We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harajuku Gyozaro

Harajuku Gyozaro
6-2-4 Jingumae, Shibuya, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-3406-4743
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 4,460 Restaurants in Shibuya
Price range: $7 - $9
Cuisines: Dim Sum
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great cheap place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for late supper on a rainy night. Still had to wait for about hal an hour but it was worth it. My fav was the fried gyoza w garlic and chives they were so tasty!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    56
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My mother and I arrived around 6:30pm. The line was relatively short so we decided to wait it out. The line quickly grew behind us so we knew we were in for a treat. We waited about 30 minutes for a seat at the bar. We ended up ordering a ton of gyoza (4 plates!) along with beers, cabbage, and bean sprouts. My favorites were the sui-gyoza, fried gyoza with garlic, and the cabbage. The filling with the big pieces of cabbage made the gyoza special - for me. When I come back to Tokyo, I'll definitely be back here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Gzoya we had in Japan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We absolutely recommend this place. The food is excellent and the prices very fair compared to the Tokyo average. We particularly enjoyed the two types of fried Gyoza, the rice with the soup and the beansprout.
For dinner best go before 7 p.m., as the queue can get quite long afterwards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Great Gyoza... loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Not much to choose from.. Gyoza fried or steamed, with or without Garlic and Chives.. Get one of each, they are delicious. You can also get a couple of apps for the side..
This formula is wonderful, cheap and the food is great.. the place is busy all the time and service is efficient.
Pleasure to watch the chef doing it all (real hard working guy).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“CHEAP AND FAIR GYOZA RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

How curious it is... I used to go often to this restaurant when I was living in the area. Is cheap, well located if you are doing some shopping in Harajuku, Omotesando area and is perfect for a quick snack. But rating it as the best restaurant in the area???

Yes, gyozas are well made, the cucumber with miso sauce is lovely, same with the the moyashi with meat, but come on is the kind of dishes that I cook myself at home!!! The menu is too short, is not a "real" restaurant but a fast food restaurant with 5, 6 very basic dishes well prepared.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harajuku Gyozaro also viewed

 

Been to Harajuku Gyozaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harajuku Gyozaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.