B1F, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0041, Japan
+81 3-3463-3667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 4,418 restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Ramen!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Wow. This place blew us away with its Ramen. It's not that difficult to find despite not having an English sign (see the photo) but the directions provides by one of the other reviewers here is perfect - walk past Zara and OiOi and it's right there in the basement. We had a baby and a 5yr old in tow and there was a line up the staircase so it wasn't the easiest thing to manage. But the wait was about 20mins and we ordered through the vending machine. Then we had to choose the levels of spice, garlic and the "special sauce". We then went right into the seating - which is probably beat described as a 4ft wide passage with fixed stools on one side in front of windows through which they serve you. You eat and then leave. Really cool. The best part of course was the ramen. It was delish down to the last drop of the soup. I didn't have the pork as I'm not fond of it but even the plain soup and noodles were really tasty. Well worth the effort! Don't miss it if you are in shibuya!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    86
    46
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tasty ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

That was the 1st time I tried ramen like this! What an experience! And although it’s auto, the ramen was quite delicious actually, and super cheap for such a tasty bow of ramen.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ramen Afficonado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Don't eat at this place if you look forward to eating ramen back somewhere other than Tokyo. Ramen at other places makes me sulk after having such a delightful time at ichiran.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Simple is the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As locals' direction, my boyfriend and I found Ichiran. It was a bit difficult due to no Latin signal available.
And the food compensated for all the difficulties. Really really nice and tasty ramen. I love Japanese food and it was no doubt that this was the best among the best.
Quick and polite service. Simple and cheap.
There is worth trying this again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Ramen Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's located at the basement - go past Zara and OIOI and look out for Ichiran at the basement with narrow flight of stairs - red and green sign. You first order via a vending machine and they will ask you to fill up a form for level of spiciness, richness of soup, firmness of noodle, etc. Seating is limited and each will be allocated a cubicle. What makes the soup special is their own sauce, which is a little spicy, and tastes great when mixed into the broth. Do expect a 30mins wait though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiran, Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Ichiran, Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiran, Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.