We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Ramen place in Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiran, Shibuya

Ichiran, Shibuya
1-22-7 Jinnan | Iwamoto Bldg. B1F, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture 150-0041, Japan
+81 3-3463-3667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,419 restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best Ramen place in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ichiran is one of the best ramen places you will find in Tokyo. It's a chain so you can probably find one near you if you don't stay around Shibuya. Don't bother with the more touristy ramen place right in the middle of the Shibuya shopping street.

The place is small, seats about 16, 8 in each row. You will buy the tickets via vending machines, take a seat when the light indicate vacancy. You can choose more robust soup (recommended) or more spring onion (not so for me as I am not a fan). Each booth is like small library seat, with a small divider giving you some privacy. You can hang your coat behind on the hook. Right in front is a small cloth curtain, behind which, the staff will be cooking and serving you shortly.

The soup is very robust and taste great.. There's a few other ramen places that you may want to check out : My favourite is Jangara Ramen at Harajuku (opp the JR Station, small place at the corner of the traffic junction), Ippudo (personally I think Jangara is better) at Shibuya (Ebisu area), it's in between Shibuya and Ebisu if you walk. Nearer to the Ebisu station.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    87
    46
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not easy to find for a first timer in Tokyo but well worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I like to try local places but we usually check these on the Internet first! This place has got great reviews and I'm so happy to recommend it. It is not easy to find. It is located near Shibuya crossing. To get there, go right when you face the Starbucks in Sibuya crossing. On the next crossing, there is a little stair on the right hand side that takes you down to the restaurant. People there were very friendly even thought they don't speak great English. You have to order your dinner (ramen only) from a vending machine which was great fun for us. You then have to fill up a sheet of paper to say how you like your ramen (do you want your noodle firm/soft, sauce strong, medium/weak, green onion thin/thick...). You then go to the waiting room and wait for a customer to leave.

You are then taken into the restaurant which is made of several individual compartments where you just wait for your ramen to be served.

We absolutely loved it! We also took our 4 month old baby. The ramen was delicious! We would advise not to bring your buggy because there is not much space but we had it with us the first time and it was fine.

Great place!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After seeing that this was rated #1 on TripAdvisor we set out for some good ramen. It took an hour and a half of complete wandering to find this place; asking about 15 locals...the only way we found it was having someone literally walk us there. FYI, there is no English on the signs to this place and it is below city street level.

I am definitely not a ramen connoisseur so I can't really review on that, but as a super white person I can rate that I really enjoyed it. It had a very authentic japanese feel which I loved. I would recommend this place for some great ramen...good luck finding it though ;)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Had no clue...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Dodging the rain, my gf and I decided to get some ramen and warm up. It was the first time I'd used the ticket machine so that took a second to figure out. Thankfully they have the menu cards in English because there are a few choices to be made. The ramen was rich, warm and just what I needed. It's definitely a different way of ordering and was fun. It's my brothers favorite place for ramen and I had no idea it was ranked so high on tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“private ramen for one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

i was new to the experience you would get at this joint. this is actually a chain, but a damn good one. most chains in Japan are top notch in my opinion. this is the kind of "underground" and "hidden" spot you would think that Tokyo is full of (to a westerner), but this is actually a touristy chain joint right in middle of an avenue in Shibuya. the vending machine to order your food might confuse at first but it's really not that serious. take your time and it's a breeze. get your ticket and get seated at your own private booth to slurp that goodie down. you won't find an atmosphere like this elsewhere. it's a fun and GOOD joint. i keep coming back to this place no matter how many other crazy ramen spots i hit up. do it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiran, Shibuya also viewed

 

Been to Ichiran, Shibuya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiran, Shibuya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.